Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 23, 2012, 02:14 AM   #1
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Late 2011 13" MBP with SSD in Optical Bay

I am swapping out my superdrive with a SATA cradle + SSD.

Now, I know that all the SATA ports are 6Gbps so is this configuration permissible?

I am concerned that my 1TB WD Blue WD10TPVT is 12.5mm tall and will not fit the SATA cradle in the optical bay.

Anyhow, thanks!
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:28 AM   #2
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
put your SSD into the main bay so you get SATAIII speed.

Is the 1TB HDD 3.5in or 2.5in?
Optibay only supports laptop sized HDD/SSD (2.5in) and not desktop size HDDs(3.5in).

EDIT:

I just googled it and yes, it is a 2.5in so it fits.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
Sony Xperia Z1 (Purple) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:55 AM   #3
bluespaceoddity
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
put your SSD into the main bay so you get SATAIII speed.

Is the 1TB HDD 3.5in or 2.5in?
Optibay only supports laptop sized HDD/SSD (2.5in) and not desktop size HDDs(3.5in).

EDIT:

I just googled it and yes, it is a 2.5in so it fits.
OP is asking about the height of the drive being an obstacle though, which will depend on the thickness of the specific "cradle" used to mount the 12.5 tall WD HDD he mentioned after moving it into the optical bay.

As far as I know the late 2011 MBP get Sata III in the Optical Bay as well though so there doesn't appear to be an obstacle to leaving the WD HDD in place in the HD spot and sticking the SSD in the location of the removed optical drive.

Please correct if wrong.
bluespaceoddity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:57 AM   #4
Nails1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I'm guessing it won't fit since it's 12.5mm. It most likely needs to be 9.5mm to fit in the caddy.
Nails1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 11:16 AM   #5
Hexley
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nails1 View Post
I'm guessing it won't fit since it's 12.5mm. It most likely needs to be 9.5mm to fit in the caddy.
I read online that there are two optical bay caddy sizes.

So anyone tried this setup yet?
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:13 AM   #6
Hexley
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Anyone?
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't my late 2011 17" MBP use a SATA III SSD in the optical bay? DelisleBA.info MacBook Pro 3 Mar 12, 2014 10:12 PM
Late 2009 iMac 27" Optical bay to SSD hardtofin iMac 12 Nov 11, 2013 12:44 PM
Optical bay caddy for Early 2011 15" MBP brunelbushi MacBook Pro 10 May 31, 2013 09:49 PM
Late 2009 27" imac optical bay to ssd adapter mogens iMac 2 Nov 16, 2012 12:11 AM
Is it SAFE to run a Samsung 830 in a Late 2011 MBP's optical bay? Leek MacBook Pro 6 Nov 1, 2012 02:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC