Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2012, 03:47 PM   #1
Hulinator8102
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Can I run Final Cut Pro X on my old Mac?

I just bought a used Macbrook Pro A1226 on ebay, does anyone know if I can run Final Cut Pro X on this machine? and if I can't are there any tweaks to it I can make so it will run smoothly

I"m also doing video game capture stuff and uploading it to Youtube, I am going to be using a lot of CPU for both of these projects so I need to know if the Macbook Pro A1226 is up to the challenge
Hulinator8102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 05:43 PM   #2
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulinator8102 View Post
I just bought a used Macbrook Pro A1226 on ebay, does anyone know if I can run Final Cut Pro X on this machine? and if I can't are there any tweaks to it I can make so it will run smoothly

I"m also doing video game capture stuff and uploading it to Youtube, I am going to be using a lot of CPU for both of these projects so I need to know if the Macbook Pro A1226 is up to the challenge
Won't run on that machine.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 06:24 PM   #3
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
See.....

this link and check out the specs of your machine:

http://www.apple.com/finalcutpro/specs/

Hope that helps

__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black), Moto G 8 GB (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:02 PM   #4
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ccrew View Post
Won't run on that machine.
Actually, there's no possible way you could know that from the "A1226" designation that the OP gave. That doesn't represent a specific model, but rather a range of models, some of which would run Final Cut Pro X fine and some of which would not. None would be fast, but they would certainly suffice.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 11:01 PM   #5
Hulinator8102
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Ok folks here's the specs tell me what she can do, what she'll have trouble with and what she can't do, and anything I can do to beef her up

MacBook Pro A1226 (these are the specs of THE machine I'm getting)

CPU: Core 2 Duo 2.2Ghz
RAM: 4GB
Screen Size: 15.4
Hard Drive: 250GB
Video Card: GeForce 8600M GT
Optical: Slim DVR+RW
OS: 10.5, I really hope I can work my way up to Mountain Lion on this machine
Hulinator8102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 12:55 AM   #6
markus843
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: North america
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulinator8102 View Post
Ok folks here's the specs tell me what she can do, what she'll have trouble with and what she can't do, and anything I can do to beef her up

MacBook Pro A1226 (these are the specs of THE machine I'm getting)

CPU: Core 2 Duo 2.2Ghz
RAM: 4GB
Screen Size: 15.4
Hard Drive: 250GB
Video Card: GeForce 8600M GT
Optical: Slim DVR+RW
OS: 10.5, I really hope I can work my way up to Mountain Lion on this machine
Should run Final Cut pro...
markus843 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 01:16 AM   #7
Comeagain?
macrumors 68020
 
Comeagain?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
It'll run Final Cut and ML... But not well.
__________________
Questions? MRoogle it!
Current iOS 8 "All the little things!"
MR Scavenger Score: 1
Comeagain? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 02:11 AM   #8
Badrottie
macrumors 68030
 
Badrottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulinator8102 View Post
I just bought a used Macbrook Pro A1226 on ebay, does anyone know if I can run Final Cut Pro X on this machine? and if I can't are there any tweaks to it I can make so it will run smoothly

I"m also doing video game capture stuff and uploading it to Youtube, I am going to be using a lot of CPU for both of these projects so I need to know if the Macbook Pro A1226 is up to the challenge
Yes I have MBP like yours and I am running Mountain Lion 10.8.1 and Final Cut Pro X just fine. But it has 4GB memory and Intel SSD.
__________________
That is OK to make fun of my poor english grammars just because you are bullying deaf people.
Badrottie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:24 AM   #9
Hulinator8102
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
So it would be a good idea for me to invest in a SSD and a external hard drive? The jury seems to be out on this one 50% of the people I've talked to on here said getting a SSD for my old 2007 Macbook would be pointless and I've heard people say external hard drives are the way to go especially if you want to do video editing
Hulinator8102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:29 PM   #10
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mal View Post
Actually, there's no possible way you could know that from the "A1226" designation that the OP gave. That doesn't represent a specific model, but rather a range of models, some of which would run Final Cut Pro X fine and some of which would not. None would be fast, but they would certainly suffice.

jW
Actually I can get close, because the video card isn't supported by the current gen of FCPX on most all the non CTO 1226's

"GeForce 8600M GT 128MB (Note: OpenCL compatible, but does not meet system requirements for Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5 and Compressor 4.)"

And based on the fact the OP has stated it's a 2.2 it makes it a MacbookPro 3.1 (T7500) Model A1226 (EMC 2136) which means I'm definitely correct.

Last edited by Ccrew; Nov 20, 2012 at 06:34 PM.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:09 PM   #11
Badrottie
macrumors 68030
 
Badrottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulinator8102 View Post
So it would be a good idea for me to invest in a SSD and a external hard drive? The jury seems to be out on this one 50% of the people I've talked to on here said getting a SSD for my old 2007 Macbook would be pointless and I've heard people say external hard drives are the way to go especially if you want to do video editing
Also I use Seagate GoFlex ultra portable external HD with USB 3.0/Firewire 800 I often work Final Cut Pro X with this external HD all the times.
__________________
That is OK to make fun of my poor english grammars just because you are bullying deaf people.
Badrottie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 10:34 PM   #12
Hulinator8102
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Ccrew's comment bothers me immensely this is one of the main uses I plan on using my old Mac for is editing in HD with FCPX, can anyone absolutely 100% validate whether what he says is true, I'm getting my RAM upgraded to 6GB and I'm getting a Seagate Hybrid Momentus XT drive so I am really investing in a lot of money in something that could or could not work, I need someone to reassure me that it will
Hulinator8102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 07:43 PM   #13
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulinator8102 View Post
Ccrew's comment bothers me immensely this is one of the main uses I plan on using my old Mac for is editing in HD with FCPX, can anyone absolutely 100% validate whether what he says is true, I'm getting my RAM upgraded to 6GB and I'm getting a Seagate Hybrid Momentus XT drive so I am really investing in a lot of money in something that could or could not work, I need someone to reassure me that it will
Seriously? It's not a comment. It's from Apple's own page. I hate being the bearer of bad news, but I know my way around hardware. Sorry! Here's reference info so you can verify the info and I'm not some random kook raining on your parade:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4664

And the machine you bought has the GeForce 8600M GT 128MB card in it.

Download MacTracker off the Appstore, look at The MacBook Pro 15 Inch Late 2007 2.4/2.2 1226 card specs.

GRAPHICS

Graphics Card NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Graphics Memory 128 (2.2 GHz) or 256 (2.4, 2.6 GHz) MB GDDR3
Display Connection 1 - Dual-link DVI (VGA, Composite and S-video with adapter)
Display Modes Dual display extended and video mirroring
External Resolution Up to 2560 by 1600 pixels
Camera Built-in iSight


I've got a dual quad Proc Mac Pro sitting here that won't run FCPX due to video, I know a laptop of the same age sure isn't.

And I probably shouldn't even mention that that machine is of the vintage where the onboard NVidia chip fries due to them being defective. http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2377

Last edited by Ccrew; Nov 28, 2012 at 07:51 PM.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:03 PM   #14
offtheroad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ccrew View Post
Won't run on that machine.
Can I run it on
Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 12 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
offtheroad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:13 AM   #15
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by offtheroad View Post
Can I run it on
Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 12 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
Yes. That machine has either a NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 or ATI Radeon HD 4870 in it. It's also upgradeable and will support some newer cards.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:08 AM   #16
Hulinator8102
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I owe you a huge apology Ccrew, you gave me information directly from Apple which I guess I thought was your own information, but I downloaded the trial of FCPX last night and besides the fact that it kept heating up which I guess is a common problem with old Macs it seemed to be running just fine. Mind you I was working with a one minute clip just to test it not some 30 minute piece of footage but nevertheless for whatever reason it worked
Hulinator8102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Updates Final Cut Pro X with 2013 Mac Pro Compatibility, 4K Content MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 106 Jan 1, 2014 07:50 PM
MacBook Air For Final Cut Pro X In The Long Run (4K)? ooans MacBook Air 4 Jul 17, 2013 03:03 PM
Mac wont let me Run Final Cut Pro, help appreciated. Rimssky Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 May 13, 2013 10:40 PM
Can the baseline iMac (2012) run Final Cut Pro X? Gelite55 iMac 3 Dec 19, 2012 10:13 AM
Converting XML from Final Cut Pro 7 to Final Cut Pro X and visa versa MacintoshMan Digital Video 1 Oct 11, 2012 04:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC