Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:40 PM   #1
Nova77
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Halo 2.0.4 unplayable on my G4 MDD

So I finally decided to try Halo after all this time.
Installed the UB version because it was required for the latest patch.
It plays terribly bad.... very very slow.
I tried with shadows turned off and graphics at lowest settings possible @ 640X480 and it still feels sluggish. I don't know how to turn on FPS meter but from what I can tell its below 30. It lacks enough frames to give me a headache.

I've heard of people playing this on their PowerBook Titanium 800 mhz. Geez. How? Is it just me that can't stand playing a game that isn't close to 60 FPS or what?

I'm using a PowerMac G4 dual 1.58 Ghz with a Geforce 7800 GS 256 MB.

Does that mean that it would run better on my 1 Ghz TiBook???


Guess I'll stay with that good old Quake 3 engine for now...
(By the way, by tweaking the config file I was able to unlock higher graphic quality unavailable in the menu, from what I can tell it looks 2X better than Halo at max quality -- PM me if interested)
__________________
G4 MDD dual 1.58 ghz, 2 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.5.8//Mac OS 9.2.2, 115 GB SSD, 2 TB HDD, 7800 GS
PowerBook G4 Titanium 1 ghz, 1 GB RAM, 120 GB
Nova77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:38 AM   #2
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
It should definently run with Dual G4 1.58Ghz, I played it with my iBook G4 1.42Ghz with Radeon 9550 and while it was of course far from great (had to tone settings down etc.) it was playable, if I remember correctly I had 1024 x 768 resolution but lots of options set to Off.

You have overclocked CPU's and I suppose flashed 7800GS, those two can be the reason for strange behaviour. Have checked temps? Applications stress CPU's differently, however if you have done encoding etc. I think you have tested stability very well already. When I played Halo, I had 10.5.8 so I'm guessing the OS is not the problem.
__________________
Macbook 2008 C2D 2.1GHz / 4GB / 500GB / SuperDrive / 10.7.5
PowerBook G4 12" 2003 1GHz / 1.25GB / 250GB / Combo / 10.5.8
Zotaccian is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 10:39 AM   #3
Nova77
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotaccian View Post
It should definently run with Dual G4 1.58Ghz, I played it with my iBook G4 1.42Ghz with Radeon 9550 and while it was of course far from great (had to tone settings down etc.) it was playable, if I remember correctly I had 1024 x 768 resolution but lots of options set to Off.

You have overclocked CPU's and I suppose flashed 7800GS, those two can be the reason for strange behaviour. Have checked temps? Applications stress CPU's differently, however if you have done encoding etc. I think you have tested stability very well already. When I played Halo, I had 10.5.8 so I'm guessing the OS is not the problem.
OC is not the issue, I've been running it this way for more than a month and stressed tested it the first night. It can run at 100% CPU load without problem. Temp cannot go higher than 47-48 degrees celcius because I hacked the fan system kext (20-21 degrees inside the house).

Somehow Doom 3 @1280x1024 and medium graphics just plays way smoother than Halo @ 640X480 very low graphics. Doom 3 IS playable (40-60 FPS, only slight lag when entering areas), Halo IS NOT. Was Halo meant to look terrible?
__________________
G4 MDD dual 1.58 ghz, 2 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.5.8//Mac OS 9.2.2, 115 GB SSD, 2 TB HDD, 7800 GS
PowerBook G4 Titanium 1 ghz, 1 GB RAM, 120 GB
Nova77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 10:53 AM   #4
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
I run Halo maxed out on my G5 with a smooth 35-50fps (6800 Utra). It even ran with medium settings smoothly enough on the FX5200. However I run the PowerPC version. So maybe it's the binary or maybe the fact you have a flashed card and it just isn't getting on, or a mixture of both?

If you have a stock card lying around somewhere I'd give that a twirl & see if it comes out with better/smoother results.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 12:12 AM   #5
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
It runs fairly smooth at 720p for me at medium high details, this is on a dual 1.8 G5 with a Radeon X800 XT ~
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Early 2006 20" iMac - 2.0GHz - 2GB RAM - Radeon X1600 256MB - 1TB - Snow Leopard
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 09:14 AM   #6
Nova77
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Funny how everybody puts the fault on my video card... if its the card why is Doom 3 running OK and not Halo?... Doom 3 has higher min requirements than Halo, yet runs a lot better. I tried the PPC version too. Wasn't any better. I mean... both are playable if you get passed the headache due to low FPS.

Could it be that.....
Halo - 2001 - PC game wrapped for mac
Doom 3 - 2005 - Actually had real development for mac

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
I run Halo maxed out on my G5 with a smooth 35-50fps (6800 Utra). It even ran with medium settings smoothly enough on the FX5200. However I run the PowerPC version. So maybe it's the binary or maybe the fact you have a flashed card and it just isn't getting on, or a mixture of both?

If you have a stock card lying around somewhere I'd give that a twirl & see if it comes out with better/smoother results.
35 FPS for a 2001 game on a G5? And you call that smooth?? You gotta try Quake 3 Arena on your G5 if you want to learn what smooth really is.
__________________
G4 MDD dual 1.58 ghz, 2 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.5.8//Mac OS 9.2.2, 115 GB SSD, 2 TB HDD, 7800 GS
PowerBook G4 Titanium 1 ghz, 1 GB RAM, 120 GB
Nova77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 07:56 AM   #7
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nova77 View Post
35 FPS for a 2001 game on a G5? And you call that smooth?? You gotta try Quake 3 Arena on your G5 if you want to learn what smooth really is.
Well considering the human eye can only view at 24 frames per second then would I call that smooth? Yes.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 08:55 PM   #8
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
Well considering the human eye can only view at 24 frames per second then would I call that smooth? Yes.
What?!

If you can't tell more than 24 FPS then your eyes are doing it wrong.

I can tell easily the difference between 30 and 60FPS video shot with an iPhone, and 50Hz vs 100Hz TV sets.

Also, framerate in games must be much higher than a movie to give a comparable quality of experience.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Early 2006 20" iMac - 2.0GHz - 2GB RAM - Radeon X1600 256MB - 1TB - Snow Leopard
Jethryn Freyman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 10:07 PM   #9
Nova77
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethryn Freyman View Post
What?!

If you can't tell more than 24 FPS then your eyes are doing it wrong.

I can tell easily the difference between 30 and 60FPS video shot with an iPhone, and 50Hz vs 100Hz TV sets.

Also, framerate in games must be much higher than a movie to give a comparable quality of experience.
Just what he said, minus the iPhone part. (Y)

For me, when it drops to 30 FPS in a video game, I call it lag. 24 FPS for a movie is fine, it gives it a special feel the same way film grain does. But if like me you were curious enough to set a game to 24 FPS max... it might result in a painful headache or inability to aim proprely.
__________________
G4 MDD dual 1.58 ghz, 2 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.5.8//Mac OS 9.2.2, 115 GB SSD, 2 TB HDD, 7800 GS
PowerBook G4 Titanium 1 ghz, 1 GB RAM, 120 GB
Nova77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 11:21 PM   #10
wobegong
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
If Doom 3 is playing better than Halo then it has to be something to do with the installation I would have thought because thats crazy.
__________________
PM G5 DC 2.3Ghz 16Gb 240Gb OCZ SSD 2Tb WDBlack 7800GTX 512Mb 23" ACD Bowers & Wilkins MM-1Late 2011 MBP 2.0Ghz i7 8Gb 500GB SSD iPad 3 64Gb iPhone5 64Gb
wobegong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 05:11 AM   #11
76ShovelHead
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Connecticut
Installation

If it's not your processor, not your ram, not your graphics card, etc. Then it must be your installation. Using something like AppCleaner (Free, just find an older version that supports PPC) to clean out the installation entirely and start from scratch.

Good Luck
__________________
Haswell i5 3 GHz 8 GB Ram 128 GB SSD Mavericks
76ShovelHead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 06:59 PM   #12
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Halo was pretty badly optimized from the start. I remember having issues with it on my Powerbook G4 1.25 back in the day, and that was a top of the end machine. The performance you are getting is pretty similar to what I got on the PowerPC version.
goMac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 02:41 PM   #13
Nova77
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
Halo was pretty badly optimized from the start. I remember having issues with it on my Powerbook G4 1.25 back in the day, and that was a top of the end machine. The performance you are getting is pretty similar to what I got on the PowerPC version.
Thanks, finally someone that confirms what I thought. And yep, thats crazy that Doom 3 runs better, but I guess its "normal".
__________________
G4 MDD dual 1.58 ghz, 2 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.5.8//Mac OS 9.2.2, 115 GB SSD, 2 TB HDD, 7800 GS
PowerBook G4 Titanium 1 ghz, 1 GB RAM, 120 GB
Nova77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 12:40 PM   #14
rampancy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nova77 View Post
So I finally decided to try Halo after all this time.
Installed the UB version because it was required for the latest patch.
It plays terribly bad.... very very slow...
IIRC, the UB version was never really good on PPC; from what I recall, the UB version was practically almost a ground-up rewrite of the game to get performance back up on Intel Macs, since Westlake Interactive's original conversion had aggressively optimized the game for PPC (even though the game itself still ran poorly regardless) – which is the reason why they charged $5 for it.

I'd recommend sticking with the original PPC release fully patched to 1.05 (the last version before the 2.0 UB release) if you're playing on PPC. I remember that on my old Dual 1.25 Ghz MDD with a 128 MB GeForce 4 Ti, the game ran...reasonably well with most of the graphics options at medium settings. In contrast, the UB release didn't fare as well on my 2006 MacBook Pro with a 128 MB RM X1600.
rampancy is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unplayable mp3 Big Ron iPod 9 Feb 8, 2014 09:31 AM
Handbrake giving me unplayable m4v Augustine864 Digital Video 2 Jul 1, 2013 02:16 PM
Power Mac G4 MDD Halo project Dreamonoid PowerPC Macs 3 Apr 4, 2013 01:47 PM
10.7.5 made Trine 2 (The Game) unplayable. Chastepe Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Sep 20, 2012 07:38 PM
Handbrake - mpv file unplayable. Callum Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 1, 2012 12:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC