Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:30 AM   #1
tictaktwonk101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
New2012 iMac and FCPX & motion 5

Hi everyone.

What would be the minimum spec imac that would run FCPX or motion 5 with out any issues looking to get one but I don't have a load of money so I need to make the right choice.

At this time I have a 13" Mbp 2010 which runs it but it does struggle when I add multiple effects. Also motion 5 is a real struggle.

Any good input would really help.

Also what BTO options would have the most effect CPU, gpu or ram would a fusion drive be something to think or would it be pointless?

Sorry about all the questions.

Last edited by tictaktwonk101; Dec 6, 2012 at 10:39 AM.
tictaktwonk101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 11:06 AM   #2
DanielYilmaz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tictaktwonk101 View Post
Hi everyone.

What would be the minimum spec imac that would run FCPX or motion 5 with out any issues looking to get one but I don't have a load of money so I need to make the right choice.

At this time I have a 13" Mbp 2010 which runs it but it does struggle when I add multiple effects. Also motion 5 is a real struggle.

Any good input would really help.

Also what BTO options would have the most effect CPU, gpu or ram would a fusion drive be something to think or would it be pointless?

Sorry about all the questions.
In my opinion the gpu is a big part as it allows smooth play back and so does the cpu if its a i7 has it has hyper threading which allows 2 things to be ran on 1 core so a quad core is basically a virtual 8 core machine the fusion drive is pointless to me as it costs alot more when you can always use the thunderbolt to attach a external flash drive making that pretty fast. and the ram is kinda a big deal but for rendering not much else but if i was you cpu and gpu avoid macbook pros if you can stay in one place purchase a imac. But if you really need to move around buy one.
DanielYilmaz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 01:44 PM   #3
tictaktwonk101
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
What about ram would 16g in a 21" be enough or would being able to upgrade to 32g in a 27" be better?
tictaktwonk101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 12:31 AM   #4
blendermf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Stratford, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by tictaktwonk101 View Post
What about ram would 16g in a 21" be enough or would being able to upgrade to 32g in a 27" be better?
16 GB is enough at least in my experience. More RAM never hurts though, but you'll be paying the extra price of upgrading to a 27", and whatever it costs for the ram (if you do that, buy it externally, because it's way cheaper)
__________________
Matthew Fraser | Website | Email
blendermf is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC