Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2011, 06:28 AM   #26
cookiesnfooty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wilmslow
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Certinfy View Post
Doesn't giffgaff's iPhone guide say to have it on that in the first place? What did you have it as before?
I think you missed the whole point in this thread? The idea was that the username be changed to bypass or did you completely miss that, lol?
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB White, Macbook pro 2011 16GB RAM & 1.02TB SSD RAID.

"I miss you Steve"....
cookiesnfooty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2011, 03:36 PM   #27
kendo88
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Coventry
Would be good if this could work with Tesco. Tried some combinations but it doesn't work.

Would also love to activate tethering. Also doesnt seem possible with Tesco
kendo88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2011, 04:02 PM   #28
kendo88
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Coventry
It actually does work on Tesco. Just change username to bypass.

Not sure if it did anything for me. I can put absolutely anything in the username box and it still works!
kendo88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2012, 01:11 PM   #29
reclusive46
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendo88 View Post
Would be good if this could work with Tesco. Tried some combinations but it doesn't work.

Would also love to activate tethering. Also doesnt seem possible with Tesco
From what I've gathered Tesco don't even seem to have access to their own carrier profile when I was speaking to someone who works their. They actually have to ask O2 to change anything.
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 08:26 AM   #30
SL4VE
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
i have just gone over my o2 internets limit and used this and no slow down. kinda gives you unlimited internet too without slowdown!!!
SL4VE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 09:33 AM   #31
Woomy123
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL4VE View Post
i have just gone over my o2 internets limit and used this and no slow down. kinda gives you unlimited internet too without slowdown!!!
might have to try this coz i go over before and the slow down speeds are just unusable!
__________________
Macbook Pro 13, 2.8 GHz, 4GB RAM, 750GB HD, iMac 21.5, 3.06GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD, iPhone 5s 16GB, iPad mini 32GB
Woomy123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:19 AM   #32
Grayburn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
'The following download is not available'...on both links
__________________
iPhne 5 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:45 AM   #33
Frenchjay
macrumors 68000
 
Frenchjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
This Changes nothing for me on GiffGaff. Installed the Carrier file and did a hard reset, nothing changed. DL and UL speed exactly the same

I got better speeds on Vodafone but GiffGaff is well worth it for the money
__________________
"stay hungry, stay foolish"
Steve Jobs 
Frenchjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:57 AM   #34
Grayburn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
Got it installed and i'm just rebooting now, what does the apn icon do?
__________________
iPhne 5 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:18 AM   #35
reclusive46
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
This should only work on O2 not on any of the MVNOS
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 08:26 PM   #36
dspalton
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Seams to be slower for me

3.19mbps before
1.77mbps after

Dave
__________________
RecycleMyOldMobile -> Get yourself CASH for your old iPads & iPhones & Donate to Charity!
OR Donate your old mobiles to Charity -> Farnham & Wey Valley Cats Protection for an envelope
dspalton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 08:27 PM   #37
Woomy123
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A406 Safari/7534.48.3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayburn
'The following download is not available'...on both links
You need to download the file on a 3G connection disconnect from wifi
__________________
Macbook Pro 13, 2.8 GHz, 4GB RAM, 750GB HD, iMac 21.5, 3.06GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD, iPhone 5s 16GB, iPad mini 32GB

Last edited by Woomy123; Feb 16, 2012 at 08:28 PM.
Woomy123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 02:48 AM   #38
Grayburn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woomy123 View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A406 Safari/7534.48.3)



You need to download the file on a 3G connection disconnect from wifi
I was mate, I download the file on my PC and re-uploaded it to Mediafire and installed it that way.

Rapidshare obviously were having problems.
__________________
iPhne 5 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 01:18 PM   #39
MyRomeo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Shame there isn't this for giffgaff. That said I regularly get 4-5mb with them anyway, uploads of 2.5ish, faster than my Adsl!
MyRomeo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 02:25 PM   #40
SL4VE
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
just go into the network settings to mobile where it says idata on the 1st line. thats the only change i noticed. which is a non iPhone server or a non iPhone tariff server. i used the use this when i had a contract but not a iPhone contract if that makes sense.
SL4VE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 10:01 AM   #41
yellowbunny
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thanks so much for this!

Works great and still allows tethering.
yellowbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 11:41 AM   #42
d123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE England
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeegieMac View Post
Sorry, I'm slightly skeptical. Why should we trust someone enough to download carrier settings files, especially from a source "unlockit.co.nz". This isn't even a UK source, nor has it come from O2 officially. If O2 offer this at no extra cost, then surely I can phone O2 and request the settings be sent to my phone?

Sorry again, but I take my privacy very seriously and I'm not installing some plug in from God knows where onto my iPhone to get faster 3G data speeds, unless I know just how legit and genuine the source is.
That website has been around since the 3G launched. If you navigate to the site itself you can make your own carrier profile.
d123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 01:55 PM   #43
davehutch
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Croxley, Herts
What happens if you're using Onavo?
davehutch is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:08 PM   #44
reclusive46
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehutch View Post
What happens if you're using Onavo?
No, sorry.
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 11:09 PM   #45
dspalton
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
That's up for me from about 4.5mpbs

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	199.8 KB
ID:	370767  
dspalton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 02:42 PM   #46
reclusive46
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Just a reminder for all those people who have used this before on O2. The updates to iOS 6 will have reset this, so you will need to do the same thing again.
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Tags
3g speed, data, iphone, o2-uk, united kingdom

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
O2 UK now show which areas have 900mhz coverage! Risco iPhone 1 Nov 4, 2011 08:49 PM
Terrible 3G speeds in Utah ViperDesign iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Mar 21, 2011 01:38 PM
UK O2 iPhone Users - CHECK YOUR CURRENT BILLS! NightFox iPhone 3 Sep 24, 2009 12:24 PM
O2 uk users - Are you upgrading tomorrow from iPhone 3G? phildexter iPhone 30 Jun 18, 2009 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC