Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:47 AM   #226
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlielowndes View Post
Just found this awesome thread! Love it! I have G4 PowerMac powered by an i5, but also have a pile of iMac's under the stairs and am feeling inspired to create something else now....

Woo Hoo!
thats great news :-D

ive been rather busy lately and i aint had the chance to do much, due to wonderful english weather ive not really been able to finish off my new workshop/shed lol so once thats done hopefully i can clear some space to continue working on it. everything is still there and its by no means forgotten about. time is rather expensive atm... :-(
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 10:58 AM   #227
charlielowndes
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Thanks to this thread, my cat now has a G3 iBed, a G4 eMac has been rebuilt and repurposed to run a couple of filemaker databases, just working out what to do with the other 4 G3 iMacs now (testing them would be a start).

__________________
Custom G4 Hackintosh PowerMac i5, PowerBook G4, MacBook, iMac G4 Lampy, G3 Ruby, MacPlus, Classic, Classic 2, TV, every iPhone, and loads of other apple tat
charlielowndes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 10:10 AM   #228
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlielowndes View Post
Thanks to this thread, my cat now has a G3 iBed, a G4 eMac has been rebuilt and repurposed to run a couple of filemaker databases, just working out what to do with the other 4 G3 iMacs now (testing them would be a start).

haha glad to hear it! :-D

i dont think my dog would like a g3 bed :P hes a bit big for it!

But this project is going to have to kick start as ive decided to sell my 27" iMac and upgrade, leaving me without a computer... leaving a place in my life for my old Bondi!!

sooo now i must must start on this project again. im not to bothered about the speakers, startup tone, front headphone jacks, microphone, etc working as long as the thing works from pressing the on button. but thats just so it works. once i get my new iMac next year some time then it will be tweaked to have it fully functional
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 02:06 PM   #229
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
well after i posted that, i quickly got on with starting up the project again (being naughty and ditching my university work for the night! )

The BIGGEST problem i currently have is that the ITX board isnt the correct size for the original motherboard tray, i have seen another person that has done a similar mod but they cut holes in the back of the tray and i thought this would look very poor from the outside. So i did it one step better and thought, i know there is space behind the metal face on the inside (between the CRT and motherboard section). So this is what i planned to do!







And after a hard bit of graft, litrally using a hacksaw blade and my hand...



there it is refitted, but... did it work?



Theres a simple answer, YES IT DID! with plenty of space too...



The board isnt currently mounted, i need to drill some holes and make some mounting points for the board. once this is done, i can start the cable management of the tray, that will leave me with the PSU and monitor to sort out.

Also to make my life easier with the CRT issues ive been having, i have decided that fitting an inline EDID Emulator would make life SIGNIFICANTLY easier.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/LINDY-EDID-D...1192244&sr=1-2

Last edited by Arkious; Oct 25, 2012 at 02:14 PM.
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 02:59 PM   #230
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Right, motherboard is now securely mounted into the tray.



A quick upside down test showing its secure



But now I'm thinking... To reduce the wattage of the computer, would it be better to simply replace the 2125 with a 2120t. This would drop the CPU wattage from 65w to 35w. But I need to test this and I don't want to spend month on the 4th CPU if it don't work. I would under clock the CPU if I could but I don't think this motherboard allows it
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 10:37 AM   #231
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
well, i spent a bit time today on the computer... and have some great but not so great news!

initially i set about reducing the wattage of the computer.

this is what it pulls at the BIOS screen under standard running conditions



this is what i managed to achieve by underclocking and voltage reduction, however the h67 itx board is very very restrictive! but still its quite a drop.



but did it work!

No it didnt, but it seemed to do the same thing as it did before where it would be clicking in and out. This made me think about my conversion board. so i went to alter the board (turns out my transistor was round the wrong way). i swapped it over but had not luck, but this could have caused some damage to it. so off i went to the electrical store to pick up a new transistor and they didnt have any! so i made an educated guess in the store which was the closest match. so got home and fitted it, here are the results...









NOW, the big big unfortunate bit... the nice looking World of Warcraft login screen you see there lasted only about 3-4 seconds before turning to this



this is due to a lack of power as just before it happened, the hard drive cut out. so what i could do is change the cpu to a 25-35w version of an i3. or go back to the drawing board again :-( it does manage to play dvds and youtube etc.)

Minecraft is useless and WoW crashes it. but at least at the moment, im significantly further at utilising the hardware inside the iMac. Its a shame that no one could let me try a CPU 1st lol

Last edited by Arkious; Oct 27, 2012 at 10:43 AM.
Arkious is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 02:40 AM   #232
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Just to keep you guys in the loop, the CPU has been sold for 62 which wasn't as good as I had hoped but at least it's sold ready to buy the i3 2120T which will run only 35w

The Lindy EDID Emulator I purchased was pritty crap actually, all 3 of my computers could not detect it or the monitor so that has been sent back. So I must spend a bit extra to get a programable version.

I am also going to replace the large 500gb hard drive with either an SSD or a 2.5" WD Scorpio Black 7200rpm (depending on the overall cost). But my main mission ATM is to get the CRT working with the system allowing me to get all the covers put back on the CRT lol. I must purchase the CPU in that time so at last I can do a wattage test in the mean time.

Last edited by Arkious; Nov 7, 2012 at 10:03 AM.
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:06 AM   #233
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
I have gone with the Intel i5 2390T and it has set me back 130

This CPU is the fastest 35W desktop Sandybridge CPU available, so hopefully i dont lose much performance. On a plus side, i have managed to source an EDID Emulator from Black Box that you can program using your VGA output of your PC. So i can continuously test it until i get a setting that works. This is 40 but i am looking into it a bit more before purchasing it

Last edited by Arkious; Nov 9, 2012 at 10:19 AM.
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:29 AM   #234
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Just a quick update whilst i wait for a few other things... but i have great news!

The new CPU just arrived... the Intel Core i5 2390T!



Brand new, OEM cpu.

Getting excited i couldnt wait to get it in and see what power it pulls! so i got it fitted, reset the bios and had a look to see what it pulled at idle. (this setup is without the HDD and CD drive to replicate the previous test results.



very very impressed! (sorry about the bad quality picture)

then under load



thats almost 20W under the max! but i havent tried to run a game or anything just yet. I am going to lend a friends SSD to test power consumption to see if its worth getting one or not.

i can further reduce the wattage by under clocking a bit but i want to try run it standard.
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 12:23 AM   #235
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Well i set up the computer with an SSD that was pre installed on another system (so not running as good as a new installation). But i was quite impressed with its speed! But the real test was to try and run a game and see what load on the CPU and GPU pulls. This time i am setting the computer up running from the imac PSU and only measuring the power it pulls. the previous tests have taken into account the LCD power which is about 10-15W

heres the super set up!



and here it is running warcraft :-) I had no crashes, and flew around for about 5 mins just testing things out. Now i dont expect miricle work from a graphics point of view but i was getting varied from about 20-45fps but i didnt bother to set the graphics properly. still! im impressed it holds up perfectly and i would say perfectly playable the way it is.



but what wattage did it pull whilst playing the game?



Thats about 30W under its max! this allows for extras including usb sticks or what ever else will get used. but the fact is, it works and works very very well!

So the HDD is going, and getting replaced with a SSD... this will increase the performance whilst reducing the wattage by approximately 10-15w
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:14 PM   #236
WillThePlank
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: A small town in Suffolk in the UK
Bloody fantastic work! Would love to do this to my trust old iMac G3 so I will be keeping an eye on this

My G5 just died so I will be Hackintoshing that this week, I love literally making a new computer. Did it with my old Xbox a couple years back :P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXO8BJcak2M&feature=plcp
__________________
08 Mac Pro 8 core, 2.8, 8GB (R.I.P G5 dual 2.3)
Mac G3 333MHZ Tray load.
iPad 3 Wifi 32GB White + iPhone 4s 32GB White.
http://www.youtube.com/thetechplank
WillThePlank is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:44 AM   #237
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillThePlank View Post
Bloody fantastic work! Would love to do this to my trust old iMac G3 so I will be keeping an eye on this

My G5 just died so I will be Hackintoshing that this week, I love literally making a new computer. Did it with my old Xbox a couple years back :P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXO8BJcak2M&feature=plcp
ohh thats brilliant! my friend attempted it a few years back with a crystal xbox but he didnt have the ability to do it. Its worth the effort, its a shame the cd/dvd drive wouldnt fit, it would have been absolutely brilliant!

but very tidy work!

Thanks for your comments, im waiting till black friday now to see if i can nab a cheaper SSD. Before that im waiting for my refund from amazon before buying the next thing to get the screen work.

but will be a week or so before any more work on this project. im itching to finish it!
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:06 AM   #238
WillThePlank
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: A small town in Suffolk in the UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
ohh thats brilliant! my friend attempted it a few years back with a crystal xbox but he didnt have the ability to do it. Its worth the effort, its a shame the cd/dvd drive wouldnt fit, it would have been absolutely brilliant!

but very tidy work!

Thanks for your comments, im waiting till black friday now to see if i can nab a cheaper SSD. Before that im waiting for my refund from amazon before buying the next thing to get the screen work.

but will be a week or so before any more work on this project. im itching to finish it!
Awesome stuff, I have a big parts list for my next project and it's gonna be about a months wages worth of gear to buy :P

Started a G5 Hackintosh build on the forum here

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1492614
__________________
08 Mac Pro 8 core, 2.8, 8GB (R.I.P G5 dual 2.3)
Mac G3 333MHZ Tray load.
iPad 3 Wifi 32GB White + iPhone 4s 32GB White.
http://www.youtube.com/thetechplank
WillThePlank is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 12:32 PM   #239
FormerSAP
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
The easy (and expensive) iMac retrofit

Hi all

As a software guy, I can't help being impressed with all the hardware retrofit going on here -not up to that, so took the easy way out, as you will see if you read on...

My incentive was a wife whose favourite colour is red, and who would not give up her old Ruby iMac G3 for aesthetic reasons. Even minimal foresight told me that this could not last, so I had to start considering what to do to prepare for the inevitable demise of her favourite machine.

I got my hands on an old Bondi mac at a garage sale, and gutted it to see what was possible as retrofit. Anybody who takes one of these suckers apart must know how to discharge the CRT safely, and file through the socket to let air into the tube before disposal.

First priority was to get a 14 or 15 inch 4X3 monitor to replace the CRT, since they are disappearing into the third world (or landfill). I managed to snag a Dell monitor with a DVI interface.

The really easy (and expensive) part of the retrofit was to get a new 2011 Mac Mini as the processor. I did this because I'm no good at hardware, and could keep the Mac Mini in one piece for later reuse if the project didn't work out. I chose the 2011 because of the built in power supply, which avoids the problem of accommodating the power brick inside the case.

So, what to do with all that empty space that the CRT used to occupy? I got the notion that the woofer from Harman Kardon Soundsticks II might just squeeze in, and would make for an awesome sound system. It turned out to be a very tight fit, and I had to carve out the case under the handle a bit. The result is that the woofer sits in the case with its feet against the back of the flat screen, i.e. in your face, which becomes obvious when you crank 'er up. I left the tweeter sticks outside the case, as the volume control is a touch control on the right speaker, and I couldn't figure out how I could make that accessible from inside - so although the woofer is out of sight, the sticks are a bit of a giveaway that something is up with the sound system.

I considered adding a DVD drive to line up with the slot, but in these days of iTunes and OS upgrades via the web, it didn't seem necessary.

The day finally came when the Ruby iMac would no longer boot up, and I did the final retrofit. Not too different from the Bondi Mac, more plastic and less steel to cut.

Here is the final product, with original keyboard and mouse. It is still beautiful and red. And the sound is indeed awesome.

Oh, almost forgot. The iMac is sitting on a table made from a 1960's vintage hard disk platter reclaimed from a Control Data 808 Disk, for those old enough to remember what that stuff was like (e.g. hydraulic head activator, none of your wimpy voice coil stuff).

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2742b.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	774.5 KB
ID:	380735   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2748b.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	2.05 MB
ID:	380736  

Last edited by FormerSAP; Nov 30, 2012 at 01:37 PM. Reason: Upload photos
FormerSAP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 08:32 AM   #240
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
that looks beautiful!! :-D well done!

As you probably read, i was thinking about using mac mini hardware, but it wasn't feasible for how i wanted to do it so i decided against it. Its quite time consuming the way ive decided to do it, however i think in the long run it will be worth it :-D

Have you a picture of your bondi? would be nice to see it!

I have just picked up an awesome condition Power Mac G5 for my next project. Its sitting in its box for the foreseeable future though. I want this iMac finished asap.
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 06:24 AM   #241
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Just a quick update, SSD is on its way and i have spent a little time today finally getting the power conversion board into its correct location.

I had to cut out some old vents



then them smooth them over



whilst i was at it i cut the old I/O panel up as originally it was for video, inferred and I/O but i cut only the I/O part off and put it back in the computer.





That is now all put together and here it is powered up and looking more like it will when its actually inside. Notice the white wire with the HDMI connector on it, well thats the HDMI to VGA connector also installed, what i need to do is solder the HDMI pins to the bottom of the motherboard (im not looking forward to that part). This then allows me to use standard video cables instead of apple ones. but at the moment im still having detection issues but for the time being im going to force detect it and revisit that later



and heres a shot of its ports


Last edited by Arkious; Dec 13, 2012 at 06:40 AM.
Arkious is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:07 PM   #242
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Well finally got round to buying an SSD that will be going in tomorrow :-)

Arkious is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 04:22 AM   #243
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
BREAKING NEWS!!! REPORTING LIVE FROM BONDI!!!!!!!!!

After buying the SSD, I was absolutely itching to get it in and seeing how the system handles. So I got to work straight away!



Nicely all tucked away but without the SATA cables



one other thing I thought would be good was to get some old mobile/laptop wifi antennas and mount them on the under side of the tray





Here it is in all its visible glory!



I also bought a set of USB powered speakers that I needed to modify in order to get it working from inside (without the USB) this is the setup working from USB but plugged into the 27"



Anyways I got the thing powered up running from my partners LCD and was quite impressed with the windows 8 ratings it got



But then I tested the SSD and was even more impressed!



After I had a light bulb moment of setting my partners LCD to run at 1024 x 768 @ 75hz I thought I wonder what would happen if I put the CRT in. It went green for a split second then back orange, meaning its detecting the change, so I print screened the settings and it showed as generic non-plug and play monitor. So I had another light bulb moment and thought, what would happen if I plugged the CRT in and then also plugged in a HDMI TV allowing me to set the screen correctly. IT WORKED!!!



the 1st thing I wanted to do was test performance and stability, so downloaded WoW







not too bad :-)

I did then did a lot of work to get the speakers hooked up correctly. Excuse the very dangerous setup but if I put it in and it didn't work, id be buggered!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8s3L...ature=youtu.be

Excuse the song, the only thing without a cover allowing the socket to be plugged in was my partners old iPod touch, but the quality aint bad :-)

There was a lot of modification to the I/O panel wiring as the front headphone jacks also work but al not get a video until everything is working as wanted.

My final thing for the night was to get the covers back on and make it safe. Here she is :-)





There are a few more things needing to be done, The CRT is plugged in from outside, the front buttons, speakers, headphone sockets and microphone although ready to be hooked up are not connected yet. and I need the I/O cover making.

Comments would be greatly appreciated as ive put a lot of work into this now! :-D

Last edited by Arkious; Dec 16, 2012 at 04:49 AM.
Arkious is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:05 AM   #244
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
You are a God! I wish I had something to this on, like a 1st gen iMac G5 20'' since they have the most space inside.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 10:59 AM   #245
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihuman:D View Post
You are a God! I wish I had something to this on, like a 1st gen iMac G5 20'' since they have the most space inside.
Haha thanks very much :-) it would be an interesting one to do, I've not really seen inside one before, the g3 has a lot of space when you remove the CRT but IMO its a no no. But it would be great to see a mod done!
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:23 AM   #246
AQUADock
macrumors 65816
 
AQUADock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
This is awesome! Are you going to hackintosh it or just leave it running windows?
__________________
Mac Mini i5 - iPad 2 - GS3
AQUADock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 01:30 PM   #247
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Hackintosh it!!!!
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:13 PM   #248
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by AQUADock View Post
This is awesome! Are you going to hackintosh it or just leave it running windows?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Hackintosh it!!!!
It would be a crime to leave it running windows only, but I won't be doing that until it is complete.

Unfortunately it's only hd2000 since I changed the CPU, so it will be for cosmetics and general use, any graphic intense apps will be used under windows
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 05:21 PM   #249
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Chapeaux bas sir!
666sheep is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 06:51 AM   #250
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Chapeaux bas sir!
Thanks very much :-D
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
bondi blue, imac g3, itx, modification, revival

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod Touch revival in 2014 preyan iPod touch 28 Mar 1, 2014 12:48 PM
a1181 revival question boneskid1 MacBook 2 Dec 25, 2012 10:25 PM
7600 revival havokalien PowerPC Macs 0 Jul 25, 2012 06:08 PM
Data revival Beanstine32 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 17, 2012 12:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC