Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2012, 04:30 PM   #1
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
Expanding wireless strength and coverage

I have a verizon fios modem that does ethernet and wireless. Currently my connection speed is 85 meg / 35meg .. which when wired i get a bit higher than that but wireless speeds dont seem to break 25 / 20 .. how can i increase the wireless network speed as well as the coverage.

The fios modem is on the 3rd floor of my house so I was thinking about adding an airport extreme base station attached to the fios modem and then an airport express on the first floor. Will this work or am I thinking wrong.
__________________
27" iMac | iPhone 6+ | iPad Air | aTV
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 09:44 PM   #2
jetjaguar
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
no one?
__________________
27" iMac | iPhone 6+ | iPad Air | aTV
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 12:19 AM   #3
Lance-AR
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Little Rock, AR
Adding more coverage will lower the speed. Extending the network will divide the available bandwidth in half. To speed wireless up you want to move the client closer to the source.
__________________
My reproduction oil paintings
Lance-AR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:52 AM   #4
jetjaguar
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
even using wireless right next to the router i only get 20/20 .. so using one of these to boost the signal wont work ?
__________________
27" iMac | iPhone 6+ | iPad Air | aTV
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:17 AM   #5
DeafRaiders
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetjaguar View Post
even using wireless right next to the router i only get 20/20 .. so using one of these to boost the signal wont work ?
Correct you can try an old school trick a 1.5l bottle cut in half covered in Kitchen foil round the pop over wireless Aerial. Worked for me!
__________________
iPod Nano 1st Gen | iPad 16GB 1st Gen (wifi+3G) | iPhone 5 16GB | iPhone 6+ 64GB | iMac Late 2012 (1st iMac) | iPad Mini with Retina Display
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 12:50 PM   #6
Apple Fan 21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lance-AR View Post
Adding more coverage will lower the speed. Extending the network will divide the available bandwidth in half. To speed wireless up you want to move the client closer to the source.
So the key term is available bandwidth? I am currently getting 10- 15 mbps in the master bathroom which is the furthest point from my AirPort Extreme. I usually get 20-25 Mbps else where in the house. So if I add an AirPort Express in the master bedroom I will cut my Mbps down to about 10 Mbps??
Apple Fan 21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 01:23 PM   #7
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple Fan 21 View Post
So the key term is available bandwidth? I am currently getting 10- 15 mbps in the master bathroom which is the furthest point from my AirPort Extreme. I usually get 20-25 Mbps else where in the house. So if I add an AirPort Express in the master bedroom I will cut my Mbps down to about 10 Mbps??
That's what I've read. The signal maybe stronger when added but, you lose bandwidth.

I have a 6K+sqft house I need to get wireless working everywhere. Not sure how that's going to work. (Can't run ethernet.)
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:08 AM   #8
SonomaFlyer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Expanding Wireless

I had the same type of issue with the size of my house. To solve it, I ran a Cat6 cable from my "Main" base station next to my modem to my other Airport Extreme in my bedroom. I used existing access points for satellite cable and tacked the cable across the roof of my garage

In this configuration, they both are main stations and should have the same speed. The same should occur with other stations hooked up via networking cable.

This is a bit more labor intensive but solves the problem of halving the bandwidth by wirelessly extending your network.
SonomaFlyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 06:03 AM   #9
colshine
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
In my house I've extended the wireless range but using powerline adapters from my Airport Extreme to a central location in the house and setting up another wireless router with the same SSID and WPA2 key.

Both routers act as primary wireless points making sure that the whole house is covered. As they are both advertising the same network all my devices seamlessly switch between the point with the strongest signal.
colshine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 11:48 AM   #10
SonomaFlyer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by colshine View Post
In my house I've extended the wireless range but using powerline adapters from my Airport Extreme to a central location in the house and setting up another wireless router with the same SSID and WPA2 key.

Both routers act as primary wireless points making sure that the whole house is covered. As they are both advertising the same network all my devices seamlessly switch between the point with the strongest signal.
I tried the power line solution but there were issues with noise on the lines which cut down on the speed considerably. That would've been easier than running Cat6 but once the project was done, the speed was fantastic. I wound up connecting in our DVRs, computers, the works.
SonomaFlyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:18 PM   #11
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetjaguar View Post
even using wireless right next to the router i only get 20/20 .. so using one of these to boost the signal wont work ?
What's the wireless specs of your fios router? Just curious, i would think 20/20 mbs is giving you like 802.11g speeds at best.

Theorectically, connecting an extreme or express directly to the modem via ethernet should provide higher internet throughput for wireless clients. As mentioned, if the fios modem permits wireless network extending, you will see a lose of bandwidth through the extension nods (ie. extreme or express). So you would definitely want to connect the extreme or express by hard cable to the verizon modem.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:50 PM   #12
jetjaguar
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
That is what I was thinking of doing. Connecting the extreme to the fios modem and then putting an express on the 2nd or first floor. This isn't for clients, just my house.
__________________
27" iMac | iPhone 6+ | iPad Air | aTV
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:00 PM   #13
Primejimbo
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Around
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetjaguar View Post
even using wireless right next to the router i only get 20/20 .. so using one of these to boost the signal wont work ?
wow something is up with that router. I get 30/10 wired in and wireless a couple rooms down it drops 27-28/8
Primejimbo is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:58 PM   #14
jetjaguar
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
i get 85 /40 plugged in .. but wireless on my iphone 5 or ipad or mac i only get like 25 max
__________________
27" iMac | iPhone 6+ | iPad Air | aTV
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expanding My NAS Gracenote Mac Peripherals 5 Oct 21, 2013 02:34 PM
Expanding Network DenBeke Mac Peripherals 27 Jan 23, 2013 09:56 AM
Expanding Battery (UK) dangermoose88 MacBook 2 Oct 22, 2012 06:09 AM
Need help expanding a partition Legend-ary Mac Basics and Help 3 Oct 14, 2012 07:21 PM
Time Capsule wireless coverage rpg51 Mac Peripherals 0 Jul 21, 2012 01:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC