Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 12, 2012, 10:24 PM   #1
Doggman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Anyone play Starcraft 2 on their Mac?

I play off and on... I'm garbage and in bronze league but I'm gettin better and I'm lookin forward to HoTS

Anyone else play?
__________________
2011 13" MBP i5 SSD | iPhone 4 | ASUS TF700
Doggman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 12:21 PM   #2
fbronze
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NJ, United States
I do! Good to see fellow Mac user on SC2.

The mice behavior in mac version of SC2 really bothers me though. It has been changed, updated, and yes, it is better than from what is was. But I still can't manage to have a mice pointer in a exact location I want as I play.

Perhaps Blizzard will fix this soon as well. This is the only reason why I have bootcamp in my MBP: MICE in SC2 SIMPLY DOESNT WORK!
fbronze is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 01:12 PM   #3
labars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
The mouse behavior issues is not coming from SC2 itself, but rather from OS X. OS X reads mouse movement differently than Windows, and it's considered by many as one of OS X's major flaws. Fortunately though, there is people working on a solution, called "Smooth Mouse", and I encourage every one to take a look at their blog:

http://d43.me/blog/1465/smoothmouse-forum/
labars is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 01:26 PM   #4
hchung
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I play periodically.

If you're having mouse problems, are you using a 3rd party mouse which has a higher than average DPI or poll rate?
If so, read this:

http://www.technobuffalo.com/compani...ce-for-mac-os/
hchung is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 10:04 PM   #5
7h3Ch1ck3nM7n
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I do, almost on a daily basis. Pretty fun, as I'm better than almost all of my friends. As for mouse issues, I don't notice anything, but maybe it's just me. Also can't wait for HoTS.
7h3Ch1ck3nM7n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 06:06 AM   #6
Wardenski
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Since I have updated my SCII to the latest patches I think it performs better but the game crashes every time during the loading sequence after every mission. Is is the only game I play on OSX.

I don't play multiplayer but I have completed the single campaign on brutal. I just can't be bothered to get into it.

Looking forward to HotS but I hope they put more effort into the story and dialogue...WoL dialogue was pitiful compared to SC1.
Wardenski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 06:34 AM   #7
Northwestern
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I'm glad I checked the Battlenet after one year, because of this thread. My account was closed, because someone tried to get in my StarCraft 2 account. I could reactivate my account again with security question.
Northwestern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 07:42 AM   #8
JoeSixPack
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Up until Diablo III came out

Looking forward to the Zerg expansion set

.
__________________
Apple IIe, Mac LC, Power Computing Clone, Blue G3 Tower, Gray G5 Tower, Gray iMac 24 and various employer-provided Dell laptops
JoeSixPack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2012, 10:00 PM   #9
AHDuke99
macrumors 68020
 
AHDuke99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Send a message via AIM to AHDuke99
I play SC2 a lot! I am a gold leaguer so I'm not great either, but it's a great game.

As for the mouse movement, I use a Steelseries mouse and they have a driver that disables the feature that causes the inaccuracies... sometimes I play under Windows but I don't like restarting every time I want to play.
AHDuke99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 10:55 AM   #10
oklaonion
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
StarCraft II may be my favorite game and it has always played well on my Mac (on low - I have a low-end machine). I kind of got away from playing it recently though.
__________________
13" MacBook Air; iPhone 5; Apple TV 3; iPod 5th Generation.
oklaonion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 07:44 PM   #11
Lindberg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denmark, Aarhus
I play as well. Im not good at multiplayer but I like watching Husky's videos on youtube. SC2 is great both to play and watch!
Lindberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 04:04 AM   #12
N33t
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I am a big SCII fan. I appreciate that it is strong both as a single player and multiplayer game. I am really looking forward to HotS (assuming they fix some of the Warhound balance issues!).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindberg View Post
...I like watching Husky's videos on youtube
If you want good SCII commentary I recommend Force Strategy Gaming. Significantly better than Husky imho (I know he is very popular but I find his style emo and juvenile).

Last edited by N33t; Oct 31, 2012 at 04:32 AM.
N33t is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 06:22 PM   #13
rezenclowd3
macrumors 6502a
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Undoing the work of Priuses: burning gas & rubber at the track.
I used to play on my 2011 MBA, but the micro-stuttering started causing me issues as I became better. I would say it worked well enough for what Mac users are used to, but as I had a custom PC, installed a EVGA 670 FTW and playing on a 46" HDTV was much more fun, and easier to look at the mini map (which is what you should be looking at 80% of the time)
__________________
MBA 1.8 i7 Sandy Bridge, 4GB Ram, 256GB SSD
i7 3770K, Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z, 16GB Ram, 12TB Raid 10
rezenclowd3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 10:14 PM   #14
Cakeove
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Sc2 with 27 iMac!!!

I allways play. I have a 2011 iMac 27 3.4 ghz core i7 with Ati 6970 2gb DDR.

All details to the maximum levels. Running at 75 fps with 1440p of resolution. My audio systems its a Logitech z5500 5.1 setup with optical link to my Mac.


Didn't notice the mouse problems. I use a Logitech vx revolution to play. Magic mouse and trackpad to work.

In the previous version I experienced the crash in loading sometimes. After the last patch 1.5 never happened again
Cakeove is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:07 AM   #15
The.Walrus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Love the game! I've played it on and off since its release, and currently play on a 15" MBP (2011), with no mouse, but rather the trackpad (control groups are your friend).

While there's still plenty of room for improvement, I'm in Diamond league, so don't knock the trackpad play that hard.
The.Walrus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 09:00 AM   #16
coder12
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fargo, ND: The greatest city on Earth.
I play it (I have it installed externally now since it takes up so much disk space )

I can't wait for HoTS either, it's looking sweet!

Edit: The soundtrack for the game is probably one of my favorite parts, it's just as great as the original.
__________________
Just plain nuts!
coder12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 09:35 AM   #17
ccrunner_tj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lafayette, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doggman View Post
I play off and on... I'm garbage and in bronze league but I'm gettin better and I'm lookin forward to HoTS

Anyone else play?
I'm in the same boat as you. I'm in low bronze league, but I still have fun playing. Definitely looking forward to HoTS.
ccrunner_tj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 09:58 PM   #18
Tucom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
What is HoTS?
Tucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:00 PM   #19
ccrunner_tj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lafayette, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucom View Post
What is HoTS?
Heart of the Swarm. It's the expansion of the game that's currently in beta, set to come out sometime next year.
ccrunner_tj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:44 AM   #20
oklaonion
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
What mouse do you guys use for SC2 on your Mac? How's the performance?
__________________
13" MacBook Air; iPhone 5; Apple TV 3; iPod 5th Generation.
oklaonion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:40 AM   #21
chevellian
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hello guys, big SC2 fan and have it played since its release (Collector's Edition) so I have never experienced any mouse trouble, at first I used to play with my Magic Mouse but then I switched to a Razer Spectre (and Razer Banshee) and has worked well. With the Razer Spectre there's this know issue with the Phillips track sensor but never experienced as well, now both of my Razer devices are 1 year old.

As to my multiplayer performance I started in Bronze League (Season 1) and have been promoted to Platium and also demoted to Silver lol.

I started playing SC2 on a Early 2008 17" MBP on Low graphics settings, then I got a Early 2011 17" MBP on high settings, the game was fast but it took forever to load on multiplayer. Now I play on a Early 2012 15" rMBP and its beatiful, this beast can run it on Extreme or Insane settings with no problem.

It's good to see that the SC2 mac community is growing, hope see you guys on a match soon!

P.D. Sorry for my english I'm mexican so...

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccrunner_tj View Post
Heart of the Swarm. It's the expansion of the game that's currently in beta, set to come out sometime next year.
Lol 4 days after your post the release date was announced, March 13

Last edited by chevellian; Nov 15, 2012 at 10:38 AM. Reason: Wanted to add something
chevellian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:54 AM   #22
ccrunner_tj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lafayette, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by
----------

[/COLOR

Lol 4 days after your post the release date was announced, March 13

Haha I know right? I put in my preorder. I should be getting a beta key in the next couple of days. Can't wait to try it out!
ccrunner_tj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 12:01 PM   #23
chevellian
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccrunner_tj View Post
Haha I know right? I put in my preorder. I should be getting a beta key in the next couple of days. Can't wait to try it out!
Sweet man, here in Mexico they haven't started preorders yet, but definitely I will get Collector's
__________________
Late 2012 21" iMac, Mid 2012 15" rMBP, Early 2008 17" MBP, iPhone 5 16GB, iPhone 3GS 8GB, Apple TV3, iPod Touch 8GB, iPad 3 WiFi 16GB, iPad 2 WiFi 16GB, iPod Nano 6th gen 8GB
chevellian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows: StarCraft 1 Campaign Remade with StarCraft 2 Graphics ReanimationN Mac and PC Games 5 Jan 27, 2013 07:10 AM
Anyone play Starcraft II/D3 with their rMBP? Allard MacBook Pro 18 Aug 24, 2012 01:14 PM
Starcraft 2? Anyone play it? MacNoobGuy Mac and PC Games 16 Jun 25, 2012 03:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC