Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 1, 2012, 05:37 PM   #1
axi0m
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Do you need to have Fusion installed in order to use the upgrade to Parallels 8 ?

I lost my fusion cd but have my fusion serial and after entering it on the parallels site it qualifies me for the reduced price. Though it does say "Upgrade to Parallels 8". Would I still need to have Fusion actually installed on the machine in order to install this download ?
axi0m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 08:16 PM   #2
axi0m
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Anyone, surely their have been plenty of people here who have used the upgrade from Fusion discount option ?
axi0m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 10:33 PM   #3
vastoholic
macrumors 68000
 
vastoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK
I guess I'm more confused as to why you're mentioning Fusion and Parallel's like they are the same product. VMWare Fusion is on 5.0 something right now and I only know that because it's what I use. I'm not sure what your talking about with Parallel 8 in regards to Fusion.

And to try and actually answer the question, if you're downloading an update only, then yes you would probably need the original program installed. If you're able to download the entire new program then you shouldn't need it installed.
__________________
View my flickr sets....if you want. They're not too exciting.
vastoholic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 12:41 AM   #4
axi0m
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Epic face palm! Google: Parallels Fusion upgrade.
axi0m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 12:51 AM   #5
vastoholic
macrumors 68000
 
vastoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK
Quote:
Originally Posted by axi0m View Post
Epic face palm! Google: Parallels Fusion upgrade.
Well **** me, I didn't know they were running the special. I kept wondering why you were always switching names. Well I'm a tard for the evening.
__________________
View my flickr sets....if you want. They're not too exciting.
vastoholic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 05:47 AM   #6
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
OP, perhaps you should have mentioned that parallels is offering a competitive upgrade. In any event you only need the serial number. People can buy VMware Fusion without a disk now, so there will not be any mechanism within parallels to valdate against a disk. It will look for vmware on your drive, if its install you're good to go
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:57 AM   #7
axi0m
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
OP, perhaps you should have mentioned that parallels is offering a competitive upgrade. In any event you only need the serial number. People can buy VMware Fusion without a disk now, so there will not be any mechanism within parallels to valdate against a disk. It will look for vmware on your drive, if its install you're good to go
Ok, so it will check if vmware fusion is installed, even after parallels accepted the serial and let me download the upgrade. I wasn't asking if it would check against physical media but was inquiring if it would check if I have fusion installed in applications.
axi0m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:27 PM   #8
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
It will look for vmware on your drive, if its install you're good to go
Is this based on first hand experience? I'm just asking because I recently purchased the Fusion competitive upgrade. The Parallels serial was verified at purchase but the Fusion installer never checked for an existing Parallels install.

Quote:
Originally Posted by axi0m View Post
Anyone, surely their have been plenty of people here who have used the upgrade from Fusion discount option ?
http://guides.macrumors.com/Help:Forum_Rules
Quote:
Bumps. Posts that bring a thread to the top of the New Posts list but add no content to the thread (bumps) are not permitted. This applies not only to posts that say "bump" but to those with the intent to bump, e.g. posts saying "anyone?" or the equivalent. See why and how to avoid bumping
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 04:58 PM   #9
axi0m
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by takeshi74 View Post
Is this based on first hand experience? I'm just asking because I recently purchased the Fusion competitive upgrade. The Parallels serial was verified at purchase but the Fusion installer never checked for an existing Parallels install.


http://guides.macrumors.com/Help:Forum_Rules
Hmm, ok. So when using the Parallels to Fusion upgrade offer that vmware provides Fusion upgrade does not check if parallels is installed. I would think parallels would also not a give a stuff if Fusion was installed once the serial has been verified but someone with first hand experience would definitely put those doubts to rest.

As per the bump rules I didn't know. That being said I believe one bump should be allowed per post should the user feel the urgency to do so. For instance it's almost a certainty that this thread would have had no replies now if it were not bumped and made it to page 2.
axi0m is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VM Fusion to Parallels 9? GIZBUG Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Feb 16, 2014 04:58 AM
Windows 7 installed. Add Fusion or Parallels? Communicator Mac Applications and Mac App Store 16 Jul 30, 2013 10:38 AM
Parallels or Fusion? tristanjesus Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 21, 2013 05:24 AM
Which is better, Parallels or Fusion? jwoodfin2012 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 15 Jul 18, 2013 07:02 PM
Parallels or VM Fusion 5 or ? ApplNat Mac Applications and Mac App Store 11 Jun 20, 2013 11:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC