Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 11:52 PM   #26
calaverasgrande
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
You are technically right, I can't argue with that.

But as a different point of view, how many MP owners even need a Xeon vs the non-Xeon version? Maybe some scientific or medical researchers need that ECC ram support, but most MP owners seem to be either enthusiasts or in the media industry. Since most don't really need or want Xeon/ECC, we're really two generations behind what we'd like to have. I suspect most would rather have a more up to date processor and less expensive RAM.

Of course I know there are exceptions, which is why I say "most".
I grudgingly agree. The artists in our Art dept, and the Art director all pummel their Mac Pros with large HD video projects, quite a lot of which includes that 3D graphics flying around stuff like the opening of Colbert or Daily show. Huge render times. Heck even just designing the graphics apparently taxes them pretty hard. But the rest of our Marketing Mac users would be better served by Minis or iMacs.
I swear half of the market for Mac Pros is just the whole cachet of owning the most expensive Mac money can buy. Well that and there are of course old graphics folks that came up on the Mac IIFX, Quadra 950, Power Mac 9600, Graphite/Quicksilver/Mirror, Mac Pro.....Mac Pro. Some folks just have to see a big case on the floor.
calaverasgrande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:08 AM   #27
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHMK View Post

Also what happens if you connect it to a MacBook Pro or IMac? Does it provide your MacBook Pro or iMac with its specs as well as ur IMac or MacBook Pro?
No, you can't do that.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
You are technically right, I can't argue with that.

But as a different point of view, how many MP owners even need a Xeon vs the non-Xeon version? Maybe some scientific or medical researchers need that ECC ram support, but most MP owners seem to be either enthusiasts or in the media industry. Since most don't really need or want Xeon/ECC, we're really two generations behind what we'd like to have. I suspect most would rather have a more up to date processor and less expensive RAM.

Of course I know there are exceptions, which is why I say "most".
As far as I know, there aren't dual processor motherboards for i7s, so the most cores you could have is 6. I know that I need more than 6 for my work, so that wouldn't be suitable for my needs. The ECC memory isn't that important, though, unless it's scientific research and a bit flip could harm actual people because of an incorrect calculation.
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:28 AM   #28
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHMK View Post
Thanks everyone for the answers. So theoretically if I got an adaptor I could use it with an apple monitor?

Also what happens if you connect it to a MacBook Pro or IMac? Does it provide your MacBook Pro or iMac with its specs as well as ur IMac or MacBook Pro?

Thanks!
You can use any monitor you want. Like you can connect a MacBook Pro to an external monitor.

I'm not sure what you mean by this connecting to a MacBook Pro. The Mac Pro is not an expansion unit for another computer. It is a computer. Imagine looking at the MacBook Pro or iMac without a screen. Now imagine that stuff in a tower that looks like a Mac Pro.

That said my three year old Mac Pro is still faster than my 2012 MacBook Pro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blanka View Post
No, it is not. It is a FLOOR computer. I never see them on desks as it is humongous.
My Mac Pro sits on my desk.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:47 AM   #29
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Mine sits on my desk too..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:13 AM   #30
steveOooo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: (UK) Hampshire / London
Quote:
Originally Posted by blanka View Post
No, it is not. It is a FLOOR computer. I never see them on desks as it is humongous.
Indeed, you need 12 weeks of Olympic powerlifting training before you can lift this up onto a desk.

I compress air it once a year - carrying this down and up a flight of stairs - definition of 'hardwork'
steveOooo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:59 PM   #31
Dr. Stealth
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
On My Desk

Mine sits on my desk also.... .

I'd never think of putting it on the floor..... .
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:53 PM   #32
CHMK
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
k so what is a server? like u can have a mac pro server? is that like a network where a company or organisation links itself to?
__________________
iPhone 5s 64GB Space Grey
rMBP 2.3GHz, 8GB Ram, 256GB SSD Intel i7
CHMK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:55 PM   #33
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHMK View Post
Sorry, but can anyone tell me what a macpro really is used for?? is it just like a huge block of tech goodness that u can connect to a display monitor like a thunderbolt?
cos i know i mac is a monitor with the tech goodness built inside.

so are mac minis and mac pros just connected to any old monitor? havent really been able to find the answer.

and if so, can u actually connect a mac pro to say a macbook pro or an iMac? just really confused. i know its a workstation whatever that is so if someone could tell me in simple terms id be grateful. thanks!
have u never heard of a tower pc? the ones people used between like forever and now

kids these days ...
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:18 PM   #34
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHMK View Post
k so what is a server? like u can have a mac pro server? is that like a network where a company or organisation links itself to?
A server is just like a mobile phone
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 02:58 PM   #35
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by blanka View Post
No, it is not. It is a FLOOR computer. I never see them on desks as it is humongous.
Mines on my desk.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:08 PM   #36
dragje
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Actually the Mac Pro is quite outdated. I believe it is the only Mac that doesn't have Thunderbolt. It also doesn't have USB 3.0, it is two generations behind when it comes to the CPU and GPU, and its SATA connections are outdated.

Don't get me wrong, I love the Mac Pro. However, it is seriously outdated at this point. The number of scenarios where it makes sense to buy one is greatly diminished for most people.
The more reason for Apple to come up with a new one.
dragje is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waterfield Designs Debuts 'Mac Pro Go Case' for Transporting 2013 Mac Pro MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 43 Jun 11, 2014 04:45 PM
nMP, New Mac Pro, Mac Mini Pro, 6,1, Mac Pro....Decide! Anim Mac Pro 12 Feb 4, 2014 12:53 PM
Upgraded 3.46GHz 12-core 2010 Mac Pro faster than new 2.7GHz Mac Pro? jkheit Mac Pro 11 Jan 3, 2014 02:44 PM
Refurb MAC PRO 2012 or ebay Mac Pro 2010 or Imac indecisively Mac Pro 0 Nov 24, 2012 05:04 PM
Using a PC graphic card in Mac Pro Rev.A [EFI 32] (Mac Pro 1st Gen/1.1) flexage Mac Pro 16 Oct 3, 2012 12:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC