Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2012, 04:53 PM   #1
houdinilogic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Max OS for eMac?

i was given an emac and i was wondering if i could upgrade to 10.5.8 on this. I am also planning on buying 2x1gb ram if that helps.
system specs:
1.25 ghz powerpc g4, 1gb memory
houdinilogic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 04:55 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Mac OS X 10.5.8 is the maximum OS for that machine.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:17 PM   #3
zackkmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
I have an eMac 1.42GHz running 10.5.8 and once you use something like xSlimmer to get rid of all the useless Intel stuff it really runs great with the 2GB RAM.
__________________
27" iMac 3.5GHz i7, 780M 4GB, 32GB RAM, 3TB FD
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:27 PM   #4
houdinilogic
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
thanks guys. also what do you mean by useless intel stuff? and by the time i'm done installing everything, i plan on having only a third of my hard drive free (25 gb). would this impact speed at all?
houdinilogic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:39 PM   #5
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by houdinilogic View Post
i was given an emac and i was wondering if i could upgrade to 10.5.8 on this. I am also planning on buying 2x1gb ram if that helps.
system specs:
1.25 ghz powerpc g4, 1gb memory
10.5.8 works great on my iBook. If it's a later model, max out the RAM at 2GB.

I got a 1GB stick from a trusted seller on eBay for $21.99.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:45 PM   #6
76ShovelHead
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by houdinilogic View Post
i was given an emac and i was wondering if i could upgrade to 10.5.8 on this. I am also planning on buying 2x1gb ram if that helps.
system specs:
1.25 ghz powerpc g4, 1gb memory
I can attest to running OS X Leopard (10.5.8) on the exact same spec'd eMac. It my Mom's sole computer, works pretty well. Have yet to upgrade the ram or run XSlimmer, but I hear it will increase performance.
__________________
Haswell i5 3 GHz 8 GB Ram 128 GB SSD Mavericks
76ShovelHead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:55 PM   #7
zackkmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by houdinilogic View Post
thanks guys. also what do you mean by useless intel stuff? and by the time i'm done installing everything, i plan on having only a third of my hard drive free (25 gb). would this impact speed at all?
I don't think that free space would affect speed. But by "useless Intel stuff", I mean that Leopard (10.5) has a lot of files, code, resources, etc. that is in the OS but only applies if your computer is an Intel Mac. This is because Leopard was designed to run on both Intel and PowerPC Macs. Applications like xSlimmer get rid of these unnecessary Intel files or whatever that your PowerPC Mac can't even use, and therefore the performance is greatly improved.
__________________
27" iMac 3.5GHz i7, 780M 4GB, 32GB RAM, 3TB FD
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 06:52 PM   #8
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by houdinilogic View Post
thanks guys. also what do you mean by useless intel stuff? and by the time i'm done installing everything, i plan on having only a third of my hard drive free (25 gb). would this impact speed at all?
I saw a performance boost after using Xslimmer. It also frees up space on your HD.

If you're new to PowerPC Macs, you might look around these forums for video players such as VLC, MPlayer and MacTubes as well as PowerPC-friendly browsers such as Camino and TenFourFox. There are plenty of things you can do to optimize performance on your eMac. For video conversion, I prefer Any Video Converter, though there are also other options. I use Bean for Word Processing and, again, there are other good choices.

With all the changes I've made since I first got my iBook, I can tell you that there is a difference in performance compared to when I first bought it. You should see the same improvement in your eMac with a few good enhancements.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:25 PM   #9
houdinilogic
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
thanks for the help everyone! you guys probably saved me a lot of frustration over trial and error. i just bought ram and the xslimmer program and i will look into programs geared towards powerpc.
houdinilogic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:56 PM   #10
houdinilogic
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
thinking about cancelling my order and getting this, does it look legit/it says something about its 'density' not compatible with mac?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-2GB-KIT-...item2a21ea4b7c
houdinilogic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:40 AM   #11
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
eMac's only use low density ram. If you put in a high density stick, it will read as being only half its stated size.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:43 AM   #12
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
eMac's only use low density ram. If you put in a high density stick, it will read as being only half its stated size.
I never knew that I just always assumed that it wouldn't post..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max RAM h9826790 Mac Pro 4 Apr 14, 2014 02:33 AM
15" rMBP Base Max vs Top w/Nvidia Max sdali MacBook Pro 98 Nov 12, 2013 04:50 PM
max maxchuma iPad Apps 2 Mar 19, 2013 09:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC