Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2012, 01:34 PM   #751
keypox
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
reading through the thread seems to be alot of confusing on sprint iphone 4s.

Is there a way to do it?

gevey seems to be the best way? I would like to permanent unlock but can't find one?

Last edited by keypox; Nov 17, 2012 at 02:46 PM.
keypox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 02:52 PM   #752
chestvrg
macrumors 6502a
 
chestvrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
They didn't work, part of the problem was that I had to do a complete network reset and right now I got fed up and switched to tmobile since they began to pick up 3G in my area (South Florida), but seriously ST offers better reception than Tmobile. I long since orders another SIM card via mail from ST and will most likely be porting my number back to ST soon.
__________________
Chest - t-mobile iPhone 5
chestvrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 04:22 PM   #753
okwhatev
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by keypox View Post
reading through the thread seems to be alot of confusing on sprint iphone 4s.

Is there a way to do it?
gevey seems to be the best way? I would like to permanent unlock but can't find one?
I'm on a Sprint iPhone 4S right now using Straight Talk on AT&T. It works fantastic. Your Sprint iPhone 4S must be on 5.1.1 however, jailbroken, and with a Geavey CDMA SIM to work.

----------

This is the bible on the subject:
http://www.idevcare.com/fully-unlock-cdma-iphone

Everything you need to know to fully unlock a Sprint or Verizon iPhone 4S so they will work in the US on GSM carriers.
okwhatev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:58 PM   #754
keypox
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by okwhatev View Post
I'm on a Sprint iPhone 4S right now using Straight Talk on AT&T. It works fantastic. Your Sprint iPhone 4S must be on 5.1.1 however, jailbroken, and with a Geavey CDMA SIM to work.

----------

This is the bible on the subject:
http://www.idevcare.com/fully-unlock-cdma-iphone

Everything you need to know to fully unlock a Sprint or Verizon iPhone 4S so they will work in the US on GSM carriers.
thanks man I got a gevey on the way from ebay for 7.95... hope its real. Going to get the ST sim kit from walmart so I can return if i have to lol.
keypox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 09:26 PM   #755
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by keypox View Post
thanks man I got a gevey on the way from ebay for 7.95... hope its real. Going to get the ST sim kit from walmart so I can return if i have to lol.
As far as I know, you have to get the sim cards online.
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 11:06 PM   #756
chiefpavvy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by umiwangu View Post
As far as I know, you have to get the sim cards online.
Some Wally sell a retail box ST SIM Pack. It includes both an AT&T and a T-Mo SIM. Have never seen them myself but many others have.
chiefpavvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:55 AM   #757
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefpavvy View Post
Some Wally sell a retail box ST SIM Pack. It includes both an AT&T and a T-Mo SIM. Have never seen them myself but many others have.
Well there ya go. You can learn something new every day if you're not careful. :-)

Thanks!
umiwangu is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 02:28 PM   #758
BobbyD13
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thank God for these forums...I'm not the savviest with this stuff but I have been searching the net for some information. My kids want iphones for Christmas. Regardless of what was posted in this thread some pages back, I don't think an ATT contract for a family plan is the way to go. First, the two-year contract is ridiculous. Second, the bill includes 20-22% worth of "fees and taxes" which the sales staff freely admits but quickly (as they're instructed) throw their hands up and blame "the government"..."there's nothing we can do, call your Congressman"!! Interestingly, I have been on ST and VM and both only have a GOVERNMENT MANDATED $1, 911 fee and State Sales tax (6%). Otherwise, the difference is ATT (and Verizon's) fleecing of their customers!!! With the voice, msg, data, It is crazy expensive, EVEN WITH my employer's "discount". So, if nothing more than out of principle, I want to avoid the contract carriers. I plan to get either an unlocked (possibly factory) or ATT iphone (ebay/craigslist, etc) 4s and get a BYOP SIM card from ST. Any issues with that?? I have read of an MMS issue but is that applicable to the unlocked or ATT locked phones on ATT network through ST. I'm sorry for the newbie question, I HAVE read through many a post so I am not just posting blindly. Just really want to make their Christmas without succuming to a raping by ATT!!
BobbyD13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:40 PM   #759
Neverbepeace
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I did not read through all the pages (To long)

Does anybody have any personal experience with ST throttling or even disconnecting their service in this thread? It seems to be rumors and not first hand experience.

This is the only reason holding me back from switching over. That 100mb a day is something crazy! Thats another thing.....do people exceed 100MB and have any issues?

Last edited by Neverbepeace; Nov 18, 2012 at 08:37 PM.
Neverbepeace is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:02 PM   #760
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
The mms issue is for both locked and unlocked iPhones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyD13 View Post
Thank God for these forums...I'm not the savviest with this stuff but I have been searching the net for some information. My kids want iphones for Christmas. Regardless of what was posted in this thread some pages back, I don't think an ATT contract for a family plan is the way to go. First, the two-year contract is ridiculous. Second, the bill includes 20-22% worth of "fees and taxes" which the sales staff freely admits but quickly (as they're instructed) throw their hands up and blame "the government"..."there's nothing we can do, call your Congressman"!! Interestingly, I have been on ST and VM and both only have a GOVERNMENT MANDATED $1, 911 fee and State Sales tax (6%). Otherwise, the difference is ATT (and Verizon's) fleecing of their customers!!! With the voice, msg, data, It is crazy expensive, EVEN WITH my employer's "discount". So, if nothing more than out of principle, I want to avoid the contract carriers. I plan to get either an unlocked (possibly factory) or ATT iphone (ebay/craigslist, etc) 4s and get a BYOP SIM card from ST. Any issues with that?? I have read of an MMS issue but is that applicable to the unlocked or ATT locked phones on ATT network through ST. I'm sorry for the newbie question, I HAVE read through many a post so I am not just posting blindly. Just really want to make their Christmas without succuming to a raping by ATT!!
dukebound85 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:26 PM   #761
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyD13 View Post
Thank God for these forums...I'm not the savviest with this stuff but I have been searching the net for some information. My kids want iphones for Christmas. Regardless of what was posted in this thread some pages back, I don't think an ATT contract for a family plan is the way to go. First, the two-year contract is ridiculous. Second, the bill includes 20-22% worth of "fees and taxes" which the sales staff freely admits but quickly (as they're instructed) throw their hands up and blame "the government"..."there's nothing we can do, call your Congressman"!! Interestingly, I have been on ST and VM and both only have a GOVERNMENT MANDATED $1, 911 fee and State Sales tax (6%). Otherwise, the difference is ATT (and Verizon's) fleecing of their customers!!! With the voice, msg, data, It is crazy expensive, EVEN WITH my employer's "discount". So, if nothing more than out of principle, I want to avoid the contract carriers. I plan to get either an unlocked (possibly factory) or ATT iphone (ebay/craigslist, etc) 4s and get a BYOP SIM card from ST. Any issues with that?? I have read of an MMS issue but is that applicable to the unlocked or ATT locked phones on ATT network through ST. I'm sorry for the newbie question, I HAVE read through many a post so I am not just posting blindly. Just really want to make their Christmas without succuming to a raping by ATT!!
I hope things work out. I'm guessing back when this thread started, a AT&T family plan was cheaper, but now with their new data sharing plans (read scams), things have changed a bit.
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:51 PM   #762
chiefpavvy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neverbepeace View Post
I did not read through all the pages (To long)

Does anybody have any personal experience with ST throttling or even disconnecting their service in this thread? It seems to be rumors and not first hand experience.

This is the only reason holding me back from switching over. That 100mb a day is something crazy! Thats another thing.....do people exceed 100MB and have any issues?
Yes. If you are a big data user ST is not for you. 100MB per day 2GB per month seems to be the threshold but many (including myself) have been flagged using less. They don't like data spikes and heavy use will be throttled hard.
chiefpavvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:46 PM   #763
PocketAces
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
No voicemail indicator on Straight Talk

Does anyone else have this problem? I have recently ported my number from AT&T to Straight talk and am using an iPhone 4. Everything works great, except I do not get any notification that I have a new voicemail!

I have called straight talk twice, but each time they cannot help and refer me to check the settings on my phone and claim everything is setup fine on their end.

I have also put the SIM in an unlocked iPhone 4s as a test and the same thing happens -- no voicemail notifications.

Other things I have tried that didn't help: Resetting the network settings on the phone.
PocketAces is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 11:29 PM   #764
Bitgod
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
I'm so bleeping angry at mostly Apple right now, and a little at ST. I'm giving my iphone 4 to my mom to use and heard ST was the low cost way to go.

Well now that I've got the number ported over and the phone part working, I'm finding out that it's a royal pain in the ass to get the APN info changed in iOS 6. Looks like my 2 options is to either cut down the Tmo SIM from her old phone to try doing the SIM swap trick, or restoring back to 5.1.1 since I luckily saved the ssh for that before iOS6 came out. Is just going back to 5.1.1 the least hassle thing to do, assuming the restore goes fine?

Cheezed off that I can't even register on the ST forum cuz they don't like my Comcast IP for whatever reason.

(Hmm, didn't know 6 on the iphone 4 could be JBed, guess that's another option, just not sure if I want to JB the phone she's going to use, don't want to overcomplicate it)

Last edited by Bitgod; Dec 15, 2012 at 11:51 PM.
Bitgod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:17 AM   #765
Bitgod
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Poo, thought going back to 5.1.1 would fix issue, but I'm still not seeing a button under Network to change the APNs. Guess I need to get a Tmo SIM. What a hassle.

Eh, ok, did the unlockit thing, data seems to be working. As long as it sticks, that should be good enough. Don't know if my mom needs MMS, but since I'm back at 5.1.1, I JBed it to fix that if needed.

Last edited by Bitgod; Dec 16, 2012 at 03:27 AM.
Bitgod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:09 AM   #766
bkd0255
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arizona
can anyone confirm that the apn sim swap trick still works on the iphone 5 on iOS 6.0.2?
bkd0255 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 10:56 PM   #767
mrbrown
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Springfield, MO
Send a message via ICQ to mrbrown Send a message via AIM to mrbrown Send a message via MSN to mrbrown Send a message via Yahoo to mrbrown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bitgod View Post
Well now that I've got the number ported over and the phone part working, I'm finding out that it's a royal pain in the ass to get the APN info changed in iOS 6. Looks like my 2 options is to either cut down the Tmo SIM from her old phone to try doing the SIM swap trick, or restoring back to 5.1.1 since I luckily saved the ssh for that before iOS6 came out. Is just going back to 5.1.1 the least hassle thing to do, assuming the restore goes fine?
Changing the APN isn't exactly hard... Just download the straight talk profile from unlockit.co.nz...

That won't allow MMS to work, but that'll certainly get data to work.
__________________
Mr. Brown - www.mrbrown.net
mrbrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 12:34 PM   #768
SwampPhawks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Yeah I've done it myself. Me and my wife both have an iPhone 4 that we use with straight talk. Mine is jail broken and hers is not. It's an awesome way to save money. Straight talk sim cards that you would use for the iPhone(the iPhone MUST be an AT&T iPhone because Verizon iPhones do not use sim cards) run off AT&T towers( straight talk androids use sprint towers and all there regular phones run off of Verizon towers. Don't ask me why. ). We don't have a home phone, cable or satellite tv, or Internet so since I jail broke my 4 I turn the personal hotspot on and i play my ps3 online, our laptops, and Netflix. So since we have unlimited plans we have a phone, Internet, and all our entertainment for $45 a month.

----------

And yes I had to fix some apn settings
SwampPhawks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 02:17 PM   #769
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwampPhawks View Post
Yeah I've done it myself. Me and my wife both have an iPhone 4 that we use with straight talk. Mine is jail broken and hers is not. It's an awesome way to save money. Straight talk sim cards that you would use for the iPhone(the iPhone MUST be an AT&T iPhone because Verizon iPhones do not use sim cards) run off AT&T towers( straight talk androids use sprint towers and all there regular phones run off of Verizon towers. Don't ask me why. ). We don't have a home phone, cable or satellite tv, or Internet so since I jail broke my 4 I turn the personal hotspot on and i play my ps3 online, our laptops, and Netflix. So since we have unlimited plans we have a phone, Internet, and all our entertainment for $45 a month.

----------

And yes I had to fix some apn settings
The speed is fast enough to play online?!?

I have a feeling if I cancel AT&T and go with Straight Talk I'm going to either hate it or love it.
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:06 PM   #770
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Outside the bubble
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinggus View Post
The speed is fast enough to play online?!?

I have a feeling if I cancel AT&T and go with Straight Talk I'm going to either hate it or love it.
I would say yes, but tethering is really a no-no.

I have Net10 (ST equivalent) and my speeds are exactly the same as they are with an AT&T sim. 4-6 mbps
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | Apple TV (3rd Gen)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 04:59 PM   #771
Bawstun
macrumors 6502a
 
Bawstun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinggus View Post
The speed is fast enough to play online?!?

I have a feeling if I cancel AT&T and go with Straight Talk I'm going to either hate it or love it.
All comes down to how much data you use, IMO. I made the jump months ago and haven't regretted it or any of the money I've saved. My monthly cellphone bill was literally cut in HALF. HALF. (and ST is still making profit, so, goes to show you how jacked up AT&T, TMo, Verizon etc. prices are...) Speeds are the same as they use AT&T's towers.

It's simple and easy to switch, that part isn't difficult. I too have heard rumors of people being warned about excess data usage, but, it hasn't happened to me yet. I watch Netflix occasionally, text, stream music a TON...
Bawstun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:04 PM   #772
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bawstun View Post
All comes down to how much data you use, IMO. I made the jump months ago and haven't regretted it or any of the money I've saved. My monthly cellphone bill was literally cut in HALF. HALF. (and ST is still making profit, so, goes to show you how jacked up AT&T, TMo, Verizon etc. prices are...) Speeds are the same as they use AT&T's towers.

It's simple and easy to switch, that part isn't difficult. I too have heard rumors of people being warned about excess data usage, but, it hasn't happened to me yet. I watch Netflix occasionally, text, stream music a TON...
I wonder if I can hold my account and try it out. My wife has an iPhone 5, so that'll be an issue won't it?
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:28 PM   #773
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Outside the bubble
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinggus View Post
I wonder if I can hold my account and try it out. My wife has an iPhone 5, so that'll be an issue won't it?
Suspending your AT&T account isn't necessary. I still have a week left on my AT&T line, and can switch between that sim and Net10. For data, all I need to do is remove the Net10 APN profile with the AT&T sim, and reinstall it when I switch back. Voice works either way.

You'll need to cut your new sim down to fit the iP5 though.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | Apple TV (3rd Gen)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:30 PM   #774
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by corvus32 View Post
Suspending your AT&T account isn't necessary. I still have a week left on my AT&T line, and can switch between that sim and Net10. All I need to do is remove the Net10 APN profile with the AT&T sim, and reinstall it when I switch back.

You'll need to cut your new sim down to fit the iP5 though.
What do you mean? I wouldn't want to keep paying AT&T if I am trying out Straight Talk.

I was told the iPhone 5 on 6.0 would nee to be unlocked, is that true?
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:42 PM   #775
sdowney
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I just set up StraightTalk on my wife's iPhone 4 end of Dec 2012. It's an older AT&T phone which I unlocked legally through AT&T when the old contract expired. It is not jailbroken. It works great on StraightTalk with 3G, MMS, etc. It's AT&T's network. The only issue I had was configuring the data settings which were not accessible through this particular iPhone's Settings panel. I think access to this can be limited by ATT. But I used a pretty slick online utility to set them at http://www.unlockit.co.nz/unlockit/
It seemed legit and so far I've experienced no trojans or malware.
The only negative is the lack of customer service at ST...
sdowney is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC