Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:49 AM   #1
gmh1004
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Help to copy hdd to put in new iMac later

Hello. I have a five year old iMac (the one that came out after the white one) and will be getting a new iMac when released. Here's the problem: My daughter is visiting from 3,000 miles away and would like to take the old iMac with her when she flies back in two days so I need to copy or clone my old hard drive (including software) so I can transfer to my new computer when it comes in (getting 27" model).

I went to best buy and bought Seagate Backup Plus for Mac but realized later that it just backs up data and not software. I have not yet opened the box.

Is there an easy way to do what I want for the technically challenged?

If I end up having to ship the old one to her if I cannot easily do what I've outlined, what is the best way to pack an iMac so it doesn't get damaged during shipping? I have never shipped or received a used computer before. I will call UPS in the morning and ask if they can box it up for me. If they can then no problem, but if they can't?

My old iMac runs Leopard.

Last edited by gmh1004; Nov 28, 2012 at 01:03 AM. Reason: My old iMac runs Mac OS X, version 10.5.8.
gmh1004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:53 AM   #2
spork183
macrumors 6502a
 
spork183's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmh1004 View Post
Hello. I have a five year old iMac (the one that came out after the white one) and will be getting a new iMac when released. Here's the problem: My daughter is visiting from 3,000 miles away and would like to take the old iMac with her when she flies back in two days so I need to copy or clone my old hard drive (including software) so I can transfer to my new computer when it comes in (getting 27" model).

I went to best buy and bought Seagate Backup Plus for Mac but realized later that it just backs up data and not software. I have not yet opened the box.

Is there an easy way to do what I want for the technically challenged?

If I end up having to ship the old one to her if I cannot easily do what I've outlined, what is the best way to pack an iMac so it doesn't get damaged during shipping? I have never shipped or received a used computer before. I will call UPS in the morning and ask if they can box it up for me. If they can then no problem, but if they can't?

My old iMac runs Leopard.
If you use CarbonCopyCloner or SuperDuper!, you can make a bootable clone of your imac drive using an external firewire drive. You should be able to use that as your import source to your new iMac. However, the new iMac won't be able to boot off it...
__________________
"I'll buy almost anything if it's shiny and made by Apple..."
-Macbook Wheel Ad
spork183 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:58 AM   #3
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmh1004 View Post
I went to best buy and bought Seagate Backup Plus for Mac but realized later that it just backs up data and not software. I have not yet opened the box.

Is there an easy way to do what I want for the technically challenged?
Carbon Copy Cloner 3.5.1 ($40) or 3.4.6 (free) will create a bootable clone of your drive that you can use to restore data, apps and OS X to another drive.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:29 AM   #4
gmh1004
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Thanks to both of my responders. Do I have to clone my OS using CCC or SuperDuper. Wouldn't that be a problem when I transferred to my new iMac with a newer OS?

Also, I got a USB external hard drive as I understood the new iMac will not have FireWire.
gmh1004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:41 AM   #5
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
You can back up your data + software using Time Machine. Any USB drive will work for Time Machine. You will have to format it first using "Drive Utility" which is already on your iMac.

When you get your new iMac... it will have Mountain Lion pre-installed. At first boot... you can specify that you want to restore from a backup.

You may need to re-enter the license codes for some of your software applications.

Once your new Mac is restored... you can use the external USB drive to keep backing up your new iMac.

Personally... I would back up the old machine to two separate externals. Drives are cheap and my data is valuable. I never want my data on just one device. Not even temporarily.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:57 AM   #6
gmh1004
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Smile I appreciate all of your responses.

I'm watching a video now on CCC and then will research Time Machine. I know this should be easy.
gmh1004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 03:01 AM   #7
dangerly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Hello,
I migrated from my MBP to a iMac a couple of days ago, done using a Time Machine backup. Everything went smooth, only thing I had to reinstall were the drivers of a Samsung Laser all in one.
Everything else was just like it was on the old computer (settings, applications, documents, etc. etc.).
Time Machine works just fine.
dangerly is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital copy of old dvd to put on ipad Caithsith iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Dec 22, 2013 11:52 AM
4 TB HDD to put in External Enclosure? Cyndane Buying Tips and Advice 12 Apr 9, 2013 01:10 PM
How to put secondary hdd to sleep? Lolito MacBook Pro 5 Mar 24, 2013 08:28 AM
iMac with SSD & HDD - where to put iPhoto library? icemantx iMac 3 Feb 5, 2013 10:07 PM
Would it be worth it to put in another HDD? ThinkCreative MacBook Pro 8 Jan 25, 2013 06:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC