Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2012, 04:53 PM   #1
Bheleu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
$40 Windows 8 Pro Upgrade = Full Install, Not just Upgrade!

Just a heads up...
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/buy

Also you can click add features to get a free Media Center Code as well.
I am thinking of getting a second drive for my MacBook Pro and getting a dual boot machine going.

-----
Also got these directions from Amazon for making USB Enclosures work like internal enclosures (should make the install process easier).

I, like many of you, was frustrated by all the different choices of cheaper external enclosures. I went with my gut and bought this one. No complaints here. It's just what you would expect. Not glamorous of flashy. Just a solid enclosure to get the job done. Obviously not designed for slot load opticals like mine (as there is no faceplate for that) but that doesn't really bother me. Aesthetics weren't my top priority as much as function was. Just get a cheap pouch at the dollar store to protect from dust, or do what I did and stick it right back in the plastic sleeve it was packaged in. Viola! Perfect external enclosure.

Also, for those of you with Macs who are saying that the optical drive will no longer be able to play movies via DVD Player, you're wrong. Here's a very simple fix for that. (Note: you'll need administrator permission) If you've experiencing an error when trying to use DVDs, just find the file /System/Library/Frameworks/DVDPlayback.framework/Versions/A/DVDPlayback. Copy it and paste it to the desktop. Then, leaving the original file where you found it, rename it by adding (ORIG) to the end of its name, just to keep it around for good measure. It should look like "DVDPlayback(ORIG)" Download a sweet program called 0xed and open the "DVDPlayback file you pasted on the desktop. Run a find and replace (command-F) and type "internal" in the search field and "external" in the replace field. check "all cases" option. Replace all and then "save as..." to the desktop, overwriting the other file on the desktop. Drag and drop the new file back in the System folder alongside it's (ORIG) brethren. That's it. Your now external optical drive will also play DVD movies again.
Bheleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:22 PM   #2
Daniel L
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Are you sure the upgrade works fine for a full install?
Daniel L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:37 PM   #3
mac jones
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
That comes as an exe. file so you need to be running windows.

Oh, I forgot, you can use DOS

Also, from my limited exposure to 8 (I have a machine with it), its a horrid POS made for some kind of tablet that doesn't exist yet, as the Surface Thingy is still using RT until January. Anyway, its a dog with flees

Stick with 7

Last edited by mac jones; Nov 12, 2012 at 07:44 PM.
mac jones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:58 PM   #4
fskywalker
macrumors 65816
 
fskywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I also share the same question, is that really a full install?
__________________
'13 Haswell rMBP 13" 2.8/16/1TB (A18 Display)
'12 13" MBA 1.7/4/256 (Wife), '12 rMBP 13" 2.5/8/256, A14 Display (Daughter)
'12 I5/64/7.0.4 JB, Ipad 4 32GB LTE, '12 Mac Mini 2.5/500 & 120GB SSD
fskywalker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:06 PM   #5
markus843
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: North america
Why is this posted in the Macbook pro part of the forum?
markus843 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 10:01 PM   #6
mcdj
macrumors 603
 
mcdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
A. Wrong forum.
B. I see nothing that indicates it's anything but an upgrade. A full install perhaps, but it requires a qualifying Windows product to have been purchased. If you have never owned Windows, I'm pretty certain you can't just buy it for $40.
__________________
Great cage! No bird...
50f/2
mcdj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 10:11 PM   #7
Rhinoevans
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I purchased the day it came out, installed over the windows 8 public release, and it never ask me to prove for upgrade. Put in the new key and that was it.

And I think Win 8 is very good, very different, but very good. Has some features I wish OSX had.
Rhinoevans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 10:42 PM   #8
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac jones View Post
That comes as an exe. file so you need to be running windows.

Oh, I forgot, you can use DOS

Also, from my limited exposure to 8 (I have a machine with it), its a horrid POS made for some kind of tablet that doesn't exist yet, as the Surface Thingy is still using RT until January. Anyway, its a dog with flees

Stick with 7
Works pretty darned well on my touchscreen ultrabook. Ya know, the device Apple is late to the game thinking about so you don't think exists because you don't step away long or far enough .
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 10:46 PM   #9
Orlandoech
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Send a message via AIM to Orlandoech Send a message via MSN to Orlandoech Send a message via Yahoo to Orlandoech
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac jones View Post
That comes as an exe. file so you need to be running windows.

Oh, I forgot, you can use DOS

Also, from my limited exposure to 8 (I have a machine with it), its a horrid POS made for some kind of tablet that doesn't exist yet, as the Surface Thingy is still using RT until January. Anyway, its a dog with flees

Stick with 7
I concur, but its not a dog with flees, its a dog with rabies.
Orlandoech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:59 AM   #10
Bheleu
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel L View Post
Are you sure the upgrade works fine for a full install?
Yes, just have to have a windows machine to make the disks or order the media. It installed over my win 8 dev beta, no issues. I only tried it because my xp machine was hosed by it so put it on the hackintosh I put together. Manager of office depot was certain the $70 upgrade disks were the full copies they sell, and because I had all in hand it was worth trying (no I did not buy from OD).

Only hiccup I had was not setting the time zone on the media center portion. Took me a while to figure out why shows were not lining up.

Thinking of doing the two drive setup in my MacBook pro. 750gb momentus xt is ~ $116 now on Newegg. Keep my 500 xt for osx, 750 xt for win 8 & gaming.

Also it blows Beta away, and it's stable. I use 7 at work, 8 is a breath of fresh air. I wish osx had the apps as easily integrated (iOS + OSX). MS did it right, and I am surprised at how well it works. Just as surprised as I was when Apple released iPad 4 early. If you want to know why apples stock has taken a hit, I think investors know apple has real competition out there from the Redmond Giant, plus Google. I am an apple fan by the way. I hated the beta copy as much as others here who tried it, too much was broken when I tried it. $40 made it worth trying, just hope I can rescue my XP machine. Had to power that one off as it locked up in recovery, but I have a backup of data so no harm there, just have to do the time to get it happy (think it needs a newer graphics card).

Switching between app mode (RT) and desktop mode is easy, click in corners of the screen.

Last edited by Bheleu; Nov 13, 2012 at 01:22 AM.
Bheleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:37 AM   #11
mac jones
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccrew View Post
works pretty darned well on my touchscreen ultrabook. Ya know, the device apple is late to the game thinking about so you don't think exists because you don't step away long or far enough .
This forum never fails to amaze me.
mac jones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:47 AM   #12
lulla01
macrumors 68000
 
lulla01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: U.S
Send a message via AIM to lulla01
Can it be installed on a VM , that's what I wanted to know
lulla01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:51 AM   #13
Bheleu
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulla01 View Post
Can it be installed on a VM , that's what I wanted to know
I see no reason why it could not be.
Bheleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:52 AM   #14
lulla01
macrumors 68000
 
lulla01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: U.S
Send a message via AIM to lulla01
As a fresh install on a VMware if its an exe file I don't know how that would work.
lulla01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:18 AM   #15
Bheleu
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulla01 View Post
As a fresh install on a VMware if its an exe file I don't know how that would work.
Either pay the $17 for the DVDs, or find a Windows machine or VM to make the thumb drive, ISO file, or DVD. The key itself is a full install.
Bheleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:24 AM   #16
Rhinoevans
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bheleu View Post
Either pay the $17 for the DVDs, or find a Windows machine or VM to make the thumb drive, ISO file, or DVD. The key itself is a full install.
I downloaded the ISO file, burned a DVD and installed. Will install on my 2012 MBP when I buy another key, currently running 7 Ultimate with Parallels 8.
Rhinoevans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 03:31 AM   #17
Daniel L
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Getting conflicting info here about the full install:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showpos...4&postcount=17

Quote:
a) looks like the double-install method won't work
- the double install method allows you to install windows 7 on top of itself, therefore "upgrading" itself
- this loophole was found out after the fact, and it looks like it was closed w/ Win8
b) looks like you must have a previous version of windows installed to start the upgrade process
- you cannot start fresh with just the serial key from the old machine
- also, the machine has to have an activated version of windows
c) however, you can format the drive during the upgrade process
- no files will be transferred to the new machine

i am getting this however. but my install method seems to be like this:

1) install win xp or win vista or win 7 (whichever legit key i have) onto a brand new hard drive
2) activate said older version
3) start the win8 upgrade process
4) during the upgrade process, system will restart, and then i will have the option of formatting the hdd before installing win 8
5) format, install win8 fresh
Daniel L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 07:39 AM   #18
Bheleu
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel L View Post
Getting conflicting info here about the full install:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showpos...4&postcount=17
Thanks for the thread, people there was speculating, installed my copy over win 8 developer (was free, no key was needed). One interesting read...
So the only question is spend gas money driving to MicroCenter, or get the $40 download version. Hmmm. Someone in another thread brought up a good reason for buying the $40 download version: when any service pack comes out you can just redownload a new image with SP integrated.

Spent $117 on newegg, $30 on amazon, and $40 for Another key yesterday. I will let you know how it all comes together. Also win 8 pro is equivalent to win 7 ultimate. There was speculation in the thread about installing over trial, which is what I did. I can confirm once it all comes in whether that the "trial" is really needed or if it will start from scratch.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o00_s00_i02

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o00_s00_i01

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148837

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w.../feature-packs

I need to determine to go the VMW, //, or BC route. I am leaning heavily towards BC as my MBP is a 5,1 model and would use the full performance if I wanted to do any gaming. If I had something newer with more memory or a quad processor a Virtual Machine might make more sense.
Bheleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:04 AM   #19
lulla01
macrumors 68000
 
lulla01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: U.S
Send a message via AIM to lulla01
If I buy the pro version can I clean install on VMware also how many pc.s can I install on?
lulla01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:26 AM   #20
Rhinoevans
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulla01 View Post
If I buy the pro version can I clean install on VMware also how many pc.s can I install on?
one
Rhinoevans is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC