Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2012, 06:50 AM   #1
dutkutug
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Where is the "wifi country code" information and Can it be fixed or changed?

Hi to All,

Has anyone searched for any user accessible stored information regarding the mbp airport extreme card's country code with the associated wireless network. I mean where does the information AboutThisMac/MoreInfo/SystemReport/Wifi gui read from? Kernel logs? Airport extreme card's chip?

Ultimately is it possible to reset or fix wifi country code change due to a faulty 802.11d beacon (inaccessible and misconfigured) by using unix style command line tools like _airport or _networksetup.


Thanks.
dutkutug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:33 AM   #2
twintin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sweden
No it is not possible as far as I know. The only way is to changed your router (change setting or buy a new one). If the problem is caused by one of your neighbours routers, changing channel may resolve your issue.

I had a similar issue close to two months ago. My problem was that my router correctly sent SE as country code, but some of my neighbours routers sent GB as country code and from time to time my Air would not connect since it picked up the beacon from one my of neighbours routers. Sometimes event if connected, I still could not reach the internet. Spent a couple of weeks with Apple support and they suggested that I changed the channel of my router (an Airport Extreme Base Station) from Auto to 6 (in Auto ch 11 was used) and since then no more issues with wrong country code being configured.

I have since then sent a suggestion to Apple support to add an option in OS X, so users have better control over the country code usage since there seem to be lot of misconfigured routers out ther (most probably bough in foreign countries with differen country codes). This can cause lot of headaches.

Last edited by twintin; Dec 3, 2012 at 07:40 AM.
twintin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:48 AM   #3
throttlemeister
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by dutkutug View Post
Hi to All,

Has anyone searched for any user accessible stored information regarding the mbp airport extreme card's country code with the associated wireless network. I mean where does the information AboutThisMac/MoreInfo/SystemReport/Wifi gui read from? Kernel logs? Airport extreme card's chip?

Ultimately is it possible to reset or fix wifi country code change due to a faulty 802.11d beacon (inaccessible and misconfigured) by using unix style command line tools like _airport or _networksetup.


Thanks.
The country code is broadcasted by the router/ap afaik, not set by the client.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.93 | 8GB | 120GB OWC Extreme Pro + 320GB/7200rpm | 24" LED Cinema Screen
Macbook Pro Retina 2.7 | 16GB | 512MB Flash | 1TB Crucial SSD external over Thunderbolt
throttlemeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 08:13 AM   #4
dutkutug
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
First of all thank you for fast replies.

Twintin: Exactly the same issue! I have been scanning the wifi networks for almost a week. One of my neighbor has a wireless router misconfigured as "AL". It is not only blocking me (and most probably others) but also violating the frequency space. Unfortunately, I have a netgear n900 (conform to US channels) wireless router that does not offer any beacon interval setting and country/region change. Hence I am stuck at lower channels of 5ghz which in turn leads to range problems.

throttlemeister: I am certainly aware of that and I need to fix my "listening" channels from changing.

Any other thoughts ??
dutkutug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 02:58 PM   #5
twintin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sweden
Have you tried different channel as I suggested ? Worth a try since it worked for me as strange as it msy sound.
twintin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Another device is using this computer's IP address""Shared" user's slowing down Wifi mnya OS X 2 Feb 15, 2014 02:30 PM
Glenn Beck: "I think I played a role unfortunately .. helping tear .. country apart" jnpy!$4g3cwk Politics, Religion, Social Issues 23 Jan 26, 2014 09:11 AM
iTunes Store movie says "HD" quality but information says "SD" chrismarle Buying Tips and Advice 0 Feb 7, 2013 10:52 PM
AppStore:"The code you entered is not recognized as valid code" (or Already Redeemed) sevimli OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 223 Jul 27, 2012 05:50 AM
Some very interesting information about "LQ, robotic" Siri and "normal" Siri... iBreatheApple iOS 6 8 Jun 22, 2012 04:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC