Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 9, 2012, 07:28 AM   #1
rpg51
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
How to install OS on newly installed SSD

I am going to drop ship a new iMac to OWC and they will install an SSD. How difficult will it be for me to move the operating system to the SSD and set the computuer up to boot off the SSD when I get it back.

Trying to decide if I can do it myself or if that will be another expense for professional help.
rpg51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 09:47 AM   #2
Weaselboy
Moderator
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Have OWC send you back your old drive with the OS and all as it was, then put your old drive in an external USB enclosure and attach it to the iMac. Now option key boot to the external drive and use Carbon Copy Cloner (free trial version will do this) to clone from old drive to new.

Go into System Prefs / Startup Disk and select the SSD as the boot drive.

Reboot. Done.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 10:32 AM   #3
Fishrrman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
"I am going to drop ship a new iMac to OWC and they will install an SSD."

Just wondering -
Have you talked to Small Dog Computing, down in Waitsfield?
(no financial interest)
Fishrrman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 08:41 PM   #4
rpg51
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
No I have not checked with small dog but I wil.

Are you in Vermont also?
rpg51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 09:00 PM   #5
rpg51
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Have OWC send you back your old drive with the OS and all as it was, then put your old drive in an external USB enclosure and attach it to the iMac. Now option key boot to the external drive and use Carbon Copy Cloner (free trial version will do this) to clone from old drive to new.

Go into System Prefs / Startup Disk and select the SSD as the boot drive.

Reboot. Done.
My plan was to have the SSD installed as a second drive. Can I do the same thing you suggest to put the OS on the SSD if the original drive is in the machine?
rpg51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 01:14 PM   #6
Weaselboy
Moderator
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpg51 View Post
My plan was to have the SSD installed as a second drive. Can I do the same thing you suggest to put the OS on the SSD if the original drive is in the machine?
Yes... that would work exactly the same.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 05:19 AM   #7
CASLondon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpg51 View Post
I am going to drop ship a new iMac to OWC and they will install an SSD. How difficult will it be for me to move the operating system to the SSD and set the computuer up to boot off the SSD when I get it back.

Trying to decide if I can do it myself or if that will be another expense for professional help.
Dead easy. In fact you should do this, as the system will run fastest off the ssd. Do a clean install as commented above, change boot disk in Sys Pref>Startup Disk to the SSD, and boom you're in
CASLondon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 07:56 PM   #8
rpg51
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
... Now option key boot to the external drive and use Carbon Copy Cloner (free trial version will do this) to clone from old drive to new.

Go into System Prefs / Startup Disk and select the SSD as the boot drive.

Reboot. Done.
How do I "option key boot" to the newly installed internal SSD?
rpg51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 08:16 PM   #9
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpg51 View Post
How do I "option key boot" to the newly installed internal SSD?
When rebooting, or at power on, press-and-hold the "option" key on the keyboard until after you hear the chime and see the boot icons on the screen.




-howard
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:36 AM   #10
rpg51
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Will the CCC clone process put the new drive in the exact same state in all respects as the original drive bringing over the OS and all applications. Am I correct the OS is in a separate partition on the original drive? If so, will the new drive have the same structure (paritions) as the old drive after the clone?
rpg51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:12 AM   #11
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpg51 View Post
Will the CCC clone process put the new drive in the exact same state in all respects as the original drive bringing over the OS and all applications. Am I correct the OS is in a separate partition on the original drive? If so, will the new drive have the same structure (paritions) as the old drive after the clone?
The CCC clone will be exactly like the original ... OS, apps, data, user preferences, etc. It will also offer to create the OS X restore partition if the new drive doesn't have it already. If you have a Windows partition, it will NOT copy that ... you have to do that yourself by reinstalling Windows or using something like WinClone.





-howard
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:43 PM   #12
rpg51
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I have it all set up. What I did was this - I got the basic operating system set up on the original drive and updated the software etc. I set up the email accounts and I downloaded and configured the browser I use and prefer. Then I downloaded Carbon Copy Cloner and used that to clone to original drive to the added SSD. The whole process went very well and it is running great now. I did not use the option key boot process described by folks above. When I had the clone process complete I went to system preferences and changed the start up disc to the SSD and restarted.

All is running well. Fast. Very fast. Runs faster than my Air - which is really fast.
rpg51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migrate OS 10 from the internal 2 TB HD onto the newly installed SSD in the DVD space gryphon69 iMac 10 May 30, 2014 07:17 PM
Mavericks slowly falling apart on newly installed SSD Scully77 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 9 Oct 29, 2013 04:14 PM
How to install Mac OS X on a newly installed HD Ramtink OS X 7 Nov 21, 2012 12:04 PM
My newly installed SSD and old HD being recognised as one single 1.5TB drive?? superk Mac mini 6 Nov 17, 2012 04:56 PM
Do I need to optimise a newly installed SSD in any way? Zedsdead185 MacBook Pro 6 Sep 13, 2012 08:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC