Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:14 PM   #1
jason2811
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2006
WhatsApp overseas?

I'll be spending three months in Europe and I want to message my friends back here in the US using WhatsApp. Is it better for me to activate WhatsApp while I'm here in the US before I head to Europe and connect it to my US number? Or should I wait til I get to Europe to activate and connect it with my European number? I heard you can only activate it once per phone so I want to make sure I do it right.

Thanks!
jason2811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 06:53 PM   #2
marc11
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NY USA
I have mine activated to my number in Japan but it works anywhere I go, even on wifi when I have the cell off. But it is an interesting question, if you change sims, will it still work if you activate it to your USA number? I honestly have no idea.
__________________
Various Apple Products
marc11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 11:28 PM   #3
anvikapur
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason2811 View Post
I'll be spending three months in Europe and I want to message my friends back here in the US using WhatsApp. Is it better for me to activate WhatsApp while I'm here in the US before I head to Europe and connect it to my US number? Or should I wait til I get to Europe to activate and connect it with my European number? I heard you can only activate it once per phone so I want to make sure I do it right.

Thanks!
Can I verify one WhatsApp account to multiple phones, or with multiple phone numbers?

Many of you may have different phones or different numbers, and may want to use WhatsApp with one number, but on two phones or vice versa. However, at this time, WhatsApp can only be verified with one number, on one device.

If you attempt to frequently switch your WhatsApp account between different devices, at a certain point, you may be blocked from re-verifying WhatsApp. So, please do not repeatedly switch between different devices.
anvikapur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:51 PM   #4
dendritic cells
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Boston MA
I used whatsapp on a single device (blackberry) in 3 different countries/continents (US, Netherlands, Indonesia) each using a local number and somehow it worked perfectly (all my whatsapp contacts and groups remained intact).
dendritic cells is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC