Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2012, 09:46 PM   #1
andyhutch1947
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Need larger Time Machine BU HD or HDs

I have an iMac 27 late 2009 and I have always used one large BU drive for Time Machine. I just increased the size of my internal HD to 2TB with three External HDs (Mackintosh HD & Ext 1 & Ext 2 & Ext 3). My 2TB Time Machine BU HD is now too small for a complete backup. Is there a way to use multiple HDs as a BU drive?

Can I do multiple backups with each BU using different external HDs and one BU with Mac HD plus another Ext HD eg BU One =(Mac HD & Ext 1); BU Two =(Ext 2 & Ext 3)?

Any solutions?

Has to be a way with all the data we acquire.

Thanks

Andy
andyhutch1947 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:12 AM   #2
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Time Machine does not span backups over multiple drives. You will need to figure out another solution.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:43 AM   #3
andyhutch1947
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Time Machine does not span backups over multiple drives. You will need to figure out another solution.
Sorry but I am confused by your post. Are you saying I can not BU multiple drives or, are you saying I can't BU different drives on each BU? In other words I will always have to BU the same set of drives.
andyhutch1947 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:09 AM   #4
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyhutch1947 View Post
Sorry but I am confused by your post. Are you saying I can not BU multiple drives or, are you saying I can't BU different drives on each BU? In other words I will always have to BU the same set of drives.
1. You can backup multiple drives to one drive as long as there is space.

2. You can have multiple (redundant) backup destinations, but they will all be the same.

3. You cannot (and I think this was your core issue) backup for example, 3TB of data to one 1TB and one 2TB drive. It all needs to fit on one destination drive.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 01:30 PM   #5
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
You could use a RAID 0 setup with two drives for Time Machine, but I personally wouldn't. I would just get a 3TB drive to use for Time Machine.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 08:32 PM   #6
andyhutch1947
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
How do these Internet companies that offer backup services backup such large amounts of data?
andyhutch1947 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 10:34 PM   #7
slu
macrumors 65816
 
slu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Buffalo
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyhutch1947 View Post
How do these Internet companies that offer backup services backup such large amounts of data?
They only back up data. If you want to be able to do a full restore with Time Machine, you need a larger drive than the one in your computer.
slu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC