Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2011, 04:29 PM   #1
DTxAg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
"Find My iPod" without Internet Access

Long story short, my kid lost an iPod Touch outside at my in-laws' house. I have a portable router that I have set up with my home network's wireless credentials (which the iPod knows), and I can use my iPhone connected to the "home" network and see that the iPod connects to the network when I'm in the yard. But, I can't get the "Find My iPhone" function to work because I cannot connect the portable router to a wired Internet connection. If I try to sign into "Find My iPhone" from my iPhone, it won't login because it's trying to use the unconnected wireless network instead of 3G. Anybody have any idea how I could make this work? It's supposed to rain soon.
DTxAg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 06:25 PM   #2
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
"Find my ____" is an internet based service. If you can't get online, it's not going to work.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 07:02 PM   #3
DTxAg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
"Find my ____" is an internet based service. If you can't get online, it's not going to work.
Any way to get the iPhone to use 3G to log into FindMyiPhone and then send the ping to the iPod over WiFi?
DTxAg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 08:07 PM   #4
macingman
macrumors 68020
 
macingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTxAg View Post
Any way to get the iPhone to use 3G to log into FindMyiPhone and then send the ping to the iPod over WiFi?
It won't work because the iPod isn't connected to the internet. Why can't you go into the house and look around?
__________________
I am a professional DJ
macingman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 07:15 AM   #5
DTxAg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by macingman View Post
Why can't you go into the house and look around?
Because it's not in the house, it's outside somewhere.
DTxAg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 08:06 AM   #6
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTxAg View Post
Any way to get the iPhone to use 3G to log into FindMyiPhone and then send the ping to the iPod over WiFi?
No, it only works over the internet. You'll have to resort to searching around in the yard manually.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 08:14 AM   #7
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Plus it's ip based location tracking, and not accurate enough to pinpoint it in your yard.

Plus it's probably rained already.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 10:27 AM   #8
KeithJenner
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Plus it's ip based location tracking, and not accurate enough to pinpoint it in your yard.
He could have made it make a noise though, if he could get it onto the internet.

Sorry to the OP at not being able to help with that bit, but I thought I'd point it out as a lot of people don't seem to bother with find my iPod in situations like this because it isn't accurate enough. They forget that you can make it make a noise.
KeithJenner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 11:56 AM   #9
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
If you got a router with amplified antenna you can try. But router has to be connected to the internet.

It'll be more efficient for the kid to retrace his steps and bring a rake.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 01:53 PM   #10
DTxAg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Thanks anyway everyone. I had hoped to use the Find My iPod function to make it sound off, but it's probably soaked by now, so no point.
DTxAg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 03:53 PM   #11
jtara
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTxAg View Post
Thanks anyway everyone. I had hoped to use the Find My iPod function to make it sound off, but it's probably soaked by now, so no point.
Soaked doesn't mean destroyed.

Most electronics can be saved after a dunk.

They key things are:

- Through removing of contaminants. Pure water is NOT conductive, and will not cause shorts either when present or after dried-out. (When still present, pure water can present other problems, particularly in RF circuits, due to the different dielectric properties of water vs. air vs. any porous material the water has saturated.) And pure water isn't going to remain pure for very long once it's splashed off of the ground, and entered the case where there are probably already dry contaminants present. But, of course, rain water is not pure water. This is more of an issue, say, with sea water. If it's taken a dunk in the ocean, it needs to be throughly flushed. Yes, with water. Disassembly is probably required for a proper flush.

So, you need to get rid of any contaminants that were introduced that will conduct between components. As well, some contaminants are corrosive, and the longer they remain, the more likely they are to cause destructive corrosion. You need to get rid of them.

The biggest issue with rain water is likely acidity of the water. Otherwise, I think rainwater is pretty clean. Cleaner than tap water, anyway.

- Throughly drying-out. Put in in a plastic bag full of rice, and/or those packets of desiccant "beads".

"Find my iPhone" works over an Internet connect to Apple's servers. Your computer or iOS device does not talk to the device being "found" directly, but makes a request to Apple's server, which then contacts the device being sought. No Internet, no find.

Last edited by jtara; Nov 7, 2011 at 03:58 PM.
jtara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2011, 12:20 AM   #12
PhatboyNYC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Ugh...so my wife was in Target tonight with my 3 year old son who had my ipod touch with him. He ended up dropping it somewhere in the store and my wife didn't notice until after they left. She went back and looked everywhere with no luck. I was really hoping whoever found it would be kind enough to return it but I guess not.

Really sucks cause I just recently had my ipod touch replaced under warranty and renewed my Applecare for another 2 years.
PhatboyNYC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2011, 04:16 AM   #13
elpmas
macrumors 68000
 
elpmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Where the fresh snow don't go.
Goodluck...use the good ole finding method.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro '10
27" iMac i5
TV3
iPhone 5 32gb
elpmas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 09:24 PM   #14
Tatsuki34
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Lost My iPod

Okay so I have to manually put the Internet Access "NETGEAR" to use on my iPod Touch 4G because it doesn't automatically do it. I lost it and so I used iCloud on it last night, making it connected to the Internet and said that it was in my house upstairs. So I woke up this morning and went to go look for it but it wasn't any where to be seen. So I went on iCloud to make it play the sound for it and said it was offline.
Does that mean it is off of the Internet Access?
Is there any way I can put the Internet Access on my iPod from my Mac?

Please help me!
Tatsuki34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 09:52 PM   #15
Aspasia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Halfway between the Equator and North Pole
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatsuki34 View Post
Okay so I have to manually put the Internet Access "NETGEAR" to use on my iPod Touch 4G because it doesn't automatically do it. I lost it and so I used iCloud on it last night, making it connected to the Internet and said that it was in my house upstairs. So I woke up this morning and went to go look for it but it wasn't any where to be seen. So I went on iCloud to make it play the sound for it and said it was offline.
Does that mean it is off of the Internet Access?
Is there any way I can put the Internet Access on my iPod from my Mac?

Please help me!
It could be offline because the battery is depleted. Sounds like you need to do a room-by-room search, checking under, behind, and in between whatever's in the room and the walls.

Once you find it, try forgetting your network, then add your network name and password in the "other" section, then tell it to renew lease. That might cure it's memory problems with your network.
Aspasia is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBP 15" Retina internet browser "hangs" red321red321 MacBook Pro 0 Aug 14, 2013 12:38 PM
Save "gray scale" and "max contrast" via Universal Access in screen captures NeonKingKong OS X 2 Jun 2, 2013 09:09 PM
How can I stop ipod from defaulting on "on this ipod" page instead of "settings" in i kateharp iPod 1 May 15, 2013 08:18 AM
"Cannot Access Find My Friends" window doesn't go away Jwilldj iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Feb 25, 2013 07:21 AM
[Free] Find Suspect: the new "find the differences" game on your iPhone appsgaga iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Nov 9, 2012 09:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC