Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:37 PM   #1
someguy
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Black MacBook powers off during OS X install

Hello,

I have been asked by a friend to reload their black 13" MacBook with a fresh install of OS X. I have a copy of Snow Leopard with which to do the job.

The problem is that the system seems to stop doing much of anything around the point where there's ~17 minutes remaining, then after about 10 minutes, the system just powers off.

Here are some quick bits of information:

-- I did a complete format (erase) in Disk Utility before starting the install.
-- The system is plugged into a power source.
-- I have tried with two separate OS X install DVDs.
-- The system worked fine before starting this process. No reports of issues that seemed hardware-related.

Any idea what could be wrong? What else can I try?
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:18 PM   #2
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Okay, so I just tried again and at ~18 minutes left, the window disappeared, the background faded to grey, and the system proceed to load something off the disk for about a minute, then just shut off.

It's not losing power or anything, but I have no idea why it won't take an install.
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:20 PM   #3
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by someguy View Post
Okay, so I just tried again and at ~18 minutes left, the window disappeared, the background faded to grey, and the system proceed to load something off the disk for about a minute, then just shut off.

It's not losing power or anything, but I have no idea why it won't take an install.
Is it plugged in to the charger?
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:24 PM   #4
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Is it plugged in to the charger?
Usually an important first step.
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:25 PM   #5
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Is it plugged in to the charger?
Yes. Sorry, that's what I meant by "power source". I should've been more specific.
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:54 PM   #6
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Okay, I've unchecked everything in the Customize options except for Additional Fonts to try and keep the possibilities for failure down to a minimum. Same issue.

I've also removed the battery for that install attempt.
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:52 PM   #7
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
I'm watching the install log. It keeps spitting out:

localhost OSInstaller[143]: reading from /System/Installation/Packages/BSD.pkg: Input/output error
localhost OSInstaller[143]: error processing data: Input/output error

Last time it seemed to try to download the package before giving up, so this time, I've connected to wifi.

----------

It still failed!

localhost OSInstaller[143]: Failed to download package from file://localhost/System/Installation/Packages/BSD.pkg and no alternate source.
localhost OSInstaller[143]: Install failed: The installer could not copy the necessary support files.

Guess I misread the "download" bit last time.
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:36 PM   #8
zackkmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
Just asking out of curiosity, but are the DVDs legitimate? Not accusing you of using illegal copies, but if it happened to be a torrent copy, then there are many reasons it could not be working.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 05:55 PM   #9
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I would also suggest trying a new disk.

or making a bootable USB image of the installer.
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:28 AM   #10
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Update: I replaced the hard drive and RAM after they failed a test (SeaTools and memtest) and the issue still occurs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zackkmac View Post
Just asking out of curiosity, but are the DVDs legitimate? Not accusing you of using illegal copies, but if it happened to be a torrent copy, then there are many reasons it could not be working.
Yes, they are.

Quote:
Originally Posted by minifridge1138 View Post
I would also suggest trying a new disk.

or making a bootable USB image of the installer.
I will try that.
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 12:53 PM   #11
zackkmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
Do you have access to a copy of Lion that you could try? Also, if you've replaced the RAM/HD, this could be a logic board failure.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 12:21 AM   #12
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zackkmac View Post
Do you have access to a copy of Lion that you could try? Also, if you've replaced the RAM/HD, this could be a logic board failure.
I don't.

I'm out of ideas. If I had the disk that came with it, I would run the full hardware test.
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 04:03 PM   #13
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Alright, I've replaced the RAM and hard drive with new components, acquired the original Mac OS X Install DVD for the machine, and used a USB SuperDrive for the install (just in case the optical drive was the issue).

Same result!

I ran the extended Apple Hardware Test on the system -- "No trouble found."


This is for a friend who is giving this laptop to her son for Christmas. I want to help, but at this point, I have no idea what the issue is!

Any help would be greatly appreciated by more than just myself.
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 09:38 PM   #14
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Apple Store?
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 05:39 PM   #15
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by brop52 View Post
Apple Store?
Perhaps, but it's most certainly no longer under warranty, and probably not worth the cost to repair it if it's anything major. I wonder what they would charge to run some diagnostics on it?
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 09:27 PM   #16
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by someguy View Post
Perhaps, but it's most certainly no longer under warranty, and probably not worth the cost to repair it if it's anything major. I wonder what they would charge to run some diagnostics on it?
No. They do not charge for looking at your machine even out of warranty.
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:43 PM   #17
someguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Still here.
Well, I was able to get a hold of yet another Snow Leopard retail disk and for whatever reason, it worked! Now the MacBook is up and running and seems to be just fine. Thanks for the help.
__________________

someguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install MacBook unibody (aluminum) body on black MacBook GenoFloresAZ MacBook 1 Apr 25, 2014 12:29 PM
Black iPhone 5S to Match Retina MacBook (black screeen) and Black iPad Mini..or GOLD? Chuck-Norris iPhone 56 Dec 31, 2013 04:36 PM
Macbook Powers on with lid closed MarkKoch MacBook Pro 1 Oct 11, 2013 04:18 PM
Macbook Air 11" powers down while charging JodyRuble MacBook Air 1 May 23, 2013 10:36 PM
macbook pro powers off phillyphill MacBook Pro 1 May 6, 2013 07:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC