Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 7, 2012, 10:51 AM   #1
trashy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
What to do with defective MacBook Air (out of warranty)?

So here's the deal. I somehow managed to miss the deadline for extending AppleCare earlier this year...and I'm about to pay for this mistake, big time...

Wife's late-2010 MBA 11" won't stay on long enough to log in. Tried it all - SMC and PRAM resets, DiskWarrior scan, complete hardware diagnostics run, wiped SSD and reinstalled OS X. Nothing fixes this glitch.

I can temporarily keep it on by holding down the Option key during all phases of bootup. Once logged in and on the desktop, I can release the key and then I have to watch for the shutdown pop-up window. As soon as it pops up, I have 2-3 seconds to hit the cancel key, otherwise it powers off.

I managed to get all of our data off the SSD by hitting the cancel key a lot.

I took it to an authorized repair center here in Mexico and they diagnosed the logic board which they will repair for about $850 USD.

My one main concern is whether or not Apple will warranty the replacement logic board. If so, I think we're all good. If not, then what?

Can anyone tell me what type of warranty might be in place this replacement part?
trashy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 10:56 AM   #2
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
I'm not sure of the answer to your question, but I have an alternative: why not buy a refurbished 11" MBA? I see a "Refurbished MacBook Air 1.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5" (4GB/128GB) listed now for $829, and I'm sure similar deals are available. Seems a lot better to me than paying even more than that to replace a logic board in an older system.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 10:57 AM   #3
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
If you replace the logic board I think there is a 1 year warranty on the parts if Apple does it. It doesn't extend the warranty on the entire machine afaik.

However, for that price I would most certainly sell it for parts and get another (if you're in the market). It is a shame though that the logic board failed on a machine that is only a couple of years old. My damn powerbook has lasted 6 years without anything more than a new battery replacement.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 12:12 PM   #4
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Post In Mexico.....

I will check

http://www.apple.com/mx/support/contact/

to start/get some official answer

If you can afford and the warranty applies to the logic board replacement, I suggest you do it. But check if it is available any similar machine as a refurb as another poster as said. In this way, you got esentially a new machine, with warranty

If cant afford or warranty in the new logic board dont satify you, maybe you have to take the hard decision to sell your machine as a parts machine or salvage it to sell individual components. Both ways are a loss for you, tough

__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black), Moto G 8 GB (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 12:15 PM   #5
iAppl3Fan
macrumors 6502a
 
iAppl3Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by trashy View Post
So here's the deal. I somehow managed to miss the deadline for extending AppleCare earlier this year...and I'm about to pay for this mistake, big time...

Wife's late-2010 MBA 11" won't stay on long enough to log in. Tried it all - SMC and PRAM resets, DiskWarrior scan, complete hardware diagnostics run, wiped SSD and reinstalled OS X. Nothing fixes this glitch.

I can temporarily keep it on by holding down the Option key during all phases of bootup. Once logged in and on the desktop, I can release the key and then I have to watch for the shutdown pop-up window. As soon as it pops up, I have 2-3 seconds to hit the cancel key, otherwise it powers off.

I managed to get all of our data off the SSD by hitting the cancel key a lot.

I took it to an authorized repair center here in Mexico and they diagnosed the logic board which they will repair for about $850 USD.

My one main concern is whether or not Apple will warranty the replacement logic board. If so, I think we're all good. If not, then what?

Can anyone tell me what type of warranty might be in place this replacement part?
Get yourself a refurbish MBA 11 or 13 from apple for about the same price as the logic board repair (but have full 1 year warranty from apple for the laptop). Replace the SSD with your existing one to get the data out. Make sure to get a 2011 model as the 2012 model uses a different connector as compared to your 2010 MBA.

A second option is to get yourself any other laptop you want and get an external enclosure from OWC for your SSD to get your data out with your new computer.
__________________
 13" MacBook Air (Mid 2013) + Dual 27" Thunderbolt Display
 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display (Mid 2012) + 24" LED Cinema Display
 TV |  Time Capsule |  iPod |  iPhone |  iPad Air/mini
iAppl3Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 12:34 PM   #6
trashy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsw View Post
I'm not sure of the answer to your question, but I have an alternative: why not buy a refurbished 11" MBA? I see a "Refurbished MacBook Air 1.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5" (4GB/128GB) listed now for $829, and I'm sure similar deals are available. Seems a lot better to me than paying even more than that to replace a logic board in an older system.
I saw that one before, but our main concern is with possible import fees here in Mexico. Not sure how to work that out...
trashy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 02:04 PM   #7
techwhiz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Get the refurb

Even if import fees are 10%, it's a better deal than fixing what you have.
If the repair is more than 50% of the cost to replace with a new or refurb, I will never fix the item.
techwhiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 02:51 PM   #8
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Post Maybe if....

a)You go to your local or nearest Apple Certified Store you can get some machine in that range of price. Some tend to have stock for selling/show and with luck you can strike a deal.

b) I dont know what are the current customs fees in Mexico, but if you needed imported in Mexico, why dont look in Mercado Libre or something?. If the seller is near to you, you can see the computer running.

Any of the above it is valid if you go with a refurb/used computer route

__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black), Moto G 8 GB (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 07:00 PM   #9
cedwhatev
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Bite the bullet, man. Either buy a brand new one and avoid customs fees, or buy a refurb and pay them. Either or, you gotta sell that one you have for parts.. you will get a couple of hundred bucks for it, more than likely.

Just accept the mistake and never do it again... buy AppleCare.
__________________
MacBook Air 11" 2013 1.7GHz, 8GB, 256SSD
iPad Mini 16GB iPhone 5C 16GB
TV 3 iPod Nano 16GB 4th Gen
cedwhatev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 08:28 PM   #10
JoeG4
macrumors 68020
 
JoeG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Send a message via ICQ to JoeG4 Send a message via AIM to JoeG4
Have you tried popping the machine open and unhooking the keyboard immediately after starting it? It really sounds like your keyboard is shorting out or something.

I'm honestly surprised nobody's suggested a fix...
__________________
I've been a huge fan of Mac OS X since 2001!
JoeG4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 10:33 PM   #11
trashy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG4 View Post
Have you tried popping the machine open and unhooking the keyboard immediately after starting it? It really sounds like your keyboard is shorting out or something.

I'm honestly surprised nobody's suggested a fix...
I'm all in favor of that solution - however, I would need the appropriate pentalobe tool. Know where to pick one up in Chiapas?
trashy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:35 AM   #12
JoeG4
macrumors 68020
 
JoeG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Send a message via ICQ to JoeG4 Send a message via AIM to JoeG4
No, but I'm willing to bet a pentalobe screwdriver would cost you a lot less than a new mac

The bad news is that IIRC, the keyboards on all of the unibody laptops are held on by like 50 tiny screws (I think they're phillips bits). The good news is, they can be replaced!

Still, if you get the shutdown dialog box immediately after letting go of the option key, I think your keyboard might be borked. That would also explain why holding down a key (I wonder if ANY key held down will work) lets you start the machine up
__________________
I've been a huge fan of Mac OS X since 2001!
JoeG4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 08:03 AM   #13
trashy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG4 View Post
No, but I'm willing to bet a pentalobe screwdriver would cost you a lot less than a new mac

The bad news is that IIRC, the keyboards on all of the unibody laptops are held on by like 50 tiny screws (I think they're phillips bits). The good news is, they can be replaced!

Still, if you get the shutdown dialog box immediately after letting go of the option key, I think your keyboard might be borked. That would also explain why holding down a key (I wonder if ANY key held down will work) lets you start the machine up
Once I'm logged in, the frequency of the shut-down prompt varies greatly. At times it is frequent, at other times it might go five minutes. During this time, I can use the keyboard as normal. I wish that I could narrow things down to the keyboard. It would greatly simplify things.

OTOH, acquiring a pentalobe would be tricky and time-consuming and would still require that I replace all the screws with Phillips #00 screws. After all that, I might still end up w/ a MBA that has a failed logic board, and all that effort would have been wasted. In the meantime, my wife can't do any work...
trashy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:36 AM   #14
JoeG4
macrumors 68020
 
JoeG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Send a message via ICQ to JoeG4 Send a message via AIM to JoeG4
You could always just use the screwdriver you already have and save buying screws for the case where the machine still works.

Oh yes, and I really appreciate the sarcasm and rude attitude I have received in return for giving you some constructive advice.
__________________
I've been a huge fan of Mac OS X since 2001!
JoeG4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:34 PM   #15
dtjay7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: N. CA
I think it is the keyboard also. I have replaced the keyboard when I had a similar problem. Takes a long time to change. And just be really careful not to strip one of the many little tiny screws. The screwdriver is not too hard to find, eBay. JoeG4 gave you some good advice. It isn't as difficult as it may sound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG4 View Post
You could always just use the screwdriver you already have and save buying screws for the case where the machine still works.

Oh yes, and I really appreciate the sarcasm and rude attitude I have received in return for giving you some constructive advice.
__________________
Bunch of Apple Stuff!
dtjay7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 03:15 PM   #16
trashy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG4 View Post
You could always just use the screwdriver you already have and save buying screws for the case where the machine still works.

Oh yes, and I really appreciate the sarcasm and rude attitude I have received in return for giving you some constructive advice.
Joe - First, I think my mild sarcasm was completely appropriate. My location in Mexico was mentioned a few times before your first response, yet you act like I can just walk into the nearest store and grab any tool available in the States. Second, on a related note, you don't seem to be reading my responses. I *HAVE NO* screwdriver that fits the pentalobe screws on the back of a MacBook Air. I do have a set of PC screwdrivers, but none of them get any traction. I can't just 'pop it open' or I would have already done so. Third, an authorized repair center has diagnosed it as a logic board failure. I'm going to take their word for it at this point.

At this point we've decided to go a different route altogether. We're going to sell the old MBA for parts and switch the wife to an iPad w/ keyboard, camera kit, etc.
trashy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Air Warranty Question richard.mac MacBook Air 8 Dec 14, 2013 10:07 PM
Macbook air watered down still has warranty Takenlife MacBook Air 12 Nov 23, 2013 07:16 PM
macbook air 11" defective screen? thesituation MacBook Air 1 Nov 5, 2013 10:47 AM
Defective Battery And Fan In My 2011 Macbook Air Notebook beeinformed MacBook Air 4 Sep 21, 2012 09:50 AM
Macbook Air DOA/Warranty aatuz MacBook Air 17 Jul 9, 2012 11:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC