Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:40 PM   #326
Malahierba
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I just called 611 and I spoke to a representative who informed me that with my unlimited plan it will take anywhere from 8 to 10 weeks from Nov. 9 for FaceTime to be available under my plan. My other option was to change to an unlimited plan for FaceTime to become active right away. I choose to wait and keep my grandfather plan. Hopefully AT&T won't take 10 weeks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Image


AT&T appears to be quietly extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular capabilities to all their iPhone customers. Earlier this month, AT&T announced that they would allow any customer "with an LTE device" on a "tiered data plan" to use iOS 6's FaceTime over Cellular feature.

This, however, excluded a number of customers, including those with grandfathered unlimited data plans as well as those with the iPhones 4S. (Note, iOS 6, itself, can only supports FaceTime-over-Cellular on the 4S, 5 and iPad 3rd Gen or higher)

Tonight, Forum user kre62 noticed that both his iPhone 4S and iPhone 5 with unlimited AT&T data plans now support FaceTime over cellular.This finding has been confirmed by a number of users in this discussion thread -- though some users have been unable to activate it so it may still be rolling out to some areas. AT&T had said the original rollout for tiered plans could take 8-10 weeks. Most of the positive responses have been those with the iPhone 5 and grandfathered unlimited data, but the original poster also had luck with an iPhone 4S.

Some users have had to completely restart their phones for the service to go into effect. There still remains a possibility that this is an oversight on AT&T's part. We are reaching out to AT&T for clarification on their policy.

Article Link: AT&T Seems to Be Extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular to All Customers
Malahierba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:41 PM   #327
Bigtenor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Facetime

Well I had to do a hard restart 2 times and it worked for me... I am in San Antonio TX
Bigtenor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:42 PM   #328
lumuba
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoriG View Post
I have a iph5 with unlimited data.. still getting the ATT pop up.

Is anyone in Los Angeles or So Cal getting facetime over cellular?
works as of now. yesterday it didn't
lumuba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:46 PM   #329
diamond.g
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
No one seems to be checking carrier version...
diamond.g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:47 PM   #330
itsalexclark
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
It did not work for me. I'm in Los Angeles. iPhone 4S. iOS6.


itsalexclark.com
itsalexclark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:47 PM   #331
iRetired
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: WNY
I just rebooted my 4S running 6.01 and can confirm Facetime over cellular is working in Western NY. I don't have unlimited, but do have the 3GB plan with AT&T. Thanks AT&T!
iRetired is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:49 PM   #332
juanomatic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York City
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qfic View Post
It was working this morning on my unlimited iPhone five, but no longer works tells me to contact AT&T. So perhaps it was a mistake they took it away?

----------

In NYC by the way
I had the same. I activated it this morning and had it working on LTE on after a soft restart. But now, it gives me the screen telling me to contact AT&T to change my plan.

I have an iPhone 5, unlimited LTE plan, and live in NYC.

I really hope they didn't taketh away.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond.g View Post
No one seems to be checking carrier version...
Worked for me in NYC this morning but not anymore

Using AT&T carrier version 13.0.
juanomatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:57 PM   #333
SamGabbay
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by juanomatic View Post
I had the same. I activated it this morning and had it working on LTE on after a soft restart. But now, it gives me the screen telling me to contact AT&T to change my plan.

I have an iPhone 5, unlimited LTE plan, and live in NYC.

I really hope they didn't taketh away.

----------



Worked for me in NYC this morning but not anymore

Using AT&T carrier version 13.0.
Stopped working for me. NYC unlimited.
SamGabbay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:02 PM   #334
BlutoRS
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Detroit here. 4S, unlimited grandfathered, restart and hard restart. No go.
BlutoRS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:06 PM   #335
Blorzoga
macrumors 68020
 
Blorzoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malahierba View Post
I just called 611 and I spoke to a representative who informed me that with my unlimited plan it will take anywhere from 8 to 10 weeks from Nov. 9 for FaceTime to be available under my plan. My other option was to change to an unlimited plan for FaceTime to become active right away. I choose to wait and keep my grandfather plan. Hopefully AT&T won't take 10 weeks!
I think you mean change to a limited plan.
Blorzoga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:13 PM   #336
kimjwoo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
LTE required?

I got FT going here in Denver. Perhaps you need to be one of the limited ATT LTE markets for it work?
kimjwoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:17 PM   #337
Blorzoga
macrumors 68020
 
Blorzoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimjwoo View Post
I got FT going here in Denver. Perhaps you need to be one of the limited ATT LTE markets for it work?
Nope. I'm on LTE in Philly and it's not working...yet.
Blorzoga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:27 PM   #338
Sylon
macrumors 68000
 
Sylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan/Ohio, USA
No go here in either, not really concerned over it.


What I am confused about though, why does the iPad have a Facetime app and the iPhone doesn't?
__________________
2013 13" Retina MacBook Pro | 64GB iPhone 6 | 32GB iPad Air | TV
Sylon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:34 PM   #339
i84CTBound
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond.g View Post
No one seems to be checking carrier version...
Carrier AT&T 13.0
i84CTBound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:34 PM   #340
gonzoh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
had it and then it went again. Los Angeles. 4s with unlimited
gonzoh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:35 PM   #341
TxLee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Been trying all day to get it to work. Finally got it to work.

Central Texas, iPhone 5 ios 6.0 grandfathered unlimited

Update: was working when first rebooted, was able to toggle the FaceTime on/off in both the General>Cellular Settings and in the General>FaceTime settings. Once again getting the blue dialog box.

Last edited by TxLee; Nov 21, 2012 at 02:45 PM. Reason: Update
TxLee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:39 PM   #342
mattopotamus
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylon View Post
No go here in either, not really concerned over it.


What I am confused about though, why does the iPad have a Facetime app and the iPhone doesn't?
B.c an iPad cannot make phone calls, so it needs an app
mattopotamus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:40 PM   #343
OverSpun
macrumors 6502a
 
OverSpun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Occupying Mars
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxLee View Post
Been trying all day to get it to work. Finally got it to work.

Central Texas, iPhone 5 ios 6.0 grandfathered unlimited
Nothing in CA on my iP5 ios 6.0.1 on same plan setup.
OverSpun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:41 PM   #344
coleslaw9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: I live here, right here
Nope.
SLC, 4s, unlimited data.
coleslaw9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:47 PM   #345
auriconis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Nope

Tried restarting, and even resetting network settings. Comes up then changes to off and gives the blue box to call AT&T. Pathetic on AT&T's part.
auriconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:54 PM   #346
iEnvy
macrumors 6502a
 
iEnvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW
Mine was working earlier and I even tested it out but now its not and saying that I need a special plan. How simple could this be? Instead ATT has to screw over their customers and the phone that saved them from bankruptcy.
__________________
[iPhone 6+ 128GB l RMBP 2.6Ghz/512GB/16GB]
iEnvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:56 PM   #347
Dainin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylon View Post
No go here in either, not really concerned over it.


What I am confused about though, why does the iPad have a Facetime app and the iPhone doesn't?
Because the iPad doesn't have the phone app.
Dainin is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:00 PM   #348
diamond.g
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
So it is a backend change (for those that have it working with the same carrier version as those that don't). Too bad they seem to be either catching on, or having tech issues applying the change.
diamond.g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:14 PM   #349
macguy1224
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I've had in enabled all day, but I just tried it now over cellular. It states "no network connection," even with 3 bars of LTE. It works like a charm on WiFi. I hate you so much AT&T.
macguy1224 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:28 PM   #350
Bigtenor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigtenor View Post
Well I had to do a hard restart 2 times and it worked for me... I am in San Antonio TX
Update: it seems that it only worked for 5 min. :-(
Bigtenor is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T to Expand FaceTime Over Cellular to All Customers by Year End MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 94 Jan 29, 2014 09:00 PM
AT&T Expands FaceTime Over Cellular Access to More Customers MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 163 Nov 24, 2012 11:35 AM
If FaceTime is gone Cellular - is Skype Cellular too? dinapea iPhone 9 Sep 17, 2012 12:09 PM
Beta 4 locks AT&T customers out of FaceTime over cellular! Beezzy iOS 6 65 Aug 8, 2012 12:40 PM
Sprint Won't Charge Customers for FaceTime Over Cellular MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 57 Jul 26, 2012 11:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC