Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:57 PM   #1
Vgonman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
Gigabit LAN problem?

I have a Mid 2010 Mac Mini that I just installed a new HDD (1TB) and did a fresh install of 10.8.2 onto it (old drive has 10.6.8). One thing I noticed with the new install is that network transfer speeds (from Mini thru gigabit switch to gigabit equipped NAS) are slow compared to 10.6.8.

I just did some poking around in the System Info window on "About This Mac", and noticed that it says "Media Subtype: 100base TX". When I manually try to force it to 1000baseT (gigabit), the Mac acts like the LAN cable is unplugged.

Anybody know what's going on, and how to get the full speed out of my NIC on 10.8.2?
Vgonman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 11:55 PM   #2
prisstratton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vgonman View Post
I have a Mid 2010 Mac Mini that I just installed a new HDD (1TB) and did a fresh install of 10.8.2 onto it (old drive has 10.6.8). One thing I noticed with the new install is that network transfer speeds (from Mini thru gigabit switch to gigabit equipped NAS) are slow compared to 10.6.8.

I just did some poking around in the System Info window on "About This Mac", and noticed that it says "Media Subtype: 100base TX". When I manually try to force it to 1000baseT (gigabit), the Mac acts like the LAN cable is unplugged.

Anybody know what's going on, and how to get the full speed out of my NIC on 10.8.2?
Are you using CAT 5E or CAT 6 cable ??
__________________
 17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.3 GHz i7 Quad, 16GB DDR3, Intel 520 240GB SSD
prisstratton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:06 AM   #3
Vgonman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
It's CAT 5e...

But the only things that changed were the HDD and the OS. I was getting gigabit with 10.6.8, but not 10.8.2, with the same cable.
Vgonman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:07 AM   #4
prisstratton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vgonman View Post
It's CAT 5e...

But the only things that changed were the HDD and the OS. I was getting gigabit with 10.6.8, but not 10.8.2, with the same cable.
....figured that might be the case, I was hoping it might be something simple.
__________________
 17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.3 GHz i7 Quad, 16GB DDR3, Intel 520 240GB SSD
prisstratton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 03:46 AM   #5
nancyfromafrica
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Johannesburg
cat 5 cable could be the source of data loss
__________________
still waiting to buy an iPhone 5
nancyfromafrica is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem With LAN In Games Rocket Mole MacBook Pro 10 May 27, 2014 04:02 PM
Always prefer Gigabit Ethernet LAN used as WIFI in winter.. Teddymama Mac Peripherals 12 Dec 11, 2013 01:30 AM
Home LAN: Ethernet over Power Networking problem rkv Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 10 Oct 11, 2013 01:07 PM
Dual Gigabit Speed with two Gigabit Ports? eyepea OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Mar 21, 2013 03:46 PM
TB gigabit Ethernet vs USB gigabit Ethernet? Lax1085 Mac Peripherals 8 Aug 2, 2012 12:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC