Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2012, 03:33 PM   #1
ring
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
How do I get rid of these options

How do I get rid of these "look up" and "search with google" options when in other applications? They ****ing suck; if I want to look up something I would open chrome and search it.


I already went to settings - keyboard and unchecked all of the boxes but some (annoying) options are still there. The only options I want are cut, copy, and paste.






I'm sick of seeing them. Especially when copy and pasting login information. I don't want to search google for my login information.




Thanks for any and all help; I would be lost without you guys.

Love,

Ring
ring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 03:53 PM   #2
dusk007
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Use other Applications I don't have those option in anything I use except for Mail.
dusk007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 03:57 PM   #3
ring
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusk007 View Post
Use other Applications I don't have those option in anything I use except for Mail.
I have them everywhere where I'm able to type text. It's ridiculous.
ring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:29 AM   #4
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ring View Post
I have them everywhere where I'm able to type text. It's ridiculous.
it is built in to OS X and there is no way to get rid of them.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:51 PM   #5
ring
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
it is built in to OS X and there is no way to get rid of them.
no defaults write type command?
ring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 06:03 PM   #6
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ring View Post
no defaults write type command?
Not that I have ever seen.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:34 PM   #7
ring
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Not that I have ever seen.
that's a bummer and arguably a fatal security flaw
ring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 04:12 AM   #8
dusk007
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ring View Post
I have them everywhere where I'm able to type text. It's ridiculous.
I don't have those in Word, in Chrome they aren't at the top, in Textmate they don't appear at all, in Eclipse neither.
The only apps I can find that have it is Mail, iCal and notes.

It is built into OSX and supposed to be default but most non Apple Apps don't give a damn.
dusk007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC