Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:38 AM   #1
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
My Beautiful All in One iMac..

so I was just doodling the set-up of my forthcoming Beautiful "All In One" iMac...
(see pic)





(note* thread not completely serious)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0449.jpg
Views:	1335
Size:	1.87 MB
ID:	381917  
kaelell is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:40 AM   #2
randy98mtu
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I see what you did there... Nice not having an extra power cord for the CPU and a video cable, eh?
randy98mtu is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:42 AM   #3
noteple
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Mans gotta have a plan
noteple is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:49 AM   #4
squan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
You lack the fine art of concealment!
squan is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:50 AM   #5
kaelell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by randy98mtu View Post
I see what you did there... Nice not having an extra power cord for the CPU and a video cable, eh?

knew I forgot something ! :P
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:54 AM   #6
tubbymac
macrumors 6502a
 
tubbymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Why is your time machine capsule connected to your firewire box? My time machine doesn't even have a firewire port, let alone a thunderbolt port... ?
__________________
rMBP 15 / 21.5 iMac 2011 / iPad Mini / ATV2 / TimeCap / iPhone 5 / Nexus 4 / PS3
tubbymac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:55 AM   #7
Cidtek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
You forgot the HDMI out connection... oops never mind.
Cidtek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:57 AM   #8
vladfein
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaelell View Post
so I was just doodling the set-up of my forthcoming Beautiful "All In One" iMac...
Fail... How do you connect your iPhone???
vladfein is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:58 AM   #9
OlMighty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
But look how much space you've saved by having a wireless keyboard and trackpad!!!

And no usb mug warmer...disgraceful.
OlMighty is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:59 AM   #10
kaelell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubbymac View Post
Why is your time machine capsule connected to your firewire box? My time machine doesn't even have a firewire port, let alone a thunderbolt port... ?
its just a firewire drive set up as a time machine

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladfein View Post
Fail... How do you connect your iPhone???
oh noes i forgot that too !
kaelell is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:59 AM   #11
dhokes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
No external speakers?
__________________
iPhone 4 | 27" iMac
dhokes is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:00 AM   #12
kaelell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlMighty View Post
But look how much space you've saved by having a wireless keyboard and trackpad!!!

And no usb mug warmer...disgraceful.
yea I mean I just HAD to go wireless on those, no two ways about it, hate clutter...
kaelell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:02 AM   #13
WrrN
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
It's so true. At first I thought, what the heck? But upon closer inspection, this setup is not so different from mine. Crazy how much crap we have in our digital lives.

Just missing this in the schematic:

__________________
2012 iMac 27" | i7 | 3.4Ghz | 1TB Fusion | 24GB RAM | 680MX | 10.8.2
WrrN is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:07 AM   #14
comatose81
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
comatose81 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:10 AM   #15
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I'd swap out the FW800 storage, Time Machine and SD reader for a Synology DS213 or DS213+. The copy button is pretty handy if the thing is on your desk.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:27 AM   #16
Michaelgtrusa
macrumors 601
 
Michaelgtrusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Everywhere And Nowhere
Looks good.
__________________
iMACAll life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.
TWITTER TUMBLR
Michaelgtrusa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:32 AM   #17
bjm2660
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia
You should mount all that stuff on the back of the iMac.
bjm2660 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:34 AM   #18
mihai.ile
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Now put this Synology thing close to the iMac and there you have it. The tower and the display
mihai.ile is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:34 AM   #19
kaelell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I like this ignoring the obvious....
what does the copy button do exactly?
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:38 AM   #20
bjm2660
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaelell View Post
I like this ignoring the obvious....
what does the copy button do exactly?
Whatever it does, it's a big improvement over the "fail" button.
bjm2660 is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:56 AM   #21
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The copy button will copy anything plugged into the SD card slot or front USB port into a user selected folder on the NAS. It's very fast and easy.

Those Synology NAS's are very powerful LAMP servers, bog easy to setup and use, stable. I've got a DS212 myself.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog

Last edited by blueroom; Dec 6, 2012 at 10:02 AM.
blueroom is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:20 AM   #22
kaelell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
The copy button will copy anything plugged into the SD card slot or front USB port into a user selected folder on the NAS. It's very fast and easy.

Those Synology NAS's are very powerful LAMP servers, bog easy to setup and use, stable. I've got a DS212 myself.
oooh I like
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:27 AM   #23
IGregory
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaelell View Post
its just a firewire drive set up as a time machine

----------



oh noes i forgot that too !
You are allowed. Its a rough sketch not the final product.
__________________
“The will to win, the desire to succeed, the urge to reach your full potential… these are the keys that will unlock the door to personal excellence.” ~ Confucius
IGregory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:40 AM   #24
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The only negative are like anything with mechanical HDDs is you're going to hear those drives. No different than any HDD enclosure you've got on your desk. The fan is near silent.

But there are many things a good NAS can do a FW800 drive can't.
Cloud storage, WebDAV, FTP, Apache (web server), email server, dyndns, rsync, security camera DVR, oodles of plug ins, multiple OS support, multiple user support...
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:54 AM   #25
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
Based on your schematic, I think you still have a spare USB port. How about a mini-LED christmas light given it's the holidays.
Arman is offline   6 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It could have been so beautiful Restes Mac Pro 22 Nov 3, 2013 07:18 AM
First 27-inch iMac Teardown Hits the Web: Beautiful Inside AND Out! Michaelgtrusa iMac 2 Dec 14, 2012 06:29 PM
The best free 3D games, beautiful snake, lovely fruit, beautiful effects, it is worth xiaobao4106 iPad Apps 0 Jul 19, 2012 08:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC