Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:17 PM   #1
adammusic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Apple Tv (2nd Gen) to old square tv...

Is there a way to connect apple tv to an old tv. It has only the 3 colored stereo inputs red yellow white. Im reading places that the hdmi cable to rca wont work. That I need one of those converter boxes. The illegal ones that don't copyright so it works.

Can i plug from HDMI on the ATV into HDMI on my comcast cable box?
adammusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:40 PM   #2
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by adammusic View Post
Can i plug from HDMI on the ATV into HDMI on my comcast cable box?

The cable box' HDMI is OUTPUT, can't send HDMI signal TO it.

Yes there are converters, BUT more expensive than it's worth (hundreds) and result awful.

Look at the Black Friday's flyers. Cheap TV everywhere. How exactly poor are u?
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:44 PM   #3
adammusic
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
lol. well i was gonna get a new vizio with the built in apps, which would make apple tv useless basically. So i want to get it to work now for the time being. & also pretty broke.
adammusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 08:19 PM   #4
Irishman
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by adammusic View Post
Is there a way to connect apple tv to an old tv. It has only the 3 colored stereo inputs red yellow white. Im reading places that the hdmi cable to rca wont work. That I need one of those converter boxes. The illegal ones that don't copyright so it works.

Can i plug from HDMI on the ATV into HDMI on my comcast cable box?
Your Comcast box won't pass through audio and video from your AppleTV to your TV.

Sorry, it's not designed to do so.

Best Buy is having a Black Friday deal at midnight tonight for $180 on a 40" Toshiba LCD. Grab one of those and an HDMI cable and call it a day.
Irishman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 10:10 PM   #5
scottw324
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Buy this. Works with my Apple TV 3 and my old school tv in my living room.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o02_s00_i00

Been working for about 2 years.

Plays iTunes content and pirated content.
scottw324 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 11:24 AM   #6
dgalvan123
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottw324 View Post
Buy this. Works with my Apple TV 3 and my old school tv in my living room.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o02_s00_i00
+1 for this exact product.

I've been using it with my jailbroken Apple TV 2 for the past year. Works just fine and for only $35 it is way cheaper than buying a new TV.

Those darn CRT TV's just won't die, will they?! I want to replace mine but can't justify the cost at the moment.
dgalvan123 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:38 PM   #7
adammusic
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Link is dead...whats the product?
adammusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:51 PM   #8
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by adammusic View Post
Link is dead...whats the product?
Probably a HDMI to Composite converter.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 09:53 PM   #9
Redwyvern
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Yonkers, NY
Yes, I would also like to know the exact product. I have HDTV, but only has component inputs, and also DVI input (old Sony KDF60XBR950). I would love to get an ATV 3, but keep hearing conflicting info on converters.

Thanks
Redwyvern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 12:38 AM   #10
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwyvern View Post
Yes, I would also like to know the exact product. I have HDTV, but only has component inputs, and also DVI input (old Sony KDF60XBR950). I would love to get an ATV 3, but keep hearing conflicting info on converters.

Thanks
If you have an DVI input on the HDTV, all you need is a simple HDMI to DVI adapter cable. If you only have a component input, you'll need a converter though.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 07:13 PM   #11
potatis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
He would also need a DAC to route the audio to, since DVI doesn't do sound and ATV doesn't do analogue audio. Or he could buy a 1G ATV.
potatis is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st Gen Apple tv 2nd Gen Airplay/AirTunes AirPort Express not working Bryank Apple TV and Home Theater 0 May 1, 2013 03:16 AM
Apple TV: Apple TV 2nd Gen..... Should I get one???? MacVirgin1976 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Aug 26, 2012 10:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC