Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2012, 10:15 PM   #1
NZed
macrumors 65816
 
NZed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada, Eh?
Mamiya RB67 Question

Just got it today. Google wont do it so i guess i'll try my luck here.

I cant fire the shutter when in ordinary single exposure mode. But when i move the dial to show the red dot which changes it to multiple exposure mode, the shutter fires normally.

Anybody have any experiences with it before?

Thanks!
__________________
Marty: Wait a minute, Doc. Are you telling me that you built a time machine, out of a DeLorean?

Last edited by NZed; Nov 11, 2012 at 01:20 AM.
NZed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 11:28 AM   #2
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Take it to a Pro Camera shop, and look for an, um, older tech there. If they can't figure it out, they will know someone who does... or they will call a shooter who is still using the RB.

I used to know the answer to this one, but it's been too many years to do this without the camera in front of me.

If I suggested Vistek, does that make sense to you? If you are in Ottawa there is a wonderful used camera store down the street from the Vistek there. They may have some lenses for the RB, plus will know how to use it. If you are in Vancouver, try Beau Photo or Leos. If you are in Calgary try The Camera Store or Vistek.

If that doesn't help, just try to find a long established pro shooter in your community.

Those cameras are beasts. But good lenses, and they produce negatives that are pretty close to a 4x5 in size. But a beast. I went with the Mamiya 645 system because I liked to shoot handheld.

Try searching on Youtube....
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 02:27 PM   #3
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Just had a vague memory surface....

IIRC, those cameras needed you to advance the film and cock the shutter. If you are set to multiple exposure, then of course the camera is not waiting for the film to advance so it ignores the "film not advanced" marker.

More vague memories... some film cameras (but maybe not the RB) actually needed film loaded when you advanced the film because it was the movement of the film that physically set the "film advanced" marker. But I think the RB didn't need the film loaded. But I could be wrong.

There was also funny business about the film advance - there was a setting that could get knocked, if memory serves, that would negate the "film advanced" setting. But it may just have been that the school had very old RBs.

Hope some of this helps.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 03:32 PM   #4
NZed
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
NZed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada, Eh?
Quote:
Originally Posted by snberk103 View Post
Take it to a Pro Camera shop, and look for an, um, older tech there. If they can't figure it out, they will know someone who does... or they will call a shooter who is still using the RB.

I used to know the answer to this one, but it's been too many years to do this without the camera in front of me.

If I suggested Vistek, does that make sense to you? If you are in Ottawa there is a wonderful used camera store down the street from the Vistek there. They may have some lenses for the RB, plus will know how to use it. If you are in Vancouver, try Beau Photo or Leos. If you are in Calgary try The Camera Store or Vistek.

If that doesn't help, just try to find a long established pro shooter in your community.

Those cameras are beasts. But good lenses, and they produce negatives that are pretty close to a 4x5 in size. But a beast. I went with the Mamiya 645 system because I liked to shoot handheld.

Try searching on Youtube....
Quote:
Originally Posted by snberk103 View Post
Just had a vague memory surface....

IIRC, those cameras needed you to advance the film and cock the shutter. If you are set to multiple exposure, then of course the camera is not waiting for the film to advance so it ignores the "film not advanced" marker.

More vague memories... some film cameras (but maybe not the RB) actually needed film loaded when you advanced the film because it was the movement of the film that physically set the "film advanced" marker. But I think the RB didn't need the film loaded. But I could be wrong.

There was also funny business about the film advance - there was a setting that could get knocked, if memory serves, that would negate the "film advanced" setting. But it may just have been that the school had very old RBs.

Hope some of this helps.
This really helped! Thank you so much! Im in Victoria so the only ones i actually trust are Kerrisdale's and local camera traders.

Anyways, I also believe that film has to be loaded, because on both backs that i have, the 120 and 220, it wouldnt work without loading film and another guy on flickr also mentioned that film should be loaded.

I'll try loading the film and see what happens.

Thank you!
__________________
Marty: Wait a minute, Doc. Are you telling me that you built a time machine, out of a DeLorean?
NZed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 04:25 PM   #5
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by NZed View Post
This really helped! Thank you so much! Im in Victoria so the only ones i actually trust are Kerrisdale's and local camera traders.

Anyways, I also believe that film has to be loaded, because on both backs that i have, the 120 and 220, it wouldnt work without loading film and another guy on flickr also mentioned that film should be loaded.

I'll try loading the film and see what happens.

Thank you!
There is also Victoria Camera Repair. The system may need cleaning in any case, and if so I'm sure they will help you figure out how things work. Ironically, I'm close by Victoria - though a ferry ride away. My experience with the RB system dates back 20 years, and then only as part of a course. But if Vic Camera Repair or Camera Traders can't help, try posting a note at Western Academy School of Photography. There are some instructors there who may have more current experiences with it.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 01:06 PM   #6
Macinposh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kreplakistan
Havent shot with my RB67 in years, but if I remember tight, you dont need to have the film loaded to release the shutter.
But you need to have the film cover plate removed. Ia. the silver slider in the film pack.

I have a old RB67 that is so worn out that it releases the shutter even with the
flim plate on.
And once in a while, it doesnt release because the shutter lock is "on", even if it is turned off. You know, the little switch around the shutter release button.

AAAaand , third most common problem (if I remember right) is the X / M switch
on the lens.
It might affect the shutter release as well, if things have worn out.

Take things apart, check out that no pins are twisted/release/move normally.
RB67 are about the most simple and robust cameras ever released.
I took my rig apart several times when travelin and things got gobbed up & jammed due to dust and ****.

Happy shooting.
__________________
Rom..Rom...Rom...
Macinposh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 04:47 PM   #7
NZed
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
NZed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada, Eh?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macinposh View Post
Havent shot with my RB67 in years, but if I remember tight, you dont need to have the film loaded to release the shutter.
But you need to have the film cover plate removed. Ia. the silver slider in the film pack.

I have a old RB67 that is so worn out that it releases the shutter even with the
flim plate on.
And once in a while, it doesnt release because the shutter lock is "on", even if it is turned off. You know, the little switch around the shutter release button.

AAAaand , third most common problem (if I remember right) is the X / M switch
on the lens.
It might affect the shutter release as well, if things have worn out.

Take things apart, check out that no pins are twisted/release/move normally.
RB67 are about the most simple and robust cameras ever released.
I took my rig apart several times when travelin and things got gobbed up & jammed due to dust and ****.

Happy shooting.
Hey can you help explain the X/M switch on the lens to me please? Its something i'm quite curious on and havent been able to find answers!

Thanks!
__________________
Marty: Wait a minute, Doc. Are you telling me that you built a time machine, out of a DeLorean?
NZed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 05:29 PM   #8
shashin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
The X/M switch refers to the type of flash being used with the camera. X means electronic or strobe type. M means flashbulb style.
shashin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mophie Juice Pack Plus (iPhone 5) Question - Mute Button Question JulesK iPhone Accessories 3 Mar 30, 2014 02:58 PM
Question for anyone who has seen or owns the pink ipod nano? Color deciding question. Pinkstiletto66 iPod 4 Apr 4, 2013 12:57 PM
Family Share Question, Upgrade Question, Argh head hurting.. Jazwire iPhone 1 Sep 14, 2012 12:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC