Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:50 AM   #1
StephenCampbell
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
iPhone notifies me that someone else is using my email address???

This morning, this message popped up on my phone, with a big "OK" button to press at the bottom of it.

"Email Address Added to 'MacPro'

'MacPro' is now using '*my email*' for FaceTime."

Who is MacPro? And what does this mean?
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:53 AM   #2
LapsangSouchong
macrumors 65816
 
LapsangSouchong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: the burrows
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
This morning, this message popped up on my phone, with a big "OK" button to press at the bottom of it.

"Email Address Added to 'MacPro'

'MacPro' is now using '*my email*' for FaceTime."

Who is MacPro? And what does this mean?
I would guess macpro is the name of your computer? Or someone elses. I would guess that you've used FaceTime on your phone, and then opened it on your computer and it let you know that your computer is now using facetime too. And is using your appleID as its address.

That's usually when you see that message: the first time you logon to facetime from a new location.
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it would cut itself.
Air, Imac, Black/Slate iPhone 5 (GSM)
LapsangSouchong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:54 AM   #3
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
This morning, this message popped up on my phone, with a big "OK" button to press at the bottom of it.

"Email Address Added to 'MacPro'

'MacPro' is now using '*my email*' for FaceTime."

Who is MacPro? And what does this mean?
macbook pro? and I'm guessing someone registered your email to their macbook and got the password right for facetime
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:54 AM   #4
JayLenochiniMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Sanfrakota
Do you have a tower-style computer somewhere in your household that goes by the name of Mac Pro?
__________________
Home iMac 27" 2.9GHz Intel Core i5
Work iMac 24" 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme
Mobile iPad (4th gen) & iPhone 5 S⃣
JayLenochiniMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:15 AM   #5
StephenCampbell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayLenochiniMac View Post
Do you have a tower-style computer somewhere in your household that goes by the name of Mac Pro?
My desktop machine is a Mac Pro.. but I've never seen it referenced anywhere as "MacPro" on my iPhone or on the desktop.

Should I change my email password?
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:17 AM   #6
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Republic City, URN.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
My desktop machine is a Mac Pro.. but I've never seen it referenced anywhere as "MacPro" on my iPhone or on the desktop.

Should I change my email password?
Your desktop is probably "MacPro"
Did you recently try to activate facetime on your desktop?

If so thats why
__________________
"When we hit our lowest point, we are open to the greatest change."
wordoflife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:17 AM   #7
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
My desktop machine is a Mac Pro.. but I've never seen it referenced anywhere as "MacPro" on my iPhone or on the desktop.

Should I change my email password?
did you use facetime or download apps on the mac pro? Change your password if you feel it's that serious.
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:23 AM   #8
JayLenochiniMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Sanfrakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
My desktop machine is a Mac Pro.. but I've never seen it referenced anywhere as "MacPro" on my iPhone or on the desktop.

Should I change my email password?
Nothing to worry then. You're using the same Apple ID on your desktop and iPhone so they're sharing the contact you can be reached for FaceTime (namely your email).
__________________
Home iMac 27" 2.9GHz Intel Core i5
Work iMac 24" 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme
Mobile iPad (4th gen) & iPhone 5 S⃣
JayLenochiniMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:23 AM   #9
StephenCampbell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I didn't do anything different than what I've done the last several months. I don't use FaceTime anywhere.
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:26 AM   #10
JayLenochiniMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Sanfrakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
I didn't do anything different than what I've done the last several months. I don't use FaceTime anywhere.
On your iPhone, go to Settings > FaceTime. I bet it's turned to on and that got synced to your desktop when you synced your iPhone.
__________________
Home iMac 27" 2.9GHz Intel Core i5
Work iMac 24" 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme
Mobile iPad (4th gen) & iPhone 5 S⃣
JayLenochiniMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:31 AM   #11
Radiating
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
I didn't do anything different than what I've done the last several months. I don't use FaceTime anywhere.
You probably clicked the icon by accident. Or your wife/kids turned it on. Either way the call is coming from inside the house, you turned it on yourself.
Radiating is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:43 AM   #12
kannesss
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
I'd rather know if someone was using my FaceTime without me knowing.
It's telling you that someone went to their mac,and added your email for theirs and now it's hooked up with yours. They either messed up, or are going about hacking the totally wrong way.
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 12:41 PM   #13
StephenCampbell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
It was turned on on the phone, and I have used it a bit in the past.

The thing is, this happened randomly, before I plugged it in for syncing this morning.
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 12:50 PM   #14
LapsangSouchong
macrumors 65816
 
LapsangSouchong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: the burrows
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
It was turned on on the phone, and I have used it a bit in the past.

The thing is, this happened randomly, before I plugged it in for syncing this morning.
Have you looked to see if your mac has logged on to facetime?
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it would cut itself.
Air, Imac, Black/Slate iPhone 5 (GSM)
LapsangSouchong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 01:20 PM   #15
StephenCampbell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LapsangSouchong View Post
Have you looked to see if your mac has logged on to facetime?
FaceTime was switched on on the computer as well, but the program was not open or anything. Again, nothing different from the last several months.
StephenCampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 01:23 PM   #16
JayLenochiniMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Sanfrakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
It was turned on on the phone, and I have used it a bit in the past.

The thing is, this happened randomly, before I plugged it in for syncing this morning.
I bet you're not the only one using the Mac Pro. Your wife/kids must have messed with it and turning it on will detect your Apple ID and automatically add your email on file to it. Is it currently turned on on the Mac Pro?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenCampbell View Post
FaceTime was switched on on the computer as well, but the program was not open or anything. Again, nothing different from the last several months.
This will automatically add your email to it, as the computer is logged to your Apple ID just from syncing. Nothing to worry about.
__________________
Home iMac 27" 2.9GHz Intel Core i5
Work iMac 24" 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme
Mobile iPad (4th gen) & iPhone 5 S⃣
JayLenochiniMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't you add an email address to your account's address book in the mail app? TH55 iPhone 30 Jan 15, 2014 12:10 PM
Primary email address for AppleID changed - iPhone had a meltdown! scharah iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 May 20, 2013 06:21 AM
KDDI iPhone: difference between MMS and email address? thewhitehart iPhone 2 Nov 25, 2012 01:16 AM
Someone Sold My Email Address After Iphone 5 purchase thebyr iPhone 12 Oct 17, 2012 04:47 PM
How do you make one email the prime email in an address card? macpeach55 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Aug 2, 2012 02:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC