Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:54 AM   #126
iamsen47
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kobe, Japan
wrong post
iamsen47 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 04:25 AM   #127
Carl%R
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
I logged a case with Apple, just to add to the number of reports on the issue. The support guy advised me to create a new user account and use that for a couple of days, to see whether the blackout issue happens there as well. He said it's one way to possibly rule out corrupted system files.

With the new user account I'm at least not seeing the artifacts on black background with the DP-DVI connection. I will try the HDMI adapter next for a couple of days.
Carl%R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 04:28 AM   #128
jollino
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chieti, Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl%R View Post
I logged a case with Apple, just to add to the number of reports on the issue. The support guy advised me to create a new user account and use that for a couple of days, to see whether the blackout issue happens there as well. He said it's one way to possibly rule out corrupted system files.

With the new user account I'm at least not seeing the artifacts on black background with the DP-DVI connection. I will try the HDMI adapter next for a couple of days.
Did they have you delete any preferences? On Monday, when I called Apple, the woman I spoke to had me reset the SMC, the PRAM and had me delete the com.apple.windowserver.plist files from both the system's and my user's library. So far so good, but then again my last black screen was over a week ago...
__________________
Photographer, translator, web & iOS developer.
Mac Mini (2012) quad i7 + Dell U2212HM; iPhone 5 (32 GB); iPad 3 (32 GB, wifi+3G); Raspberry Pi (256 MB)
http://www.nicolucci.eu/
jollino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 04:54 AM   #129
cmeisenzahl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I called last night and registered my Mini as having the proble. They pretty quickly confirmed that the problem is widely reported.

I really hope they can fix this with a patch or firmware change. swapping out a new machine will be a pain in the @ss after I'ved added RAM and swapped the HD.
cmeisenzahl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 05:31 AM   #130
lamerica80
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
I seems pretty much everyone has this issue and those who doesnt, will soon.

I expect a statement from Apple any day now.
lamerica80 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 05:36 AM   #131
Carl%R
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by jollino View Post
Did they have you delete any preferences? On Monday, when I called Apple, the woman I spoke to had me reset the SMC, the PRAM and had me delete the com.apple.windowserver.plist files from both the system's and my user's library. So far so good, but then again my last black screen was over a week ago...
No, he said I should just try the new user account for a day or two.
Carl%R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 06:03 AM   #132
Sean869
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dorset, United Kingdom
Same problem here

I have an i7 2.3 mac mini connected to an HDMI monitor via an HDMI cable. I get regular black screens which last a few seconds. I have ordered a mini displayport to HDMI cable from amazon to see if that solves the problem. One other issue is that the display quality isn't as good as I expected it to be using the HDMI. The white tones seem very harsh even with the brightness turned right down. Im using a AOC 23" 1080P monitor which I bought at the same time as my mac.

There is no logic as to when it happens, it seems completely random.

This is my first mac having made the switch from windows and i'm not happy
Sean869 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 07:22 AM   #133
koyeung
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
This is what i thought few days before...

Quote:
Originally Posted by lamerica80 View Post
I seems pretty much everyone has this issue and those who doesnt, will soon.

I expect a statement from Apple any day now.
koyeung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 07:49 AM   #134
Armeniandave
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego
I bought the DP to DVI cable from Monoprice and so far the issue has gone away. In the time I've been on the Mini I played some Portal 2 and did some web surfing and I had no snowy or black screens. I'll report back if I do get any from the DP adapter.
__________________
iPhone 5 32 GB, iPhone 4S 16GB, iPad 3 32 GB, Mac Mini i7
Armeniandave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 08:34 AM   #135
sno1man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamerica80 View Post
I seems pretty much everyone has this issue and those who doesnt, will soon.

I expect a statement from Apple any day now.
I took mine in to the genius bar a few days ago for this issue (and posted about it here).

I have an open incident and Apple asked me to send any log that gets created in the library/logs/diagnostic reports directory whenever I have the issue occur.

So far I have had three issues and all 3 times i have a file called com.apple.qtkitserver 2012 11-6. The last part changes with the date
sno1man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 08:54 AM   #136
rshock
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogmusic View Post
Have you tried just turning your monitor power button off and on? That works for me with the snow screen.
Yeah, that works too. I had thought about trying that earlier, but the problem hasn't happened in a couple of days. It happened last night while I was playing D3, so I did try power cycling the monitor, and that did fix it (though not before I could run away from all baddies who summarily squashed me like a bug).

I definitely don't seem to have the issue when just web browsing or e-mail etc. However, it happens pretty much every time I play D3 and often with iMovie, though even then only once or twice an evening.
rshock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 09:02 AM   #137
sno1man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogmusic View Post
Have you tried just turning your monitor power button off and on? That works for me with the snow screen.
I think it does for most of us (me included) but that is far from a fix and more of a minimal workaround which is still problematic

Apple needs to address this soon.
sno1man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 09:06 AM   #138
dogmusic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by sno1man View Post
I think it does for most of us (me included) but that is far from a fix and more of a minimal workaround which is still problematic

Apple needs to address this soon.
Definitely a workaround but better than power cycling his Mini as the poster had been doing.
dogmusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 09:19 AM   #139
iCaleb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
How many pages do you think this thread will get before Apple does something about it?

My guess is 23.
iCaleb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 10:05 AM   #140
sean barry
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belding, MI
I've had the stock mid mini for about a week running HDMI to HDMI with no issues until yesterday. I have now experienced 2 or 3 black screens. They last about 1 second on then all is well.
sean barry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 10:10 AM   #141
OldSchoolMacGuy
macrumors 6502a
 
OldSchoolMacGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
How many pages do you think this thread will get before Apple does something about it?

My guess is 23.
We're much better going and talking about this on the Apple support forums. At least there they see it and follow up on things. Here we're just talking amongst ourselves.
OldSchoolMacGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 10:18 AM   #142
Armeniandave
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego
Called Apple and talked to a senior support person. After going over the problem in detail he said he is going to send me a new HDMI cable to see if that corrects it. I am pretty sure it won't but hey it's a free cable!

He did say they are aware of the issue though so calling is definitely the best action to get something done.
__________________
iPhone 5 32 GB, iPhone 4S 16GB, iPad 3 32 GB, Mac Mini i7
Armeniandave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 10:24 AM   #143
lamerica80
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armeniandave View Post
Called Apple and talked to a senior support person. After going over the problem in detail he said he is going to send me a new HDMI cable to see if that corrects it. I am pretty sure it won't but hey it's a free cable!

He did say they are aware of the issue though so calling is definitely the best action to get something done.
Haha, im claiming my free cable too! In fact, im using my PS3 cable at the moment and havent had a chance to buy one for my mini yet so thats perfect.

However, i would bet my mini that wont solve ****.
lamerica80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 11:30 AM   #144
Armeniandave
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamerica80 View Post
Haha, im claiming my free cable too! In fact, im using my PS3 cable at the moment and havent had a chance to buy one for my mini yet so thats perfect.

However, i would bet my mini that wont solve ****.
I'm 99.99% sure it won't either but hey it's a free cable!
__________________
iPhone 5 32 GB, iPhone 4S 16GB, iPad 3 32 GB, Mac Mini i7
Armeniandave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 11:31 AM   #145
iCaleb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Using a different hdmi cable will solve nothing.

Speaking of hdmi cables is the official apple one 1.3 or 1.4?
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:12 PM   #146
sno1man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
Using a different hdmi cable will solve nothing.

Speaking of hdmi cables is the official apple one 1.3 or 1.4?
+ 1 to that statement, I have tried 3 different cables with exactly the same results.

According to Apple, the HDMI jack on the mini (and the new retinas) is 1.4

Lastly, and the main reason I'm posting again. I forgot that I had access to a fairly expensive HDMI video switcher made by oppo that we used to use for video production.

What's unique about it is that it also has a USB port and monitoring/control software (windows only) that gives all kinds of info about each HDMI port such as data rate, status, encryption, handshake, status and so on.

Connected my mini, the switch and my monitor together to see what I'd get.

I got the black screen after about an hour, and the oppo reported loss of sync on the mini end of the connection. Our video guru says that indicates a hardware issue on the mini end.

One caveat, the output of the oppo may not be 100% accurate since it only supports up to 1.3 spec.

so long story short, looks like a hardware issue on the mini

Last edited by sno1man; Nov 8, 2012 at 03:18 PM.
sno1man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:19 PM   #147
calvol
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Just to reiterate, this is an Intel issue with the HD4000, specifically the Memory Resource Code (MRC), and occurs on Macs and PCs. There won't be a fix until Intel resolves it, and rolls out a fix (hopefully) to the OEMs, which will then distribute an updated BIOS/EFI. Changing cables, monitors, and whatnot is not going to fix the problem.
http://communities.intel.com/message/171244
calvol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:35 PM   #148
sno1man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by calvol View Post
Just to reiterate, this is an Intel issue with the HD4000, specifically the Memory Resource Code (MRC), and occurs on Macs and PCs. There won't be a fix until Intel resolves it, and rolls out a fix (hopefully) to the OEMs, which will then distribute an updated BIOS/EFI. Changing cables, monitors, and whatnot is not going to fix the problem.
http://communities.intel.com/message/171244
Not to put too fine a point on it and after reading whole linked thread, but all the PC guys are seeing is flicker (and maybe static) but not total screen black.

I agree that it is likely they are the same issue, but we are talking about Macs here which have things that PC's usually don't have such as EFI and thunderbolt
sno1man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:40 PM   #149
calvol
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sno1man View Post
Not to put too fine a point on it and after reading whole linked thread, but all the PC guys are seeing is flicker (and maybe static) but not total screen black.

I agree that it is likely they are the same issue, but we are talking about Macs here which have things that PC's usually don't have such as EFI and thunderbolt
If the root cause is Intel's MFC code, it doesn't matter because it's imbedded in both BIOS and EFI. It's just the O/S response to it may be different - flicker, static, or blackout-- or whatever.
calvol is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 04:07 PM   #150
sno1man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by calvol View Post
If the root cause is Intel's MFC code, it doesn't matter because it's imbedded in both BIOS and EFI. It's just the O/S response to it may be different - flicker, static, or blackout-- or whatever.
Spoken like a programmer..... who always remind me of the character in "The Princess Bride" Vizzini who frequently stated "inconceivable " when presented with information that did not fit his world view

Seriously though, I hope you are right because it's getting annoying and I think intel might produce a fix faster than Apple otherwise might
sno1man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll: Are you getting random black screens with your 2012 mac mini xlii Mac mini 91 May 1, 2013 12:18 PM
random black screens steph00 Mac Pro 0 Mar 30, 2013 05:18 AM
Random black screens - wait until Apple releases possible updates?? USB123 Mac mini 10 Nov 24, 2012 12:46 PM
Anyone not having Random Black Screens? asimmd Mac mini 39 Nov 11, 2012 06:59 AM
[2012 Mini] Snowy screens, black screens, boot loop max321 Mac mini 1 Nov 8, 2012 08:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC