Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 22, 2012, 11:45 AM   #1
Myiphone7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
How do I switch my iPhone 5 to use 3G

I am being throttled and want to switch to 3G so I can get faster speeds.
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 11:47 AM   #2
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
I don't think that's an option unfortunately
__________________
White iPhone 5; 2013 13" MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 11:49 AM   #3
Bugeyeblue
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Settings, general, cellular, turn "enable lte" to off. Depends on what carrier you have, I'm on Verizon.
Bugeyeblue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 11:53 AM   #4
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
The US doesn't give us an enable 3G switch so just what are you talking about using 3G for a faster connection??
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:09 PM   #5
bandofbrothers
macrumors 68040
 
bandofbrothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Uk
Hi

Can you please supply more detail for us to help.
bandofbrothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:17 PM   #6
kannesss
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
...I can turn my LTE off. I'm on Verizon. What are you talking about? It's in settings. It took less than a minute to find. You won't get faster speeds I don't think, just get some wifi.

Settings> general > cellular > enable LTE, switch to off.

That simple.
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:35 PM   #7
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Then it switches to 4G which is still being throttled.

I just want 3G bc I don't think they throttle it.
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:37 PM   #8
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
Then it switches to 4G which is still being throttled.

I just want 3G bc I don't think they throttle it.
They throttle everything
/endthread.
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:09 PM   #9
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
A rep has said you get up to 3Gb 3G and 5 gb lte
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:28 PM   #10
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
When you're throttled it's down to 2G and below speeds. You cannot get 3G while being throttled.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:34 PM   #11
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hill View Post
When you're throttled it's down to 2G and below speeds. You cannot get 3G while being throttled.
Darn ok
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:05 PM   #12
JayLenochiniMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Sanfrakota
..
__________________
Home iMac 27" 2.9GHz Intel Core i5
Work iMac 24" 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme
Mobile iPad (4th gen) & iPhone 5 S⃣
JayLenochiniMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC