Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:27 PM   #1
2012Tony2012
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Best way to do a Clean Snow Leopard Install?

I am about to do a factory default clean install of Snow Leopard. What's the best way to do this? Install the DVD when in Leopard? Will the DVD then reboot on its own?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:30 PM   #2
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Backup your data, reboot holding the option/alt button, and select the disk to boot from. The open disk utility and wipe the partition. Then let it install SL fresh
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:34 PM   #3
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
To create a Clean Install (formerly known as Erase & Install) of Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard (the 29 USD Upgrade DVD is a fully working retail version of Mac OS X and does not need a prior installation of Mac OS X on the Mac), follow one of the following guides:
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:38 PM   #4
tom vilsack
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
All the good old days when if you wanted to do a reinstall you just inserted a dvd or usb stick and where done in about 20 min...now we get the fun of waiting for 4+ gig's of data to download every time we wanna do same thing....ah progress ;-(
tom vilsack is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:42 PM   #5
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blevins321 View Post
Backup your data, reboot holding the option/alt button, and select the disk to boot from. The open disk utility and wipe the partition. Then let it install SL fresh
I thought I just had to hold Option button to select what to boot from, but I must hold Option + ALT?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom vilsack View Post
All the good old days when if you wanted to do a reinstall you just inserted a dvd or usb stick and where done in about 20 min...now we get the fun of waiting for 4+ gig's of data to download every time we wanna do same thing....ah progress ;-(
Don't tell me that?!

When I do this install Snow Leopard needs to download 4+ GB of data?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:45 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I thought I just had to hold Option button to select what to boot from, but I must hold Option + ALT?
OPTION=Alt
And read the guides I linked to, they are very short and informative and not linked to out of spite.
Quote:
When I do this install Snow Leopard needs to download 4+ GB of data?
No, since all the data is on the DVD, and tom vilsack was talking about Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion, though one can circumvent that: Make An OS X Lion Boot Disc
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 05:56 PM   #7
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thank you
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:30 PM   #8
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I followed the link above and selected Utilities menu to erase hard drive, but which one I choose? The one that says "250 GB WDC WD250" or the one under it as a sub menu that says "Macintosh HD"?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:32 PM   #9
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I followed the link above and selected Utilities menu to erase hard drive, but which one I choose? The one that says "250 GB WDC WD250" or the one under it as a sub menu that says "Macintosh HD"?
Macintosh HD.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:48 PM   #10
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Macintosh HD.
I found a video and the guy says NOT to select the second part but the upper first one. So which one is it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eazd4AB1fXw

Is he wrong?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:53 PM   #11
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I found a video and the guy says NOT to select the second part but the upper first one. So which one is it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eazd4AB1fXw

Is he wrong?
You can select what you want, if you only have one partition. The upper part is the actual HDD or SSD, the lower part is the actual partition. If you select the upper part, you go to the Partition tab as outlined in the following non-video guide:
How to format a new HDD to install Mac OS X onto (or make a bootable copy onto)
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:00 PM   #12
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You can select what you want, if you only have one partition. The upper part is the actual HDD or SSD, the lower part is the actual partition. If you select the upper part, you go to the Partition tab as outlined in the following non-video guide:
How to format a new HDD to install Mac OS X onto (or make a bootable copy onto)
I selected the upper part and its wiping with zeros atm.

When it's finished and I continue, won't SL automatically create the partition for me?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:03 PM   #13
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I selected the upper part and its wiping with zeros atm.

When it's finished and I continue, won't SL automatically create the partition for me?
Why the wiping with ZEROS? It is unnecessary and adds time. Anyway, once the zeroing out is completed, it should be properly formatted if you followed the guide I linked to. I have done this countless times (100s and more), without ever zeroing out data.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:12 PM   #14
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Why the wiping with ZEROS? It is unnecessary and adds time. Anyway, once the zeroing out is completed, it should be properly formatted if you followed the guide I linked to. I have done this countless times (100s and more), without ever zeroing out data.
So why do Apple include zero formatting if it was never needed?

The kids have played a lot with our iMac and I was worried that they made have downloaded stuff they shouldn't etc.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
So why do Apple include zero formatting if it was never needed?

The kids have played a lot with our iMac and I was worried that they made have downloaded stuff they shouldn't etc.
I noticed the guy on the video didn't show him creating a new partition for some reason.

I named the main hard drive as "Macintosh HD" so what do I name the partition?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:13 PM   #15
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
So why do Apple include zero formatting if it was never needed?

The kids have played a lot with our iMac and I was worried that they made have downloaded stuff they shouldn't etc.
I did not say it was never needed, it is not needed, if the HDD stays with you. If you wanted to sell your Mac and leave the HDD inside, ZEROING OUT is a way to prevent future data recovery on that HDD if the new owner decides to try.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:24 PM   #16
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
I did not say it was never needed, it is not needed, if the HDD stays with you. If you wanted to sell your Mac and leave the HDD inside, ZEROING OUT is a way to prevent future data recovery on that HDD if the new owner decides to try.
But my iMac has an 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, so should I select the GUID Partition Table and not the "Apple Partition Map" like your screenshot page recommends?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:26 PM   #17
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post

I noticed the guy on the video didn't show him creating a new partition for some reason.

I named the main hard drive as "Macintosh HD" so what do I name the partition?
You named the partition, and it does not matter how you name it.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
But my iMac has an 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, so should I select the GUID Partition Table and not the "Apple Partition Map" like your screenshot page recommends?
My guide recommends GUID for your case.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:39 PM   #18
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You named the partition, and it does not matter how you name it.

----------


My guide recommends GUID for your case.
Thank you for your patience, I am brand new to iMac and I feel kinda lost and confused often, sorry.
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:42 PM   #19
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
I did not say it was never needed, it is not needed, if the HDD stays with you. If you wanted to sell your Mac and leave the HDD inside, ZEROING OUT is a way to prevent future data recovery on that HDD if the new owner decides to try.
It's also a way of checking for bad sectors. If you're doing a clean install, you can just use the combo update to get the last version of Snow Leopard.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:49 PM   #20
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
It's also a way of checking for bad sectors. If you're doing a clean install, you can just use the combo update to get the last version of Snow Leopard.
So doing a zero format checks for bad sectors too?

----------

The zero erase finished and it created the partition automatically and named it "Macintosh HD"

Installing Snow Leopard now... says about 30 minutes. Time for a tea
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:12 AM   #21
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
So doing a zero format checks for bad sectors too?
Yes. It doesn't mean it will keep a failing hard drive from failing, but it does check for bad blocks so as to remap them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Installing Snow Leopard now... says about 30 minutes. Time for a tea
After that I'd use the combo update rather than individual ones.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:13 AM   #22
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
Yes. It doesn't mean it will keep a failing hard drive from failing, but it does check for bad blocks so as to remap them.



After that I'd use the combo update rather than individual ones.
Whats the combo update and where do I find that in Snow Leopard?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:23 AM   #23
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Whats the combo update and where do I find that in Snow Leopard?
It's on the Apple site. Use the link once the installation finishes.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:26 AM   #24
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
It's on the Apple site. Use the link once the installation finishes.
Ok thank you. downloaded then 1.18GB combo update now.

And Install completed. It says I can install Xcode and Optional Installs, should I?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:29 AM   #25
OLDCODGER
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lucky Country
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Whats the combo update and where do I find that in Snow Leopard?
That's the part where you get to do a 4G download from Apple Software Update.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
It's on the Apple site. Use the link once the installation finishes.
Heck, you guys are quick!
OLDCODGER is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About to do a clean install from Snow Leopard 10.6.8 to Mavericks JayS90 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 9 Jul 25, 2014 05:50 PM
Clean wipe/install mavericks/snow leopard th3godf4th3r MacBook Pro 6 Dec 19, 2013 04:21 PM
Clean install Snow Leopard and then upgrade? phubarr OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Nov 18, 2013 02:38 PM
Wiping harddrive, clean install snow leopard help zao8350 OS X 0 Dec 22, 2012 03:40 AM
How do I do a clean install of Snow Leopard ? Webb OS X 2 Sep 29, 2012 01:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC