Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2010, 12:58 AM   #1
babygirl567
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Unhappy Help with Winebottler... getting frustrated!

Hi okay.
I am running OSX 10.6.2 (Snow Leopard).
I have X11 2.3.4
I have installed the latest WinebottlerCombo 1.1.35 (includes Wine)

I have a pc file with .exe on the end it will put software into my mac version of DAZ Studio.

I had this working when I had 10.5.8 installed, but then I had to go and mess things up.

When I open my exe file the window opens up:
You are about to install a Wine file
What would you like to do with it?
•run directly in users/michelle/Wine Files
•Convert to simple OSX Application bund with Winebottler.

(I've tried both)
the first one run directly... (this is the one I used previously) when I click go, nothing happens

When I choose the 2nd Convert to simple OSX...
The WineBottler opens. I leave all presets and click install, Save As new name click save -> I get the install bar, then it stops and I get this message (everytime)
Prefix creation exited with error (you find a logfile to help with debuggin on you desktop.

I'm posting the report just incase someone can read it:

###BOTTLING### default.sh
###BOTTLING### Gathering debug Info...

Versions
OS...........................: darwin10.0
Wine.........................: 1.1.35
WineBottler..................: 1.1.35

Environment
PWD..........................: '/Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/bin'
PATH.........................: /usr/gnu/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:.
WINEPATH.....................: /Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/bin
LD_LIBRARY_PATH..............: /Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/lib:/usr/X11R6/lib
DYLD_FALLBACK_LIBRARY_PATH...: /usr/lib:/Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/lib:/usr/X11R6/lib
FONTCONFIG_FILE..............: /Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/etc/fonts/fonts.conf
DIPSPLAY.....................: /tmp/launch-6eInIX/:0
SILENT.......................:
http_proxy...................:
https_proxy..................:
ftp_proxy....................:
socks5_proxy.................:

Hardware:

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac9,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 3.06 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: IM91.008D.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.45f0
Serial Number (system): You dont need this
Hardware UUID: You dont need this info either

###BOTTLING### Create .app...
###BOTTLING### installing volnum
Fontconfig error: line 1: no element found
Fontconfig error: Cannot load default config file
Fontconfig error: line 1: no element found
Fontconfig error: Cannot load default config file
###BOTTLING### Registering native dlls...
###BOTTLING### Installing Desktop
DAZ
Studio
UberHair.rar
10164_1_ds_UberHairShaderUpdeforUberSurface_1.exe...
Fontconfig error: line 1: no element found
Fontconfig error: Cannot load default config file
Fontconfig error: line 1: no element found
Fontconfig error: Cannot load default config file
err:module:import_dll Library MSVCP60.dll (which is needed by L"C:\\windows\\temp\\twapi-2.0a7.dll") not found
err:module:import_dll Library MSVCP60.dll (which is needed by L"C:\\windows\\temp\\twapi-2.0a7.dll") not found
###ERROR### Command '/Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/bin/wine /Users/dmhanratty/Desktop/ DAZ Studio Pro/UberSurfaceShader_HairExpan/UberHair.rar Folder/10164_1_ds_UberHairShaderUpdeforUberSurface_1.exe' returned status 1.
Task returned with status 15.

Last edited by babygirl567; Jan 9, 2010 at 01:00 AM. Reason: removed personal info
babygirl567 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 02:46 PM   #2
robgranholm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Have you hunted down the fix yet?

I believe it's making some calls to the web to install fonts that Internet Explorer uses, the website it calls is down. I think at least...have you had any luck with this?

-r
robgranholm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 02:49 PM   #3
babygirl567
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by robgranholm View Post
I believe it's making some calls to the web to install fonts that Internet Explorer uses, the website it calls is down. I think at least...have you had any luck with this?

-r
since posting this...
I've got winebottler working.
It only seems to work on older files tho (dont know why)
babygirl567 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 03:04 PM   #4
robgranholm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
How?

How did you get it working eventually?
robgranholm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 03:11 PM   #5
babygirl567
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by robgranholm View Post
How did you get it working eventually?
Well... It wasnt that it didn't work.
I kept trying different installers (I'm relentless)
and then all of a sudden some started to work.
I noticed it was the older ones that I was trying to open worked. I had been trying newer ones they kept giving me this message.

Are you trying to install poser software also?
babygirl567 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 03:23 PM   #6
robgranholm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Ie6

By older installers you mean, older revisions of Winebottler like Winebottler 1.1.34 and 1.1.33?

No I'm just trying to get IE6 running.

-r
robgranholm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2010, 03:31 PM   #7
babygirl567
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by robgranholm View Post
By older installers you mean, older revisions of Winebottler like Winebottler 1.1.34 and 1.1.33?

No I'm just trying to get IE6 running.

-r
No older versions of the pc's installer software.
I don't this I'm going to be of any help to you.
If you were trying to open Poser stuff I'd have talked you thru.
The software I was opening is really just a matter of unpacking it, it doesnt
really install any working software.

Have you seen this thread tho?
http://www.downloadsquad.com/2006/06...6-on-mac-os-x/
babygirl567 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 08:56 AM   #8
vipercore
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Exclamation I have the answer!!

To install an .exe you need to open package contents of Winebottler in finder, click on "Contents"
click on "MacOS"
click on "Winebottler"
when it opens search for "vc" in the search field
tick the one that says "vcrun6"
then select your install file and click "Install"
Works for me atleast
vipercore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 09:48 PM   #9
Olimuk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by vipercore View Post
To install an .exe you need to open package contents of Winebottler in finder, click on "Contents"
click on "MacOS"
click on "Winebottler"
when it opens search for "vc" in the search field
tick the one that says "vcrun6"
then select your install file and click "Install"
Works for me atleast
I can't find this vcrun6
Olimuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2013, 10:14 AM   #10
NewtoMac:s
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
I have had massive problems trying to install Metatrader 4 using Winebottler, with error message Prefix creation error. After reading many threads, I still couldn't find any solutions. I couldn't find this vcrun6 either! However, when I downloaded MT4 from here: http://www.metaquotes.net/ it opened with Wine and ran perfectly! Fingers crossed for no more problems, and I hope it works for everyone else too!
NewtoMac:s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2014, 08:04 AM   #11
DGMac00
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olimuk View Post
I can't find this vcrun6
Works for Metatrader 4 when I selected these four..
Screenshot for the benefit of others

DGMac00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2014, 10:50 AM   #12
qparis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
MT4 runs perfectly with PlayOnMac without any tweak: http://www.playonmac.com/en/app-2155-Metatrader_4.html :-)
qparis is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: WineBottler/Wineskin help gretschdrummer Mac and PC Games 1 Oct 6, 2013 05:53 PM
Winebottler dhokes Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Apr 30, 2013 08:31 AM
Winebottler Question quincy819 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Jan 30, 2013 07:24 PM
Problem with Winebottler unreal boy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 9 Sep 10, 2012 11:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC