Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2012, 03:24 PM   #26
Cricketlocked
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Interested

If anyone successfully unlocks a Cricket iphone 5, please let me know. I've tried the itunes reset, but that did not work. My Cricket service is awful and now they pretty much screwed me on canceling my service, so i need to find a way to use my phone on a real carrier.
Cricketlocked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 07:52 PM   #27
cricketiphone5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
yes iphone 5 says SEARCHING IN TOP HAND CORNER

vina phone sim card did not work.

I just bought a viettel 3g usb cellular data modem for my laptop, created an ad hoc wifi network between it and my iphone and I'm using skype service to make calls. it's a pretty clumsy solution and people are having a hard time getting a hold of me, but at least I can make phone calls while in vietnam and access emails, etc.
cricketiphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2012, 06:47 AM   #28
cricketiphone5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
tried the complete restore through itunes and after 3 hours of backing up and reloading the situation is the same, just says SEARCHING.
upon reactivation I got this message
device is activated on cdma us netork international roming requires a sim. which gave me a false sense of hope.
I'm giving up.

Last edited by cricketiphone5; Oct 21, 2012 at 05:55 PM.
cricketiphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 06:09 AM   #29
Stheking
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
3 weeks ego, I buy my cricket iPhone 5 and activated with Cricket and use it for 2 weeks in US.
After i came home i restore the phone but alwayes keep for searching...
When i try to connect to itune in another computer i meange to activated to gsm/umts carrier in israel - Hot mobile.
look for my post about manually searching...

Sorry for my Bad English
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_001.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	371283   Click image for larger version

Name:	???? ?? IMG_003.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	371284  
Stheking is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 07:07 AM   #30
andyx3x
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rattler View Post
I noticed that the iPhone 5 is not on Cricket's website anymore. Are they not selling it anymore?
It's just sold out and they haven't gotten any more in. They take it off the website hoping that someone looking for an iPhone 5 will go ahead and get another phone.

I went into a local Cricket store the other day and they have never even gotten the phone in yet. He said they should have it in two weeks.

I asked about LTE and when they should have it in my area. He said December and I asked him would I be locked into the $55 rate if I went ahead and bought the phone now. He said yes but I don't know whether to believe him or not.
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 04:38 AM   #31
kevincredible
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stheking View Post
3 weeks ego, I buy my cricket iPhone 5 and activated with Cricket and use it for 2 weeks in US.
After i came home i restore the phone but alwayes keep for searching...
When i try to connect to itune in another computer i meange to activated to gsm/umts carrier in israel - Hot mobile.
look for my post about manually searching...

Sorry for my Bad English
Can you take screenshots of your Settings > General? It seems that I don't have the option you have.
kevincredible is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 04:28 PM   #32
Peter8489
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I just got an iPhone 5 on Cricket. I activated the phone with a German t-mobile card. At first it had quite some trouble finding a network. But after a couple of hours it found the t-mobile network and it works without a problem. I didn't do anything special, I just put in the SIM card and went ahead with the registration/activation. That is all I did! Just let it search for a couple of hours and hopefully it will find the correct service!
Peter8489 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 04:49 AM   #33
Tracy8746
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Cricket is right about the iPhone 5. It is locked in north america but international unlocked. I actives mine in US. When I arrived in Macau, I put in my sim card and it started searching. It keep searching for a while and no network is found. I tried to restore it in iTunes but it said it could not do it. So I put out my SIM card and restore it again. Then I turn off the phone and turn it back on, put in the sims and it works fine. I am happy with it! One thing I want to point out is after you plug in the sim card , there will be a carrier option I the setting page. Hopes it helps
Tracy8746 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 01:42 PM   #34
guilhermeteam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracy8746 View Post
Cricket is right about the iPhone 5. It is locked in north america but international unlocked. I actives mine in US. When I arrived in Macau, I put in my sim card and it started searching. It keep searching for a while and no network is found. I tried to restore it in iTunes but it said it could not do it. So I put out my SIM card and restore it again. Then I turn off the phone and turn it back on, put in the sims and it works fine. I am happy with it! One thing I want to point out is after you plug in the sim card , there will be a carrier option I the setting page. Hopes it helps
This site told me that is possible to unlock iPhone 5 from Cricket. http://www.unlockiphonetool.com
My 2 iPhones 5 from cricket is very much locked and i can't use them here in Brazil. If any tried the site http://www.unlockiphonetool.com and had successes
, please, tell us!
guilhermeteam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 09:45 PM   #35
cricketiphone5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
google review of that web site name
only negative scam reviews. most likley a scam

i've had my sim card in my iphone 5 for a week. no luck getting it to connect again, until I went back to Ho Chi Min City and swapped it with another sim card, waited 10 minutes and turned phone off and on.

seems like not only do you have to be patient , but you must also try different sim cards.

still have NOT gotten white phone to work. My guess is that you must activate in USA before taking it over seas?????

Last edited by cricketiphone5; Nov 7, 2012 at 03:32 AM.
cricketiphone5 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 09:45 AM   #36
cricketiphone5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
well i went to a differnet city took out sim card from black phone and put in white phone and made no difference.

now neither phone works

when I went back to ho chi min city the black iphone would find carrier after putting in sim card and taking it out.

so it looks like what city you are in makes a difference too.

funny thing is I can travel out side of ho chi min city and get service fine, but as soon as I take out sim and reinsert it the iphone 5 can never reconnect.
cricketiphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 02:07 PM   #37
ezeuba
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thumbs up Success!

I successfully activated cricket iphone 5 on MTN Nigeria early this morning, it's still working now. I've been tinkering with it since this morning and what I found is this: If you swap sim cards from the original one you used to activate it, you will need to do a factory reset and activate the new sim either through itunes or wifi. I tried this twice this morning with two other different sim cards and on the second occasion I lost service on the phone. I tried to activate but it seemed that Apple activation servers were down. Tried as I could, the phone was searching and could not activate again. Until this evening, I just tried again and voila, the phone activated again via wifi; I have a wifi hotspot, instead of using itunes. I'm not going to mess with this anymore for now, I'll leave it as it is.
ezeuba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:20 PM   #38
iialaq01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thumbs up Cricket Iphone 5 unlock

What you need to do to unlock the iphone 5 from cricket is to first factory resst the iphone:-
1-go to Setting>General>Reset>Erase All Content and Settings.

2- insert your sim card after reset then connect to wifi to activate it. this may take few min but it will be unlocked for sure

your phone now should be activated and unlock enjoy and let us know what happen with you

good luck

Quote:
Originally Posted by cricketiphone5 View Post
well i went to a differnet city took out sim card from black phone and put in white phone and made no difference.

now neither phone works

when I went back to ho chi min city the black iphone would find carrier after putting in sim card and taking it out.

so it looks like what city you are in makes a difference too.

funny thing is I can travel out side of ho chi min city and get service fine, but as soon as I take out sim and reinsert it the iphone 5 can never reconnect.
iialaq01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:42 PM   #39
chalia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iialaq01 View Post
What you need to do to unlock the iphone 5 from cricket is to first factory resst the iphone:-
1-go to Setting>General>Reset>Erase All Content and Settings.

2- insert your sim card after reset then connect to wifi to activate it. this may take few min but it will be unlocked for sure

your phone now should be activated and unlock enjoy and let us know what happen with you

good luck
hey does this work in the US ?
chalia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:47 PM   #40
celikihsan87
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
.....

Last edited by celikihsan87; Dec 23, 2012 at 05:48 AM.
celikihsan87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:04 PM   #41
XxpikachuxX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
hey ethan quick question does the cricket iphone 5 use any cricket nano sim?
XxpikachuxX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 12:55 PM   #42
chalia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Cricket is a CDMA provider, so they don't use any SIM cards.. iPhone 5 accepts nano SIM cards though (just not from cricket)
chalia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 09:07 PM   #43
2Turbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalia View Post
hey does this work in the US ?
Same question. I want to get a iPhone 5 on Cricket, then put it on T-Mobile prepaid in USA. Can this be done?
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:20 AM   #44
chalia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Turbo View Post
Same question. I want to get a iPhone 5 on Cricket, then put it on T-Mobile prepaid in USA. Can this be done?
Nope you can't at the moment
chalia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 12:41 PM   #45
Fenkins
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Is there any news about cricket gsm module?
I purchased phone for full cost from ebay and cant get it work with my local carrier sim...
Fenkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 02:53 PM   #46
bonskovsky
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
You have to use a third party to unlock it.
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:55 PM   #47
adnanminimarket
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thumbs up thank you all

thank you all guys for your helping me, i have an iphone 5 from cricket and i was unable to use it till i found this page and after insert a different sim card and restore the iphone it worked with me so i can confirm that cricket iphone 5 will work internationally and only out of us

i use it now in KSA

I appreciate your help

thanx all
adnanminimarket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 10:00 AM   #48
Fenkins
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
hey, adnanminimarket, can you please tell us what you are exactly do or make a video? because I am unable to get my phone work
Fenkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 03:49 AM   #49
Shaim
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Stheking - no way to send u private message.

I have cricket iPhone 5 but i am outside USA.
How can I activate it?
Shaim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:29 AM   #50
chalia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaim View Post
Stheking - no way to send u private message.

I have cricket iPhone 5 but i am outside USA.
How can I activate it?
thus ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TxMxIQRyTY
chalia is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FREE] Cricket T20 Alerts 2014 - World Cup and IPL Cricket Notifications for FREE novelaspect iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 May 3, 2014 08:07 AM
iPhone 5 w/Cricket Smashin1821 iPhone 3 Jun 18, 2013 10:34 AM
Cricket Wireless IPHONE 5 International Unlock Help Guide yoshix003 iPhone 1 Feb 7, 2013 01:11 PM
Iphone 5 in cricket alexca0 iPhone 1 Oct 7, 2012 07:44 PM
iPhone question- Cricket and GSM unlock dukebound85 iPhone 1 Sep 17, 2012 03:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC