Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:53 AM   #1
Appl3FTW
macrumors 68000
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Apple store "unexpected character at line 1" error

Is anyone else getting this message??? I was checking on my status order at home and i keep getting this message when i was entering my password. The weird part is i was able to login the same password when downloading apps so i know it's not my password. it started acting up like 10:45pm but it was fine around 10pm.
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 07:25 AM   #2
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by Appl3FTW View Post
Is anyone else getting this message??? I was checking on my status order at home and i keep getting this message when i was entering my password. The weird part is i was able to login the same password when downloading apps so i know it's not my password. it started acting up like 10:45pm but it was fine around 10pm.
Yup, I'm seeing the same thing (see attached) however only on Wi-Fi. When I tried it with Wi-Fi turned off, it worked fine with no error.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	applestoreerrorlineone.png
Views:	16
Size:	157.6 KB
ID:	377448  
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 07:35 AM   #3
Appl3FTW
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
YEA, that's exactly what i have... i didn't post the picture cuz its on my phone and didn't get the chance to upload. but same here when i disable wifi and use LTE and it works. APPLE FIX IT.
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 08:48 AM   #4
zwheeloc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, MA
Send a message via AIM to zwheeloc Send a message via Yahoo to zwheeloc
Turning off Wi-Fi Works

So it seems that turning off Wi-Fi will allow you to get to the Order Status (very important for my shipment of the iPad 4 (?) ). What could have changed in the Wi-Fi that would confuse the app? Made no changes to my Wi-Fis (both work and home). Same App on the iPhone that was updated a couple of weeks ago. Was able to track packages a day ago. The only thing it has to be is the connection to Apple from the App.
zwheeloc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 08:59 AM   #5
Appl3FTW
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
yes, it's isolated at wifi. it didn't work on my mini as well. i did all the logical troubleshooting steps and nothing...

1. delete and reinstall apple store app.. FAIL
2. mimick error on mini... yup FAIL
3. deleted cache credentials, (apple store account and browsing history)... FAIL
4. reseted router... FAIL

MAD

----------

oh here's the best part, the apple tech was an utter retard.

1. asked me to restart my iphone. i told him that if i do, i will lose the call. i asked if he can call me back if i provide him a call back number. he told me, just call back to apple with that new line. so i told him, "so you want me to call you guys back and wait for 15 mins AGAIN?"... FAIL

2. tech told me to tap into someone's unsecured wifi... i mean REALLY? who does that? and who doesn't have unsecured wifi now... FAIL

3. tech told me restore my device. OMG FAIL

3. tech told me to go to an apple store and use their wifi instead.. FAIL
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:54 AM   #6
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by Appl3FTW View Post
yes, it's isolated at wifi. it didn't work on my mini as well. i did all the logical troubleshooting steps and nothing...

1. delete and reinstall apple store app.. FAIL
2. mimick error on mini... yup FAIL
3. deleted cache credentials, (apple store account and browsing history)... FAIL
4. reseted router... FAIL

MAD

----------

oh here's the best part, the apple tech was an utter retard.

1. asked me to restart my iphone. i told him that if i do, i will lose the call. i asked if he can call me back if i provide him a call back number. he told me, just call back to apple with that new line. so i told him, "so you want me to call you guys back and wait for 15 mins AGAIN?"... FAIL

2. tech told me to tap into someone's unsecured wifi... i mean REALLY? who does that? and who doesn't have unsecured wifi now... FAIL

3. tech told me restore my device. OMG FAIL

3. tech told me to go to an apple store and use their wifi instead.. FAIL
For what it's worth, I contacted Apple through other means (i.e. not Apple Support) and received a call back shortly afterwards asking me to provide as much additional info as possible (e.g. iPhone model, iOS version, Apple Store app version). As a result of the conversation, it seems to me that they are actively looking into this and will hopefully be able to fix it soon.
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:11 PM   #7
Appl3FTW
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
hopefully they fix it.
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:13 PM   #8
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by Appl3FTW View Post
hopefully they fix it.
Try it now. I just did and it appears to be fixed.
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:15 PM   #9
PorterRocks
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Idaho
I'm getting the same thing on my iPhone 5. It's a bit annoying because I'm finally able to order my LTE iPad mini and I get this message when I try to check out.

iPhone 5 running latest version of iOS and latest version of apple store app.
PorterRocks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:23 PM   #10
Appl3FTW
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2shyyou View Post
Try it now. I just did and it appears to be fixed.
did u do it in ur wifi?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorterRocks View Post
I'm getting the same thing on my iPhone 5. It's a bit annoying because I'm finally able to order my LTE iPad mini and I get this message when I try to check out.

iPhone 5 running latest version of iOS and latest version of apple store app.
the problem for me is when i'm at my wifi and check order status. now i don't know if you'll go into problems actually checking it out. but for me the problem is when you check the existing order.
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:24 PM   #11
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by Appl3FTW View Post
did u do it in ur wifi?
Yes, since that was where the problem was to begin with. I tried it a second time as well and it worked then too.

Is it still not working for you? If not and if you're in a position to restart your phone, can you do so and try it again? Or maybe try Airplane Mode ON then OFF and then try it?

Either way, it's working for me now.
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:30 PM   #12
Appl3FTW
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
im at work and will try it when i get home. if not, agreed, ill do the usual troubleshooting and see if that does the trick.
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 05:41 PM   #13
Appl3FTW
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
It works now
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 6

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help, Error: "Your Apple ID cannot be used for the iTunes Store. Please enter another preyan iPod 1 Dec 4, 2013 02:18 PM
"An unexpected error occurred" when updating dastinger OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 4, 2013 05:36 AM
Resolved: Xcode 5: Mac App Store said "An error occurred." moonman239 iPhone/iPad Programming 1 Sep 18, 2013 06:10 PM
URGENT: can I "add a line" and "buy full price" at APPLE store? Bossyman iPhone 0 Sep 21, 2012 08:26 AM
How i can fix "Wiki setting error" and "Running time error" ? Amethyst Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Sep 2, 2012 01:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps