Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:48 PM   #1
WendyS
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
CS4 with G5?

I've searched and searched, but nothing I've been able to find in the forums seems to get me anywhere...any help would be appreciated!

I just purchased an old G5, most of the system wiped before my purchase. It's running Tiger. I've got a box set of CS4 Master and have been unsuccessfully desperately trying to up load it since the purchase. When I put the disc in, the CS4 Master Collection icon comes up but nothing happens. When I click the icon, there is no 'install' option and when trying the 'setup.exe' there's no option for install in the box it brings up...

Please help!
WendyS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:35 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Sounds like you have a Windows version of CS4. You need the Mac version.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:37 PM   #3
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Philippines...
Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Sounds like you have a Windows version of CS4. You need the Mac version.
I agree she got the windows version. "setup.exe" says it all.

I have CS4 on my G5.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:25 PM   #4
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
I think if you just download the CS4 package for OS X, you can still use the Windows serial with it. I'm also using CS4 on my G5.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:40 PM   #5
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Wirelessly posted

Don't know why anyone would expect Windows software to work on a Mac like it does on a PC, especially a PowerPC Mac. Even with Intel Macs you'd need another app or to boot into Windows to achieve this.

In any case finding Mac CS4 installers if you don't have them may be a difficult hunt. Adobe has the very bad habit of obliterating previous version installers off their servers when they release a new version.
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 02:27 AM   #6
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Ha, that's the Windows version...

You need the Mac version. I've got Photoshop CS4 Extended on my G5.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 02:48 AM   #7
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
OP: What is 1+1?
- It's 2.
- It depends on what you're asking, the sum or the two or the equation in it self.
- 2.
- It's 2.
- 2.
- 2.
- 2.

/end winy complaint about people not reading earlier responses

As others have said, .exe is a Windows file that isn't compatible with OS X. You usually want to see .dmg-files or something like .sit, .tar or .smi. Although I think .sit can be used under Windows as well... Hm.
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.
Starfighter is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are CS4 apps working? 2cool4games OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Oct 24, 2013 12:39 PM
Photoshop CS4/5 Urgent help needed! DryEyez Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 19, 2012 09:31 AM
Any issues with CS4 design premium in 10.8 onebitrocket OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jul 26, 2012 03:42 PM
Help with Macbook and CS4 maclovesmacs Design and Graphics 2 Jun 17, 2012 10:55 PM
Help with CS4 and MacBook 5,2 maclovesmacs MacBook 0 Jun 12, 2012 02:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC