Hp 3520 printer wont scan - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2012, 09:32 PM   #1
monroedave
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hp 3520 printer wont scan

i am running a Mac 10.6.8 with a HP 3520 e-all in one printer.

it prints fine but i cant scan.

apparently you have to enable the scan to computer function in the HP utility window. however when i try to do that i get a communication error saying it cant communcate with the printer.

not sure how to enable.

thanks in advance

Dave
monroedave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:33 PM   #2
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I think, starting with Mac OS X 10.6, most printer manufacturers don't even bother including a scanner utility with their included setup software. Try using Image Capture to initiate scanning. Or are you trying to get it where you push the Scan button on the mini display on the printer and it creates an image file on a computer?
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:47 PM   #3
teleromeo
macrumors 65816
 
teleromeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: kidnapped by aliens
I have an other model HP-AIO that has the same issue. I get it working just by toggling scan to computer off and on in HP-utility.
__________________
wie heb ik aan de lijn hallo hallo
teleromeo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 04:14 AM   #4
Pheo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
If you get really stuck, worth investigating the built in web server of your printer - I can get my HP all in One to scan using that. Works OK,
Pheo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 07:44 AM   #5
Jnardis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I have an HP 7680 all in one and am having the same issue. It worked perfectly in the past. I recently purchased an Airport Extreme and thought that was the issue, but I think it may be the Lion update that I did instead.
Jnardis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 06:36 AM   #6
Jnardis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pheo View Post
If you get really stuck, worth investigating the built in web server of your printer - I can get my HP all in One to scan using that. Works OK,
Which HP do you have and how is the setup?
Jnardis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 06:37 AM   #7
Pheo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnardis View Post
Which HP do you have and how is the setup?
B109 from memory - it's just called an HP All in One

There was a button I found in the driver control panel - although it just opened Safari to a wierd URL
Pheo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now unable to Scan with HP Printer nicefellow OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 May 17, 2014 12:23 AM
MAC won't wake Epson WF 3520 wireless printer cfcman Mac Peripherals 0 Aug 7, 2013 03:32 AM
Canon MG2220 all in one printer - wont scan Warhawk15 Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 9, 2013 11:57 AM
An app to scan multiple Docs. from the printer's feeder ?? jigsb007 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Jan 6, 2013 05:37 AM
HP 3520 error message, Printer is offline monroedave Mac Peripherals 0 Nov 12, 2012 08:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC