Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:22 PM   #1
dadgadder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Disc tray won't open

My mac G5 has reached harddrive failure and i'm going to install a new one
but I can't get the disc tray to open.

Does anyone know how to remedy this? f12 isn't doing it.

D
dadgadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:43 PM   #2
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Does the eject icon appear on the screen? Is the metal part blocking the tray? Is there something behind the metal part, potentially right up against the tray? Does it make a noise when you hit F12?
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:46 PM   #3
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
With the machine off, plug in a mouse. Press the left mouse button on the mouse and turn on the machine. Keep holding the mouse button down until the disc tray ejects.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 03:22 PM   #4
dadgadder
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
Does the eject icon appear on the screen? Is the metal part blocking the tray? Is there something behind the metal part, potentially right up against the tray? Does it make a noise when you hit F12?
No to everything except the the third question. I will check when i get home.(I'm using a computer somewhere other than home)

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
With the machine off, plug in a mouse. Press the left mouse button on the mouse and turn on the machine. Keep holding the mouse button down until the disc tray ejects.
I'll give it a try when i get home.

Thanx
dadgadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 09:05 PM   #5
stroked
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
The terminal command has worked for me.

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-10333570-263.html
stroked is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC