Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2012, 03:34 PM   #1
Gary86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Time Machine Backup

Hey everyone. I'm getting ready to sell my MBA and get a Mac Mini. My MBA is backed up. When I get the Mini and do the restore/migration does it bring back everything? iTunes library, programs (word, etc), documents (I have tons of school stuff on it).

Thanks.
Gary86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 02:25 PM   #2
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary86 View Post
Hey everyone. I'm getting ready to sell my MBA and get a Mac Mini. My MBA is backed up. When I get the Mini and do the restore/migration does it bring back everything? iTunes library, programs (word, etc), documents (I have tons of school stuff on it).

Thanks.
Yes... it will bring back everything. Make sure you run Migration Assistant on the new machine when it pops up during the setup process. That will bring in your old account and everything else along with it.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 03:28 PM   #3
Gary86
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Yes... it will bring back everything. Make sure you run Migration Assistant on the new machine when it pops up during the setup process. That will bring in your old account and everything else along with it.
Thank you very much.
Gary86 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 04:58 PM   #4
TouchMint.com
macrumors 65816
 
TouchMint.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Phoenix
I am getting ready to do this from a mac pro to a mac air. I have never ran time machine but will be doing so soon. I am guessing I will run it to an external harddrive and then connect the external to the air on bootup and then it will give me the option of restoring from this time machine backup?

also if the air comes with mountain lion and my pro is on lion will that be a problem?
__________________
TouchMint.com iOS App Site
Adventure To Fate iOS RPG Game Site
Indie iOS Game: Adventure To Fate : A Quest To The Core JRPG

TouchMint.com is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 10:38 PM   #5
Kushp14
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Yes it will just like a iPhone backup will restore it back to the original state
Kushp14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 09:22 AM   #6
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by TouchMint.com View Post
I am getting ready to do this from a mac pro to a mac air. I have never ran time machine but will be doing so soon. I am guessing I will run it to an external harddrive and then connect the external to the air on bootup and then it will give me the option of restoring from this time machine backup?

also if the air comes with mountain lion and my pro is on lion will that be a problem?
That won't be a problem, but you don't want to "restore"... what you should do is after the new Air starts for the first time and you select language and time zone, the Migration Assistant will start. Just tell the Migration Assistant you want to import data from your old machine and point it to the Time Machine backup from the Pro. This will import your account along with all apps and settings.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:21 PM   #7
canuckle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Make sure that if you are running ML on the older one, you upgrade to ML on the new one before you migrate your data, otherwise you will have a bit of a mess to deal with. Easy fix but easier to make sure both are ML first.
canuckle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:16 PM   #8
orangezorki
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
As others have hinted at, you want your data on the new machine, but all of the preference files and the like only have the potential to cause problems with the newer hardware. Might be fine though.

I'd just import your music, photos, movies, documents etc using the migration assistant. Spending a bit of time to re-set everything is much better than having to do it all again.

David
orangezorki is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about iTunes iPhone backup and Time Machine backup applefan289 Mac Basics and Help 2 Mar 1, 2014 11:20 AM
Time Machine doesn't recognize backup history so incremental backup not working dmi OS X 0 Sep 10, 2013 06:56 AM
Synology for NAS/Time Machine/Backup? Newb Backup Here psychbiker Mac Peripherals 9 Jun 3, 2013 08:44 AM
Time Machine: The identity of the backup disk has changed since the previous backup Dorv OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 9 Feb 22, 2013 11:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC