Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:30 PM   #1
nj908
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Double Nat?

Hello all. I have a question about routers.

I have an airport express (first generation) that I use for Wifi. However, I also have this Netgear router (N300). I bought it with the intentions of hardwiring my Xbox into the Netgear, simply because online gaming could get a little laggy when played wirelessly. However, other people in my house need to use the Wifi. I have tried to set up the Wifi from the Netgear router, and I was successful, but I can't password protect the Network for whatever reason. My question is, how can I set up the airport express into the Netgear router to use it for Wifi? The airport express keeps saying I have a "double nat" and basically yells at me and will not work . How can I fix this? Thank you in advance.
nj908 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 08:02 PM   #2
CJS7070
macrumors 6502a
 
CJS7070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Set the Airport Express to extend the existing network - this will turn off DHCP on the AE and let the Netgear handle this. Essentially it will act as an access point only anad not a router. I don't use Apple access points/routers so I'm not sure what terminology they use.
CJS7070 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 09:46 AM   #3
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Just set the AE to bridge mode in the pane below.

Thumb resize.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 10:50 PM   #4
nj908
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
It worked! I was amazed by how simple it was to do it. Thanks!
nj908 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AirPort Extreme - Double NAT stianJ Mac Peripherals 11 Mar 19, 2014 07:37 PM
Double clocks, double unlock slider after ios7 upgrade MobsterMac iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2013 02:03 PM
AirPort Extremet - Double Nat problem HeroBiX Mac Peripherals 7 Jul 10, 2013 06:17 AM
I want double NAT (AirportExtreme), but no blinking lights knapkin Mac Peripherals 3 Feb 6, 2013 11:12 AM
Draytek vigor 120 double NAT problem? Wongers1 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Sep 15, 2012 07:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC