Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2011, 04:29 AM   #1
awoodenboc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Call of Duty 4 poor performance on MBP

Macbook Pro 2011 with Mac OS X Lion
2.8GHz dual-core Intel Core i7
4GB 1333MHz RAM
750GB 5400-rpm1
Intel HD Graphics 3000


Basically I installed Aspyr's version on Mac OS X and it wasn't that bad - all low settings, I got around 80-125 fps.

Everyone was telling me it's gonna be great in Windows, so I boot camped and installed Windows 7, put a Call of Duty 4 on it, installed boot camp mac drivers and with the same configuration, I got around the same fps (80-125). Everyone was telling me in Windows it's gonna be much higher. I have also seen having 125 fps on at least mid settings on macbook air.

Is there something I am missing? Do I need to do anything before so it will run better?

Thanks
awoodenboc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 04:54 AM   #2
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Nothing you can do about it, your graphics card (Intel HD 3000) is utterly medicore. You can't game on any 13" Mac laptop, except for Pacman.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 01:40 PM   #3
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
That isn't true, but the HD 3000 really isn't good for gaming. If you're looking to play a lot of FPS games, you really should have sprung for an MBP or a gaming PC.
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 09:21 PM   #4
Killery96
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by awoodenboc View Post
Macbook Pro 2011 with Mac OS X Lion
2.8GHz dual-core Intel Core i7
4GB 1333MHz RAM
750GB 5400-rpm1
Intel HD Graphics 3000


Basically I installed Aspyr's version on Mac OS X and it wasn't that bad - all low settings, I got around 80-125 fps.

Everyone was telling me it's gonna be great in Windows, so I boot camped and installed Windows 7, put a Call of Duty 4 on it, installed boot camp mac drivers and with the same configuration, I got around the same fps (80-125). Everyone was telling me in Windows it's gonna be much higher. I have also seen having 125 fps on at least mid settings on macbook air.

Is there something I am missing? Do I need to do anything before so it will run better?

Thanks
I think that the Mac port of CoD4 was really well done. I play it on mac, rather than W7, on which I have several other games that I play. There should be very little performance difference anyways. If you think 80-125 FPS is too low, well then you must think you can see at the framerate of a humming bird cause the human eye doesn't see above 30 FPS. 60 is the max. Turn up the eye candy if you're getting more.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2017, iXS3 7.84Ghz 6-Core, 16G DDR4X (4x4), Nvidia K340X w/3.5GB GDDR5, 1.512Tb SSD
Killery96 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 09:47 PM   #5
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killery96 View Post
I think that the Mac port of CoD4 was really well done.
Agreed.

Quote:
If you think 80-125 FPS is too low, well then you must think you can see at the framerate of a humming bird cause the human eye doesn't see above 30 FPS. 60 is the max. Turn up the eye candy if you're getting more.
There's a difference between real life vision and the refresh rates of graphics, i.e. you cna certainly tell the difference between and 50Hz and 100Hz TV.

And to get 100+ FPS on that laptop with that game... must be running at 640x480 with every single bit of eye candy turned off.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2011, 10:34 AM   #6
Killery96
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethryn Freyman View Post
Agreed.


There's a difference between real life vision and the refresh rates of graphics, i.e. you cna certainly tell the difference between and 50Hz and 100Hz TV.

And to get 100+ FPS on that laptop with that game... must be running at 640x480 with every single bit of eye candy turned off.
I get what you're saying, and CoD4 at 30fps looks choppy, but really, above 40 is just fine and looks pretty smooth if it's consistent.

Well that's not true... I had all textures Extra, and everything else on 800x600 on my 2009 13" macbook pro, and mine never dropped below 80 except on airstrikes, it went to 50ish...
__________________
Macbook Pro 2017, iXS3 7.84Ghz 6-Core, 16G DDR4X (4x4), Nvidia K340X w/3.5GB GDDR5, 1.512Tb SSD

Last edited by Killery96; Nov 13, 2011 at 10:35 AM. Reason: forgot something
Killery96 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2011, 12:13 PM   #7
mike34
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
hey dude go to options go to graphics and then press the butoon which says 640*420(something like that) and rich to the higher point and there you go.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by awoodenboc View Post
Macbook Pro 2011 with Mac OS X Lion
2.8GHz dual-core Intel Core i7
4GB 1333MHz RAM
750GB 5400-rpm1
Intel HD Graphics 3000


Basically I installed Aspyr's version on Mac OS X and it wasn't that bad - all low settings, I got around 80-125 fps.

Everyone was telling me it's gonna be great in Windows, so I boot camped and installed Windows 7, put a Call of Duty 4 on it, installed boot camp mac drivers and with the same configuration, I got around the same fps (80-125). Everyone was telling me in Windows it's gonna be much higher. I have also seen having 125 fps on at least mid settings on macbook air.

Is there something I am missing? Do I need to do anything before so it will run better?

Thanks
mike34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 05:02 PM   #8
Troy2000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killery96 View Post
the human eye doesn't see above 30 FPS. 60 is the max.
Incorrect. Tests have shown the upper limit of our perception to be in excess of 220fps.

With regard to the Call of Duty 4 OS X port, I have also found performance to be rather poor compared with its Windows counterpart. Despite running it on an 8-core Mac Pro with 5870, I still experience frequent dips into the mid '20s. While under Bootcamp, I can comfortably run Black Ops at 2560x1440 and remain locked at 60.
Troy2000 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 11:10 AM   #9
gregmartin64
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manchester
The Applestore says that COD4 won't run on intel intergrated graphics cards, so how have you got it to work with you INTEL 3000? I thought that was a integrated card like on my mini mac?
gregmartin64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 11:48 AM   #10
SlickShoes
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregmartin64 View Post
The Applestore says that COD4 won't run on intel intergrated graphics cards, so how have you got it to work with you INTEL 3000? I thought that was a integrated card like on my mini mac?
It refers to the intel cards around when the game was in its heyday, so the Intel GMA 945 i think it was called and such cards.

Generally integrated cards are not supported but many of them still run the game, it just depends what sacrifices you as the user are willing to make to get it playable.
SlickShoes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 02:28 PM   #11
gregmartin64
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
It refers to the intel cards around when the game was in its heyday, so the Intel GMA 945 i think it was called and such cards.

Generally integrated cards are not supported but many of them still run the game, it just depends what sacrifices you as the user are willing to make to get it playable.
Thanks, that's interesting to know. I might give it ago at some point. I'm new to the MAC world, so I wasn't aware of the history in this regard.
gregmartin64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:07 AM   #12
vtrikoupis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Belgium
Bootcamp Cod4 Retina MBP

Hey guys, saw this thread and I was glad people were having the same issues as I am.. Anyway, straight to the point

As the title reveals, I got a few days ago my MBP with retina display
I have installed windows over bootcamp and I installed cod4, mw1 and mw3

Having set everything to ultra high I got 32 fps which was strange, as I should be getting full (250)

Then i checked mw3 on ultra high, and i was getting around 70.

That being said, I checked my drivers to make sure that the GT 650M was on working and not the HD 4000, and yes the GT 650M is the one working, and it has the latest drivers.

No matter what cfg I change, com_maxfps 0, 125, 250, changing from resolutions from 2880x1800 to 640x480, the frame rate is "capped" at 32 fps

Is there anyone that has had similar problems in the past?

(I am aware that cod4 is available on Mac through Aspyr and the App Store, but since I purchased the game for my PC, I'd like to give it a shot without spending $39.99, leaving that as my last resort)

Thanks


________________________________________________________

Edit: Thinking it wouldn't make a great difference, I hooked up my magsafe and it shot up to 60fps, steady. It's capped there now. Would this be because of the screen refresh rate (60Hz)? If so, can this be changed?

Last edited by vtrikoupis; Jul 30, 2012 at 11:13 AM. Reason: Something new came up
vtrikoupis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2012, 12:23 AM   #13
jason221
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtrikoupis View Post
Hey guys, saw this thread and I was glad people were having the same issues as I am.. Anyway, straight to the point

As the title reveals, I got a few days ago my MBP with retina display
I have installed windows over bootcamp and I installed cod4, mw1 and mw3

Having set everything to ultra high I got 32 fps which was strange, as I should be getting full (250)

Then i checked mw3 on ultra high, and i was getting around 70.

That being said, I checked my drivers to make sure that the GT 650M was on working and not the HD 4000, and yes the GT 650M is the one working, and it has the latest drivers.

No matter what cfg I change, com_maxfps 0, 125, 250, changing from resolutions from 2880x1800 to 640x480, the frame rate is "capped" at 32 fps

Is there anyone that has had similar problems in the past?

(I am aware that cod4 is available on Mac through Aspyr and the App Store, but since I purchased the game for my PC, I'd like to give it a shot without spending $39.99, leaving that as my last resort)

Thanks


________________________________________________________

Edit: Thinking it wouldn't make a great difference, I hooked up my magsafe and it shot up to 60fps, steady. It's capped there now. Would this be because of the screen refresh rate (60Hz)? If so, can this be changed?
Write /com_maxfps 125 and /cg_drawfps 1 in the console while you are playing (press the ~ key). If it's constantly stuck at a certain (low) fps, that means a certain setting is causing it. Go to Options and turn off Sync Every Frame if it is on. That should fix it if it is capped at 60.
__________________
Early 2011 15" MacBook Pro 32GB White iPad 3 16GB Black/Slate iPhone 5
jason221 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:39 PM   #14
ynwa1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Game performance under windows 7 is beter 10 times than any mac os. This is fact. I'm playing many games under win and mac - win is better for gaming.
ynwa1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 09:56 PM   #15
koolmagicguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethryn Freyman View Post
Nothing you can do about it, your graphics card (Intel HD 3000) is utterly medicore. You can't game on any 13" Mac laptop, except for Pacman.
That is complete Horsecrap.
koolmagicguy is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Poor performance on Minecraft (MBP 17" 2011) OleTheBear Mac and PC Games 11 Apr 6, 2014 11:21 PM
Poor 2013 MBP performance Habitus MacBook Pro 10 Mar 9, 2014 06:19 AM
OS-neutral: Which Call of Duty is best? UBS28 Mac and PC Games 11 Feb 17, 2014 06:38 AM
OS X: Poor performance on late 2009 17' MBP for CS:GO n15m0 Mac and PC Games 6 Dec 8, 2013 08:02 PM
OS X: Call of Duty 4 $7.99 Zackmd1 Mac and PC Games 5 Dec 15, 2012 02:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC