Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:20 PM   #1
trung979
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
5th gen iPod Touch keeps losing wifi connection

I recently bought the new iPod Touch and I've been noticing that it always disconnects from my wifi after a few hours of reconnecting it. I'm pretty sure that its not my wifi's fault because my old Touch doesn't have this problem. Is anyone else experiencing this or should I go back and get a new one?
trung979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:33 PM   #2
Zmanbaseball2
macrumors 68040
 
Zmanbaseball2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New York, USA
iOS 6 Glitch ALOT of people have it including me.your iPod touch is fine. It is just a problem with the software check if you have iOS 6.0.1
__________________
-iPhone 5 16GB Black; iPod Touch 5 32GB Blue; iPad Air 32GB Wifi White
-MacBook 2.2GHz i7 Mid 2014
Zmanbaseball2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:55 PM   #3
trung979
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Yup, it is 6.0.1

----------

Is your problem the same as mine or is it another general wifi problem? I just did some quick searches and found that the main wifi issues were the wifi option being grayed out or wifi not working at all. I didn't see anything mentioning loss of connection.
trung979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 02:42 PM   #4
Aspasia
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Halfway between the Equator and North Pole
Quote:
Originally Posted by trung979 View Post
I recently bought the new iPod Touch and I've been noticing that it always disconnects from my wifi after a few hours of reconnecting it. I'm pretty sure that its not my wifi's fault because my old Touch doesn't have this problem. Is anyone else experiencing this or should I go back and get a new one?
Try this: Go into your WiFi settings, chose "other," then enter the name of your network, your password, and tell it to renew lease.

My iPod Touch 5 connected to and remembered every network it met - except my home network. It would either not connect, or once connected, drop out.

It's behaved perfectly since I did the above.
Aspasia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 11:49 AM   #5
pachi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
What if your at a different persons (client) house everyday and you're not able to adjust their wifi settings?
pachi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 03:19 PM   #6
trung979
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspasia View Post
Try this: Go into your WiFi settings, chose "other," then enter the name of your network, your password, and tell it to renew lease.

My iPod Touch 5 connected to and remembered every network it met - except my home network. It would either not connect, or once connected, drop out.

It's behaved perfectly since I did the above.
I tried this last night and when I woke up it was still connected. Thanks so much! Ill keep watching it for the next day to make sure it doesn't happen again though.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pachi View Post
What if your at a different persons (client) house everyday and you're not able to adjust their wifi settings?
On the iPod's wifi menu, theres a little blue circle with an arrow next to each wifi network. Tap the arrow and you are taken to the network's information. That is where you can renew the lease. (If that was what you were asking)

Last edited by trung979; Nov 11, 2012 at 03:20 PM. Reason: Had to add some things
trung979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 10:19 AM   #7
Qboysosa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I renewed the lease and everything but mine keeps cutting off
Qboysosa is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod Touch 4th gen vs 5th gen? jread iPod touch 18 Jul 15, 2013 03:35 AM
Why does iPod touch 5th gen only have A5 and not A6? cooper56 iPod touch 65 Jun 9, 2013 12:04 PM
iPod touch 5th Gen. Quantum paradox iPod touch 9 Nov 4, 2012 09:55 AM
iPod Touch 4th Gen Or 5th Gen? Goftrey iPod touch 8 Sep 22, 2012 10:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC