Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2012, 09:54 PM   #1
sweetestbaboon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Can I turn on Verizon iPhone 5 without activating it (newbie question)?

Hey everybody,
Thanks for all the great info. here.
I have what may be a stupid question, & if so, I apologize.
I bought my first set of iPhones, an iPhone 5 for my wife for the holidays as well as one for myself & don't want to activate either until I give her hers.
My question is thus:
Can I turn them on to use them, e.g., load photos, wallpaper, use the internet, install apps, etc. without actually activating phone service?
When I bought them, the Verizon guy set up the account to activate at a later date when I guess we call the number to do so.
I'd love to load 'em up so when I give it to her it's all set with cool stuff for her but don't want to activate accidentally.
I hope I explained this well enough.
Thanks in advance for any help.
sweetestbaboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 10:00 PM   #2
Nolander07
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I think you can, just use wifi.
Nolander07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 10:10 PM   #3
sweetestbaboon
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
So, it doesn't automatically activate when turned on?
I thought you had to actually do it manually by calling the Verizon number, but then read something elsewhere to the contrary, so I wanted some smarter-than-me folks here to verify...
sweetestbaboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 01:23 AM   #4
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetestbaboon View Post
So, it doesn't automatically activate when turned on?
I thought you had to actually do it manually by calling the Verizon number, but then read something elsewhere to the contrary, so I wanted some smarter-than-me folks here to verify...
It will activate by itself since the verizon rep Scanned the phone, on setup it will retrieve info from verizon and will activate. I'd suggest you keep it off if you don't want it activated.
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:19 AM   #5
sweetestbaboon
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Okay, now I've gotten two very different answers.
I don't mean to bug ya', but does anyone have a definitive answer on this?
Thanks again!
sweetestbaboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:20 AM   #6
xlost6
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteIphone5 View Post
It will activate by itself since the verizon rep Scanned the phone, on setup it will retrieve info from verizon and will activate. I'd suggest you keep it off if you don't want it activated.
This is the correct answer.
xlost6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:37 AM   #7
Bobby.e
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kansas
It will activate when you turn it on.
Bobby.e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:38 AM   #8
Jtludwig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nolander07 View Post
I think you can, just use wifi.
Incorrect.
Jtludwig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:17 AM   #9
propalitet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetestbaboon View Post
Okay, now I've gotten two very different answers.
I don't mean to bug ya', but does anyone have a definitive answer on this?
Thanks again!
You don't want to activate the phone or the lines?
propalitet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:37 AM   #10
sweetestbaboon
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Thanks, maybe I need to clarify. I want to turn on the phone to load pix & such, but don't want to activate the service or switch it to my current # (currently being used by a "dumb" phone) until the holidaze. Does that kake sense?
Thanks again.
sweetestbaboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 12:48 PM   #11
propalitet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
In that case, I assume you could do it, but you'll need to take out the Verizon sim cards out of the phone and put some other sim cards (t-mobile, straight talk) to activate the phone. Then you could load up stuff, make a backup in itunes (or icloud) and turn off the phones. Then you would put the Verizon sim cards back in.
Then, when the time comes, call verizon to activate the lines (if that works). If not, just restore the phone, activate it with Verizon sims, and restore the phones from those backups you made.
propalitet is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC