Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:18 AM   #1
Xgm541
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
COD Black Ops 2 via Bootcamp on MBP Retina

Has anyone played the game yet via bootcamp? How's your performance?
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:10 AM   #2
Xgm541
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Anyone?
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:14 AM   #3
locoboi187
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Do it and let us know lmao. I have the game, never installed it. I have my Windows 8 and Windows 7 USB drive, never installed it. I'll get to it eventually after school work
locoboi187 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:52 PM   #4
Xgm541
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
See that's the thing. I have windows 8 and installed call of duty via steam. It plays on Mac settings at "retina" resolution but the fps is around 20-30.

It's easy to get it to 60 by lowering settings but for some reason there are hiccups making the fps dip and making multiplayer unplayable. Was wondering if anyone had similar issues.
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:57 PM   #5
KyleYDG
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fort Worth TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xgm541 View Post
See that's the thing. I have windows 8 and installed call of duty via steam. It plays on Mac settings at "retina" resolution but the fps is around 20-30.

It's easy to get it to 60 by lowering settings but for some reason there are hiccups making the fps dip and making multiplayer unplayable. Was wondering if anyone had similar issues.
I don't play call of duty anymore but I know on the steam forum someone else posted a video of the performance and it was between 30-40 fps on medium/low spec settings. There's also been a lot of people having problems with nvidia cards and black ops 2 though so I wouldn't be surprised to see a driver update or a game update soon to resolve it since the game is essentially the same graphically as all the others have been since MW2 there's no reason we shouldn't see similar performance.
KyleYDG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:58 PM   #6
Xgm541
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Thank you for the information
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 04:01 PM   #7
locoboi187
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Go to Windows 7. There is NO increase in game performance with Windows 8 according to benchmarks. Windows 7 is well supported on Macs right now without any driver issues so I suggest sticking with Windows 7 for now. Also, I'd say play at 1920x1080. You'll be fine haha
locoboi187 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 06:32 PM   #8
locoboi187
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
My FPS sucks. 20 on all low..this isnt normal and my I reset my SMC.
locoboi187 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:31 AM   #9
Mikedkr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Playing at 1920x1080 with 70-100 FPS, Shadows Medium, AA OFF.

might set texture filtering High and try to put Shadows OFF or Low and see if i still can get around 60+ FPS
__________________
2012 rMBP 2.6ghz/16GB/512gb - 2011 MBP13 2.3ghz/8GB/320gb - iPhone 4 - iPhone 3G - iPod Nano 6G - iPhone 5 - iPhone 6
Mikedkr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 09:21 AM   #10
locoboi187
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Mine was a clean install of Windows 7. Curious are you running x86 or x64 version of the OS?
locoboi187 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 09:30 AM   #11
Xenn0X
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by locoboi187 View Post
Mine was a clean install of Windows 7. Curious are you running x86 or x64 version of the OS?
do you use bootcamp nvidia driver or latest beta with black ops 2 support?
__________________
iPhone 4GS 16GB iPad Mini 16GB 3G Macbook Pro 15 Retina 16GB ram 512GB SSD Thunderbolt Display 27 Inch. TV2
Xenn0X is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 12:57 PM   #12
locoboi187
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenn0X View Post
do you use bootcamp nvidia driver or latest beta with black ops 2 support?
I didn't get the beta drivers but i shall do that probably lmao. i downloaded the latest stable from nvidia, not the beta.
locoboi187 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:06 PM   #13
Mikedkr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I'm running 64bit Windows 7 and 306.97 Nvidia drivers
__________________
2012 rMBP 2.6ghz/16GB/512gb - 2011 MBP13 2.3ghz/8GB/320gb - iPhone 4 - iPhone 3G - iPod Nano 6G - iPhone 5 - iPhone 6
Mikedkr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:15 PM   #14
yanksrock100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego
Found this on youtube, thought you guys might like to see.
__________________
Current 13" Macbook Air (Mid 2012); Nexus 5
Check Out My YouTube Videos! (Mac, iPod, and Android) youtube.com/yanksrock1000
yanksrock100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 12:25 PM   #15
Xgm541
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
FYI downloading the beta nvidia drivers fixed the issue for the most part.
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 03:29 PM   #16
joer80
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
The patch they just release did wonders for my retina. Here is my youtube video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqdocPooeag

I am using 1680x1050 since it is 5:3, and high shadows with 4x aa. I am getting 45-60 fps, but I can go to 2x aa and get 60-70 fps with high shadows.

I bet they had only 1 cpu core on or something silly like that at launch, because these settings would have gave about 15-20 fps just a week ago. At launch I had to play at 1280x800.
joer80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:04 PM   #17
snapdragonx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Yep I can confirm it's easily playable.

Using 310.54 beta drivers, 1920x1080, high textures/shadows, etc, 2x AA, I'm getting 40-70FPS. 40 in the very intense battle scenes but usually closer to 70.

Temps are ok too.. GPU doesn't go above 80, CPU sitting around 60. The fan is going nuts though lol.
snapdragonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 08:10 AM   #18
joer80
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by snapdragonx View Post
Yep I can confirm it's easily playable.

Using 310.54 beta drivers, 1920x1080, high textures/shadows, etc, 2x AA, I'm getting 40-70FPS. 40 in the very intense battle scenes but usually closer to 70.

Temps are ok too.. GPU doesn't go above 80, CPU sitting around 60. The fan is going nuts though lol.
Isnt that 16:9? Why don't you choose 5:3?
joer80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 05:56 AM   #19
level30
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Lightbulb Solution for low fps

Hi,

Iīm from Austria so sorry for my shool english. (long time ago:-))
A lot of grammatical errors >> have fun!

I had the issue that i cant play BO 2 @ 1680x1050 with more than 18 fps all setting medium.

I have installed windows via bootcamp 3 times and always the same issue.

Everybody who have the same problem here>> all you have to do is the "SMC-reset"

Dont know how to do that? Just plug in your macbook to your power supply an turn it off! Push together left shift, left ctrl an right alt. Hold it and turn on your macbook>> voila 60 fps again.

It seems that this is a bug and i donīt know to fix it permanently. Maybe the issue will come back if you use the standby/sleep option>> i have no idea.

have fun!

markus
level30 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:04 PM   #20
snapdragonx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by joer80 View Post
Isnt that 16:9? Why don't you choose 5:3?
Because I'm using an external display.

What's the benfit of 5:3?
snapdragonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:08 PM   #21
theineffablebob
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Runs fine at 1080p, high settings. I'd say an avg of 45 fps.
theineffablebob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:51 PM   #22
BlueRaider
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I've been playing via Bootcamp/Windows 8 at both "Retina" resolution and 1920x1200 and it's really smooth at either setting. I did have some problems a while back (after the EFI update) where the frame rates were awful. I checked my GPU with Cinebench and I was getting like 16Fps via Cinebench. I ended up resetting SMC and my FPS in Black Ops improved dramatically and my Cinebench score went back up to 48Fps.

I would check via a GPU benchmark what your scores are now. Reset SMC if they seem low. I think other people have had to reset a few times to get it to finally work
__________________
2012 15" Retina MacBook Pro 2.6Ghz i7
iPad 3 16GB Verizon 4G
iPhone 3G, 3GS (Old BootROM), 4, & 4S
AppleTv 2
BlueRaider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:00 PM   #23
Xgm541
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by theineffablebob View Post
Runs fine at 1080p, high settings. I'd say an avg of 45 fps.
And fps isn't playable at 45fps . at least not In my opinion. I need 60!!
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:49 AM   #24
Xenn0X
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
i play on external monitor on 1920x1080.
Details: Extra
Shadows: off
MSAA: 2x
HBOA: off
FXAA: on
Occlusion: Medium
Dept of field: Medium
fps: always 70+

Perfectly playable in bootcamp with windows 7 and latest nvidia beta driver
__________________
iPhone 4GS 16GB iPad Mini 16GB 3G Macbook Pro 15 Retina 16GB ram 512GB SSD Thunderbolt Display 27 Inch. TV2

Last edited by Xenn0X; Nov 30, 2012 at 03:50 PM.
Xenn0X is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:53 PM   #25
2Turbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenn0X View Post
i play on external monitor on 1920x1080.
Details: Extra
Shadows: off
MSAA: 2x
HBOA: off
FXAA: on
Occlusion: Medium
Dept of field: Medium
fps: always 70+

Perfectly playable in bootcamp with windows 7 and latest nvidia beta driver
Just confirming, was that Black Ops 2? Did you overclock?
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD Black Ops on 2013 MBA mrjohnnyglass MacBook Air 3 Nov 22, 2013 02:25 PM
CoD Black Ops for Mac announced! El Awesome Mac and PC Games 67 Jul 15, 2013 04:45 AM
OS X: Alter FOV in COD: Black ops (MAS)? bkar89 Mac and PC Games 0 Jun 22, 2013 07:41 AM
COD-Black Ops Game Center Help! FancyPantsMan Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Dec 22, 2012 01:38 PM
CoD Black Ops Released! macgames Mac and PC Games 12 Sep 28, 2012 05:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC