Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2012, 06:30 PM   #1
Arkados
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
5770 Off craigslist, should i dive.

guy is selling 5770 for $75 dollars. I have a 1,1 mac pro and was just was wondering if i can plug and play or if i need and extra wire, also is there any tricky drivers like with nvidias in this computer. Link to his card is
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102858
Arkados is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:23 PM   #2
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Is Craigslist still full of thieves?
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:32 PM   #3
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
unless you can test its functionality first... i'd say no...

but hey, maybe you are a large and scary looking man and live in a small town...so you would know where he lived? Jokes aside... test it before buying.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:39 PM   #4
Arkados
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrygian View Post
unless you can test its functionality first... i'd say no...

but hey, maybe you are a large and scary looking man and live in a small town...so you would know where he lived? Jokes aside... test it before buying.
well its part of a gaming rig hes selling so I assume it works, would have him start the computer up that its in to make sure it works. Other than that should i be able to drop it right in and use the cable that i have currently plugged into my 1900xt?
Arkados is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 03:12 AM   #5
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
The 5770 only needs one of the 6-pin power leads. If it is a PC card you won't get a boot screen but the drivers should be fine I believe?

If you don't have multiple OSX boot drives to choose from or if you have one plus a windows drive then I heartily recommend the free app called BootChamp from http://www.kainjow.com

It sits on the OSX title bar and you click the icon and choose "Restart into Windows" and the machine reboots and starts up from your windows drive. It is so simple and effective.

At least you still have your current graphics card as a fallback if anything untoward happens.

Last edited by DanielCoffey; Nov 6, 2012 at 03:12 AM. Reason: typo
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:11 AM   #6
StephenCampbell
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
You won't be able to play HD content in iTunes on a Mac Pro 1,1 with that card.
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 10:37 AM   #7
lixuelai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
$75 is like the buy-it-now prices on Ebay and get the benefit of Ebay buyer protection.
lixuelai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:00 PM   #8
MacinJosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Papua New Guinea
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
You won't be able to play HD content in iTunes on a Mac Pro 1,1 with that card.
What? Of course you can. You can with an original GT7300 too...
__________________
Mac Pro Quad 3.0Ghz - 5770 - 12GB - 120GB SSD - 5TB
MBA 2013 - 11" - 8GB - 128GB
Apple TV3 / iPhone 4S - 16GB / iPhone 4 - 16GB
iPad Mini Retina - 32GB / iPad 3 - 16GB - Black
MacinJosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:37 AM   #9
StephenCampbell
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinJosh View Post
What? Of course you can. You can with an original GT7300 too...
Nope. My 5770 is currently sitting in my closet, because the loss of iTunes HD wasn't worth the benefit of 30fps Doom 3 at 2560x1600. I don't even game that much anyway.

It's some kind of glitch that Apple hasn't bothered to address, since the Mac Pro 1,1 isn't officially supported anymore.

Edit: Of course iTunes works with the GT7300 and the X1900XT, which is what I have in there now.
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 04:29 AM   #10
MacinJosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Papua New Guinea
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
Nope. My 5770 is currently sitting in my closet, because the loss of iTunes HD wasn't worth the benefit of 30fps Doom 3 at 2560x1600. I don't even game that much anyway.

It's some kind of glitch that Apple hasn't bothered to address, since the Mac Pro 1,1 isn't officially supported anymore.

Edit: Of course iTunes works with the GT7300 and the X1900XT, which is what I have in there now.
Odd. My 5770 plays my FullHD quite well in iTunes. It's Apple's card. Granted, it's not the best for desktop work. My problem is occasional stuttering while scrolling. Videos play fine though, and games. I run 10.7.4.
__________________
Mac Pro Quad 3.0Ghz - 5770 - 12GB - 120GB SSD - 5TB
MBA 2013 - 11" - 8GB - 128GB
Apple TV3 / iPhone 4S - 16GB / iPhone 4 - 16GB
iPad Mini Retina - 32GB / iPad 3 - 16GB - Black
MacinJosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:47 PM   #11
StephenCampbell
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinJosh View Post
Odd. My 5770 plays my FullHD quite well in iTunes. It's Apple's card. Granted, it's not the best for desktop work. My problem is occasional stuttering while scrolling. Videos play fine though, and games. I run 10.7.4.
I run 10.7.4 as well. I wonder what the difference is... I know that Apple themselves warn about this issue with the card, and that other people experience it.

Is there anything else about your machine or display that is unusual and likely to be different from mine?
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:22 PM   #12
MacinJosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Papua New Guinea
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
I run 10.7.4 as well. I wonder what the difference is... I know that Apple themselves warn about this issue with the card, and that other people experience it.

Is there anything else about your machine or display that is unusual and likely to be different from mine?
I run a cheap Acer 1080P display. 12GB RAM, 3.0GHz, iTunes 10.7. My PCIe slot is configured to 16x. I just tested a few 1080Ps in iTunes both windowed and full screen. No probs whatsoever. Are your movies from iTunes?
__________________
Mac Pro Quad 3.0Ghz - 5770 - 12GB - 120GB SSD - 5TB
MBA 2013 - 11" - 8GB - 128GB
Apple TV3 / iPhone 4S - 16GB / iPhone 4 - 16GB
iPad Mini Retina - 32GB / iPad 3 - 16GB - Black
MacinJosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 02:30 AM   #13
StephenCampbell
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinJosh View Post
I run a cheap Acer 1080P display. 12GB RAM, 3.0GHz, iTunes 10.7. My PCIe slot is configured to 16x. I just tested a few 1080Ps in iTunes both windowed and full screen. No probs whatsoever. Are your movies from iTunes?
Yes. 720p or 1080p iTunes downloads give me the "HDCP" error message when I try to play them through the 5770 card.
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 05:03 AM   #14
MacinJosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Papua New Guinea
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
Yes. 720p or 1080p iTunes downloads give me the "HDCP" error message when I try to play them through the 5770 card.
Ok, so I guess it's a DRM problem. I don't have any movies from iTunes as my country doesn't have them.

Seems like others are having the same probs as you. Have you looked at http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1379110

You need a HDCP compliant display but apparently you do if another card works unless it bypasses it somehow... Yeah, so it's an issue but hopefully there's a way around it. Typical Apple though, arbitrary limitations again...
__________________
Mac Pro Quad 3.0Ghz - 5770 - 12GB - 120GB SSD - 5TB
MBA 2013 - 11" - 8GB - 128GB
Apple TV3 / iPhone 4S - 16GB / iPhone 4 - 16GB
iPad Mini Retina - 32GB / iPad 3 - 16GB - Black
MacinJosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 09:21 PM   #15
StephenCampbell
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinJosh View Post
Ok, so I guess it's a DRM problem. I don't have any movies from iTunes as my country doesn't have them.

Seems like others are having the same probs as you. Have you looked at http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1379110

You need a HDCP compliant display but apparently you do if another card works unless it bypasses it somehow... Yeah, so it's an issue but hopefully there's a way around it. Typical Apple though, arbitrary limitations again...
Yes, what I originally meant was "you can't play HD content From iTunes with the 5770 in a Mac Pro 1,1." I would have assumed non-iTunes derived content would have no limitations, as it's simply a larger file with higher resolution.
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 10:59 PM   #16
Arkados
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Well the guy hasnt returned my email yet so he might have sold it. Can't find any on craigslist and and don't want to wait for newegg :P Which one? I have a 1900XT currently in and will be doing iMovie+CS6 along with World of Warcraft.



http://www.bestbuy.com/site/XFX+-+On...specifications


http://www.bestbuy.com/site/XFX+-+Ra...&skuId=3503128
Arkados is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:14 AM   #17
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
I spotted someone selling 2 of these cards on eBay with a bid of $67 for the pair and 8 hours to go. Why buy an old card new when prices secondhand are so low?
Buy the pair and keep the spare.
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will my DSLR survive a sky dive? secretpact Digital Photography 11 Jun 16, 2013 11:39 AM
PC 5770 and Mac 5770 in same machine.. GXPvince Mac Pro 1 Apr 4, 2013 01:58 PM
2006 IMac Dumpster Dive mr2nr iMac 25 Sep 5, 2012 04:04 PM
2x 5770 ATI HD vs 5770+5870 What is best??? GerryM Mac Pro 0 Sep 5, 2012 03:10 PM
Hard dive filled up alot. raymondnoodles OS X 3 Aug 9, 2012 12:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC