Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

View Poll Results: Do you use .alac on your iPhone/iPod
Yes 15 28.30%
No 29 54.72%
What is .alac / lossless? 8 15.09%
You can put lossless on the iPhone? Blew my mind. 1 1.89%
Voters: 53. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:14 PM   #1
pogoyoyo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
How many use Apple Lossles (.alac) on your iPhone?

How many of you use .alac on your iPhone? Places you go to get your .alac's?
__________________
2013 15" Retina Macbook Pro 2.4ghz, 8gb RAM, 256GB SSD;
iPhone 5 16gb White
pogoyoyo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:16 PM   #2
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I use ALAC on my CD rip collection, when syncing to my portable devices I let iTunes down convert to 128k to save space.
I use XLD for ripping.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:19 PM   #3
Djlild7hina
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Use FLAC for my main collection and use mp3 320kbps for mobile devices
__________________
15" rMBP 2.3/16GB/512GB, OSX Yosemite & Windows 8.1
128GB Unlocked Gold iPhone 6 Plus iOS 8.1
FlexRAID NAS - i7/32GB/256GB, 10x3TB Data + 3x3TB Parity, Windows 8.1
Djlild7hina is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:29 PM   #4
vastoholic
macrumors 68000
 
vastoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK
I use 320 and lossless on my phone, but only because I don't keep multiple copies of each on my computer. I don't let it downgrade to 128 either. I just let it sync as is. Sure it uses more space, but I only keep certain playlists or artist on my phone anyway.
__________________
View my flickr sets....if you want. They're not too exciting.
vastoholic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:07 AM   #5
sviato
macrumors 68020
 
sviato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: HR 9038 A
Had some FLAC albums but iTunes wouldn't take them -.-
sviato is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:10 AM   #6
Small White Car
macrumors G4
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
I only use my car speakers and my earbuds to listen to music from my phone. Higher quality files than what iTunes sells really won't be gaining me much.
Small White Car is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:20 AM   #7
Wuiffi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Austria
Quote:
Originally Posted by sviato View Post
Had some FLAC albums but iTunes wouldn't take them -.-
Use Max to convert FLAC to ALAC
Wuiffi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:53 AM   #8
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
I use ALAC on my CD rip collection, when syncing to my portable devices I let iTunes down convert to 128k to save space.
I use XLD for ripping.
Same here, except I do 256 kbps. ALAC or any lossless files are a bit useless on a mobile device.
ProudLoz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 08:56 AM   #9
pogoyoyo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wuiffi View Post
Use Max to convert FLAC to ALAC
Toast Titanium for Mac also works fantastic and is very easy to use.
__________________
2013 15" Retina Macbook Pro 2.4ghz, 8gb RAM, 256GB SSD;
iPhone 5 16gb White
pogoyoyo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 06:34 PM   #10
zorinlynx
macrumors 68020
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida, USA
The nice thing about FLAC and ALAC is that they are both lossless formats. Once you've converted your FLACs to ALAC, you can even delete the FLACs; you won't lose a thing. If in the future you move to a platform that doesn't support ALAC, but does support FLAC, you can convert them back and be right where you started.

Max is an excellent free tool for this. I've put it though many paces!
__________________
Old-school Apple ][ expert! Ask me if you have a ][ question!
Apple user 1983-1992, 2003-Present -- Linux user 1995-Present
Windows-free since 2003! Though I still have to deal with it at work.
zorinlynx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 06:39 PM   #11
AppleMark
macrumors 6502a
 
AppleMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The CCTV Capital of the World
Zero.

Because if I want to listen to high quality music I do not use my iPhone. I use my home audio set-up for that...
__________________
Although I may not always reply to negative comments, this will not necessarily mean that I concede the point.
AppleMark is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 09:43 PM   #12
ucfgrad93
macrumors G5
 
ucfgrad93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Small White Car View Post
I only use my car speakers and my earbuds to listen to music from my phone. Higher quality files than what iTunes sells really won't be gaining me much.
Same with me. I'm not an audiophile so I just use whatever iTunes converts it to.
ucfgrad93 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 11:10 PM   #13
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
No, I use iTunes Match on my iPhone.

I do put lossless on my iPod touch.

Also it's .m4a not .alac
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 11:15 PM   #14
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post
The nice thing about FLAC and ALAC is that they are both lossless formats. Once you've converted your FLACs to ALAC, you can even delete the FLACs; you won't lose a thing. If in the future you move to a platform that doesn't support ALAC, but does support FLAC, you can convert them back and be right where you started.
ALAC is now open source, so chances are you're going to be hard pressed over time to find something that doesn't support ALAC but does support FLAC. Pretty much any software using the libavcodec supports ALAC now.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 01:41 PM   #15
ValerieDurden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sometimes, I generally use ~400kbps aac files via the Nero AAC codec + foobar2000.
__________________
Nexus 5 Kitkat 4.4.4 [Sprint]
ValerieDurden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 09:29 PM   #16
Michael CM1
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I buy almost all of my stuff from iTunes, so no lossless here. I also mostly use EarPods and my car stereo -- the speakers are nice now, but the head unit is still about 7 watts of factory tinnage. So it makes zero sense to even think about using anything like that. Heck, I downconvert to 128k because 16GB feels like 1GB.

I'd appreciate seeing Apple offer some higher-quality music along the lines of DTS audio. I'm not sure of the technical specifics of it, but I remember being blown away by DTS quality on DVDs in the 1990s. We're still using just 2 channels on most music audio.

This wouldn't help much with earbuds, but it would help when streaming to Apple TV or to a car system if it was a good quality one. Plus I'm sure the music companies would love to sell some upcharged music like the movie studios love charging an extra $5 for HD movies.
__________________
13.3" 2014 MacBook Air; Mid-2010 21.5" iMac; silver 64GB iPhone 6; white iPad Air 32 GB; third-gen TV (x2)
Michael CM1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2013, 12:02 AM   #17
TyPod
macrumors 68000
 
TyPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: And Yourself?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djlild7hina View Post
Use FLAC for my main collection and use mp3 320kbps for mobile devices
I tried this for while but ended up getting too lazy to convert to FLAC for my collection. Now i'm a steady 320kbps listener.
__________________
01010100 01111001 01101100 01100101 01110010 00100000 01001100 01101001 01100100 01100100 01101001 01100011 01101111 01100001 01110100 powerhourplaylists.com
TyPod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2013, 12:03 AM   #18
terraphantm
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Yes. One of the reasons I got a 64GB phone
terraphantm is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV HD ALAC Support? HDmusicguy Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Apr 23, 2014 09:37 AM
alternative ALAC encoder otomo Digital Audio 6 Sep 16, 2013 07:05 AM
Will Apple Upgrade iTunes to ALAC? Hrothgar Digital Audio 3 Sep 9, 2013 05:10 PM
ALAC - Why not offered in the store? Tysknaden Digital Audio 15 Jul 20, 2013 10:26 PM
ALAC in iRadio? patent10021 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Jun 14, 2013 06:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC