Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2012, 10:05 PM   #1
alksion
macrumors 65816
 
alksion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Send a message via Skype™ to alksion
2013 MacPro CPU and GPU

Just out of pure curiosity, will the new MacPros use SandyBridge E processors or will there be something else? Also, if Apple has chosen to stick with Nvidia, is it possible well see 7 series GPU's in there? If so, I might hold off the iMac and see what's in store for this lineup.

Edit: I know they'll either use Sandy Bridge E / Ivy Bridge E, but I was wondering if most of you thought it would be higher probability that SB-E will be used over IB-E.

As for the GPU's, I know they'll use some form of GPU form AMD/Nvidia, but I know the MacPro has lacked power in the GPU area for some time. I would be greatly disappointed if the MacPros used AMD 7 series cards when the 8 series are about to be released. That is all.

Last edited by alksion; Dec 8, 2012 at 01:48 PM.
alksion is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 11:09 PM   #2
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Yes.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 12:21 AM   #3
chilly willy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
Just out of pure curiosity, will the new MacPros use SandyBridge E processors or will there be something else? Also, if Apple has chosen to stick with Nvidia, is it possible well see 7 series GPU's in there? If so, I might hold off the iMac and see what's in store for this lineup.
I'm thinking of doing the same given price points for new 27" iMacs.
__________________
15" MBP 2.66 GHz, 8 GB RAM; 20" C2D iMac; iPad2 32 GB; iPhone 4s
chilly willy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 12:43 AM   #4
alksion
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
alksion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Send a message via Skype™ to alksion
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
Yes.
Is this confirmed or a highly educated guess? Because when the MacPro comes out, won't we be seeing Ivy Bridge E's coming out at the same time?
alksion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 01:36 AM   #5
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Ivy-E last I looked was 3rd quarter 13..

So it'll depend entirely on when Apple decides to launch the computer but I also suspect sandy when/if there is a new MP.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 01:51 AM   #6
alksion
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
alksion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Send a message via Skype™ to alksion
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Ivy-E last I looked was 3rd quarter 13..

So it'll depend entirely on when Apple decides to launch the computer but I also suspect sandy when/if there is a new MP.
So the new MacPro will already have one year old hardware (CPU) when it comes out or am I looking at this wrong?
alksion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 02:10 AM   #7
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Old but is that relevant? Ivy is 5%-10% faster than Sandy.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 02:15 AM   #8
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
So the new MacPro will already have one year old hardware (CPU) when it comes out or am I looking at this wrong?
The only thing we know for certain is Apple previously used the latest processors for workstations and consumer graphics cards available when releasing a new Mac Pro.

Tim Cook said something will come in 2013.

That could be a new Mac Pro with Sandy-Bridge EP, it could have Ivy Bridge-EP. Depends on when that something comes and when Intel are actually shipping IB-EP. May not even be a Mac Pro.

For graphics cards go look at NVIDIA or AMD timelines.
Umbongo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 02:36 AM   #9
alksion
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
alksion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Send a message via Skype™ to alksion
Interesting. All that I really want is a new and powerful GPU to play games on. I've been tempted to build a custom PC again, but ultimately, I would prefer to stay on a Mac / OS X
alksion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 03:42 AM   #10
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
If you want to play games buy/build a PC that keeps the options open..

If you want/need OSX then it's time to take a peek a tonymac or keep your current mac.

I bounce between MP's and Hack's I have some strange emotional attachment to MP's but my hacks are just faster..

I need to sell one of the two right now to fund project TJ and still can't decide which I want to keep.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 03:57 AM   #11
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Only thing we are sure about.....

is Tim Cook saying/comenting "any for the Pros" in the 2013

Not less, not more. And then, we dont know for sure, if that product see the light, that will be called Mac Pro

I have heard/read many discussions about Kepler/Fermi cards natively supported in the next Pro

And for processors, Ivy-E sounds possible. Only thing I dont like these chips are slated for Q3 2013.....(maybe 9 months more of waiting game)






__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black), Moto G 8 GB (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:19 AM   #12
alksion
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
alksion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Send a message via Skype™ to alksion
I could see them waiting for Ivy E's. One, it allows them to put the latest Xeons inside the machine and two, it gives them another excuse to prolong the machine if they're having production issues.
alksion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:29 AM   #13
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
I can't that puts them in iPhone iPad i.e. the important updates. I personally thing we'll see the "new" mac pro in late winter, spring that'll roll them into WWDC in June with the new iOS updates and the other important update Mac portables.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 12:24 PM   #14
AppleInMyBlood
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
So the new MacPro will already have one year old hardware (CPU) when it comes out or am I looking at this wrong?
It would have current hardware that was released a while ago, if there are no Ivy Es available yet.
AppleInMyBlood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:40 AM   #15
nox-uk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
Just out of pure curiosity, will the new MacPros use SandyBridge E processors or will there be something else? Also, if Apple has chosen to stick with Nvidia, is it possible well see 7 series GPU's in there? If so, I might hold off the iMac and see what's in store for this lineup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
Is this confirmed or a highly educated guess? Because when the MacPro comes out, won't we be seeing Ivy Bridge E's coming out at the same time?
I believe I can help here, JesterJJZ's answer is spot on, and I can second this. The new MacPros will definately definately definately "have SandyBridge E processors or something else."

Nox
nox-uk is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 11:00 AM   #16
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by nox-uk View Post
"have SandyBridge E processors or something else."
My grandma also said this and I believe she will be 100% correct either way.
All Taken is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:06 PM   #17
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Quote:
Originally Posted by nox-uk View Post
The new MacPros will definately definately definately "have SandyBridge E processors or something else."
The new Mac Pros will definitely arrive in 2013 or some other year.

;-)

Loa
Loa is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:25 PM   #18
mslide
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
Interesting. All that I really want is a new and powerful GPU to play games on. I've been tempted to build a custom PC again, but ultimately, I would prefer to stay on a Mac / OS X
You'd consider buying a new MP just for gaming? That's an expensive toy I'd build a PC.
mslide is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 06:47 PM   #19
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Hello,

Gaming Mac Pro = Windows partition on another drive + good Nvidia card as detailed in this thread.

A lot more expensive than a gaming PC, but it's the best compromise.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:55 PM   #20
damir00
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
Just out of pure curiosity, will the new MacPros use SandyBridge E processors...
Only if Intel releases something newer before then.
damir00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 12:02 AM   #21
alksion
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
alksion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Send a message via Skype™ to alksion
No, not just for gaming. I have a 27' iMac right now and was considering a new 2012 iMac. I was also going to build a custom PC when Haswell came out.

If the new Mac Pros come out sometime by summer, I may hold out to see the new Mac Pro and sell my iMac and use the money I have for a custom PC and purchase a Mac Pro instead.

I could still have a beautiful machine / OS X, while still having strong desktop graphics to game when I want.

Best of both worlds.
alksion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 12:10 AM   #22
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixsan View Post
And for processors, Ivy-E sounds possible. Only thing I dont like these chips are slated for Q3 2013.....(maybe 9 months more of waiting game)

The problem is you're interpreting Intel's release dates too literally. Look at the launch dates on Sandy Bridge E, yet nothing was shipping from the larger workstation oems for several months. There's also no sign of what will be available from Ivy. It could have mixed in Sandy options just like we saw with Nehalem and Westmere. It's too early to call.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 12:26 AM   #23
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
Is this confirmed or a highly educated guess? Because when the MacPro comes out, won't we be seeing Ivy Bridge E's coming out at the same time?
No.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 01:36 AM   #24
Yebubbleman
macrumors 68020
 
Yebubbleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by alksion View Post
Just out of pure curiosity, will the new MacPros use SandyBridge E processors or will there be something else? Also, if Apple has chosen to stick with Nvidia, is it possible well see 7 series GPU's in there? If so, I might hold off the iMac and see what's in store for this lineup.
I was under the impression that Apple opted to not go with Sandy Bridge E because some higher-end variant that existed with Westmere and will again exist in Ivy Bridge E didn't in Sandy Bridge E. Now why they didn't at least upgrade the video cards in the Mid 2012 update, or, dare I say it, provide some form of Thunderbolt support, I have no friggen clue. But my guess is that no, you won't be seeing Sandy Bridge E Mac Pros and you will likely see Ivy Bridge E Mac Pros. As for video cards, there was rumor of AMD Radeon HD 7xxx series drivers being included in the latest beta for OS X 10.8.3, so likelihood is that's the card we'll be seeing. The Mid 2010 (and Mid 2012) Mac Pros have exclusively stuck with ATI/AMD, so it's likely that, given these tidbits, we'll see AMD Radeon HD cards in the next Mac Pros.
__________________
MacBook Pro (15" Mid 2012); PC Tower (3.4GHz Phenom II x4; Radeon HD 6850); 5th Gen iPod touch; 2nd and 3rd Gen tv; iPad Air Verizon; Galaxy S5 Verizon
"Don't Cry, Eat Pie"
Yebubbleman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 02:31 AM   #25
alksion
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
alksion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Send a message via Skype™ to alksion
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yebubbleman View Post
I was under the impression that Apple opted to not go with Sandy Bridge E because some higher-end variant that existed with Westmere and will again exist in Ivy Bridge E didn't in Sandy Bridge E. Now why they didn't at least upgrade the video cards in the Mid 2012 update, or, dare I say it, provide some form of Thunderbolt support, I have no friggen clue. But my guess is that no, you won't be seeing Sandy Bridge E Mac Pros and you will likely see Ivy Bridge E Mac Pros. As for video cards, there was rumor of AMD Radeon HD 7xxx series drivers being included in the latest beta for OS X 10.8.3, so likelihood is that's the card we'll be seeing. The Mid 2010 (and Mid 2012) Mac Pros have exclusively stuck with ATI/AMD, so it's likely that, given these tidbits, we'll see AMD Radeon HD cards in the next Mac Pros.
So? The iMacs and MacBook Pros were both using AMD for a few generations before they switched back to nVidia. The same could go for Mac Pros as well.
alksion is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Early 2008 MacPro GPU compatibility RedFlyer Mac Pro 4 Feb 10, 2014 05:03 PM
MacBook Pro (retina, late 2013) benchmark result!! (both CPU and GPU) yossiri MacBook Pro 3 Oct 31, 2013 01:55 AM
How are benchmarks for 2013 27" imac, cpu and gpu wise? Zellio iMac 8 Oct 24, 2013 09:29 PM
MacPro Multi GPU onboard yfile Mac Pro 42 Dec 3, 2012 04:20 PM
SSD vs. CPU/GPU Gimyslog Buying Tips and Advice 12 Jun 10, 2012 07:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC