Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 5, 2012, 08:32 AM   #1
EricBrian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Thunderbolt Hub/Splitter?

So I have a MBP with one Thunderbolt port.

The issue is that my Apple 27" monitor (the model that was sold right before the Thunderbolt monitor was released) needs the thunderbolt port. And, my external SSD drive also needs that port.

Is there a splitter or something similar so that I can plug in both devices at the same time?

Or is there a way to have the monitor use a different port than the thunderbolt port with some kind of plug adapter?

Thanks.
EricBrian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 08:38 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Does the SSD not have two Thnderbolt ports, thus you could connect the SSD to the MBP and the display to the SSD?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 09:14 AM   #3
EricBrian
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Does the SSD not have two Thnderbolt ports, thus you could connect the SSD to the MBP and the display to the SSD?
No, it has just one.

This is the one I bought:
http://store.apple.com/us/product/HA...sd-hard-drive?
EricBrian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 09:24 AM   #4
nurivo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Simply put, there isn't. And from what I can tell there is nothing in the works.

You will have to either live with switching back and forth or replace either the hard drive or the display with one that has an additional Thunderbolt port.
nurivo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 09:30 AM   #5
EricBrian
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Thank you nurivo. That is what I was afraid of.
EricBrian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 09:37 AM   #6
kgian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Still waiting for practical thunderbolt accessories...
kgian is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:06 AM   #7
MCAsan
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Thunderbolt like SCSI and FW are bus topology where devices are either designed to in the middle (two ports) or end (one port). The problem is you have two devices designed to be only at the end of a thunderbolt bus. See about replacing the SSD with one made with two ports.
__________________
Retina MBP 2.7GHz | 16GB | 768G
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5s | Silver | 64GB | AT&T
iPad Air | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:09 AM   #8
gentlefury
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Belkin supposedly has one in the works...it was supposed to come out 4th quarter 2012...but it never did. It was also $400!!! Thunderbolt in concept is amazing...in practice however, is extremely overpriced!

A current model TB HDD is more expensive than an SSD in a USB3 enclosure...and the SSD in USB3 will still be faster than a 7200rpm platter drive!
gentlefury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:12 AM   #9
MCAsan
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
But even faster in a thunderbolt enclosure.
__________________
Retina MBP 2.7GHz | 16GB | 768G
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5s | Silver | 64GB | AT&T
iPad Air | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:18 AM   #10
nurivo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentlefury View Post
Belkin supposedly has one in the works...it was supposed to come out 4th quarter 2012...but it never did. It was also $400!!! Thunderbolt in concept is amazing...in practice however, is extremely overpriced!
Nope, that still won't solve the problem. It has two Thunderbolt ports, not three.

With just a single port on the MacBook Pro and two single-port devices, the Belkin hub will not allow you to connect both at the same time.
nurivo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:24 AM   #11
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by nurivo View Post
With just a single port on the MacBook Pro and two single-port devices, the Belkin hub will not allow you to connect both at the same time.
Why? Does the Belkin hub detect, that those two devices are meant for the end of the chain and does simply not allow such bastard behaviour?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:25 AM   #12
gentlefury
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Why? Does the Belkin hub detect, that those two devices are meant for the end of the chain and does simply not allow such bastard behaviour?
He means that it wouldn't be physically capable.

Hub > MBP still leaves only one port free on the hub.

I agree, it is a ridiculous design. Not so much a TB hub as it is a USB3 hub.

I was only pointing it out because it is the only TB device I have seen that even connects anything via TB. It has become a pretty useless standard right out of the box. Its a display port and I use it as an ethernet port...so its slightly flexable there...but thats about it.
gentlefury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:27 AM   #13
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentlefury View Post
He means that it wouldn't be physically capable.

Hub > MBP still leaves only one port free on the hub.

I agree, it is a ridiculous design. Not so much a TB hub as it is a USB3 hub.
Ah, yes. Stupid me.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:52 PM   #14
hanstheduck
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
This is sending me crazy too. On some new Macs there is only one TBolt connection, which isn't enough given the number of legacy (ie nonTB) devices we all have. Compounding it are manufacturers making TB devices without pass thru. Blackmagic have done it with their video breakout box; LaCie as we have seen by above have done it with a drive - so many TB devices are not pass thru. I need a video breakout, and a TB drive with pass thru, and 2 x TB connectors on the computer so that a non TB Cinema screen can be at the end of one chain, and my aFirewire hub at the other.

Apple are making this impossible with single TB connectors (as on my Air). Other thing I have discovered is the TB to FW800 adaptor provides insufficient power to run a pair of daisy chained FW800 portable drives - it will only drive one of them. Why there isn't a proper hub is beyond me - it can't be that hard.

A BIG FAT 'F" to Apple for this shamozzle
hanstheduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:46 PM   #15
MCAsan
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Thunderbolt, like SCSI, FW, PATA, and SATA is a bus topology network....not star/tree topology with hubs like USB.

Note the absence of SCSI, FW, PATA or SATA hubs.
__________________
Retina MBP 2.7GHz | 16GB | 768G
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5s | Silver | 64GB | AT&T
iPad Air | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:51 PM   #16
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgian View Post
Still waiting for practical thunderbolt accessories...
Hasn't picked up because of USB3.0

TB is nice and can become any of these ports, so it will stay around, unlike FireWire which is pretty much dead (though I still use FW800)

The rMBP's have 2 TB ports, so that's definitely the future.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC