Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2012, 10:58 AM   #1
aznboi91
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Is there any particular way of restoring the iPhone5 to work on T-mobile?

This may sound dumb.... but...
Is there any particular way of restoring the iPhone5 to work on T-mobile? I just bought it straight from the apple store at retail price today.


Thanks for all the help!
aznboi91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:00 AM   #2
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
No need to restore just insert a nano sim and you are good to go! As long you paid full price att it should be factory unlocked or the verizon version.
__________________
ppleholic
aziatiklover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:02 AM   #3
mohsy90
macrumors 65816
 
mohsy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznboi91 View Post
This may sound dumb.... but...
Is there any particular way of restoring the iPhone5 to work on T-mobile? I just bought it straight from the apple store at retail price today.


Thanks for all the help!
The easiest way to do is, is to buy an unlock from unlock fusion on eBay for $4. They will unlock your iMEI and then all you need to do is restore the phone and it should be unlocked for any GSM sim.

If you bought the Verizon, it comes factory unlocked for GSM.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
mohsy90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:07 AM   #4
aznboi91
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohsy90 View Post
The easiest way to do is, is to buy an unlock from unlock fusion on eBay for $4. They will unlock your iMEI and then all you need to do is restore the phone and it should be unlocked for any GSM sim.

If you bought the Verizon, it comes factory unlocked for GSM.
I bought the Verizon 32GB version. So does that mean I just have to pop my nano sim in there and it should automatically work? No restoration process needed?
aznboi91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:12 AM   #5
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznboi91 View Post
I bought the Verizon 32GB version. So does that mean I just have to pop my nano sim in there and it should automatically work? No restoration process needed?
No process needed. Just pop in nano sim and you're good to go. Hopefully in your area you get 3G service tho otherwise it's Edge speeds for ya.
__________________
Unlocked Space Gray iPhone 5S 32gb AT&T, 13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHZ 4GB Ram 128GB SSD
Jordan921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:26 AM   #6
aznboi91
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan921 View Post
No process needed. Just pop in nano sim and you're good to go. Hopefully in your area you get 3G service tho otherwise it's Edge speeds for ya.
Wow... is it supposed to be this difficult to get the iPhone 5 sim tray out?
Its like stuck or something...
aznboi91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:31 AM   #7
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznboi91 View Post
Wow... is it supposed to be this difficult to get the iPhone 5 sim tray out?
Its like stuck or something...
Well that sucks for you.
__________________
Unlocked Space Gray iPhone 5S 32gb AT&T, 13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHZ 4GB Ram 128GB SSD
Jordan921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:48 AM   #8
aznboi91
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan921 View Post
Well that sucks for you.
Thats strange.... I guess I had to put more force than expected... Thanks for the help though!
aznboi91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Tags
iphone5, restore

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier: I don't have T-mobile number, how can I unkock a T-mobile locked iPhone5? imfs iPhone 4 May 30, 2014 03:01 PM
Restoring iphone5 backup to 5s - 64bit apps? thefredelement iPhone 1 Jan 8, 2014 09:35 AM
buying the iphone5 no contract t mobile Dragunov iPhone 20 Oct 26, 2012 12:59 PM
Restoring to new iPhone5 problem Traveler1333 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Oct 9, 2012 04:29 AM
Restoring from PC or iCloud is causing my iPhone5 to not use cellular data! dylanursula iPhone 41 Sep 23, 2012 01:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC