Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2009, 12:15 PM   #1
Zerozal
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PA
"Sorry, this application can not run in a virtual machine" ...

Got this error yesterday while trying to open DVDFab 6 under VMWare Fusion 2.0.5. All of my other needed applications run fine in VMWare, and DVDFab runs great via Bootcamp (Windows 7 RC 7100). My last hurdle to be fully switched over from my old PC is to get DVDFab up and running, preferrebly in VMWare so I don't have the hassle of having to reboot.

I have an email in to the developer of DVDFab asking for advice, but wanted to also ask here. Does anyone have any workarounds for this error message (not necessarily just for DVDFab, but in general)?

Thanks!
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.93 Quad, 12GB RAM, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x 1TB WD Caviar Blacks in RAID 0, ATI 5870, 24" LED Cinema Display, iPhone 5, iPad Air
Zerozal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 12:38 PM   #2
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Not everything can be run in a virtual machine. Some things will only run under bootcamp. Usually it's something that they don't provide virtualization for.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 12:41 PM   #3
pdjudd
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plymouth, MN
Virtualization is a different thing than dual booting. A dual booting situation only permits one OS at time between re-boots so everything tuns native. Vitualization uses emulation. I have never seen any software that will not function in a virtualization, but it is very possible that some software will not run using certain virtual drivers or the like as a security feature. I know its possible for Apps to know how they are being run (OSX server for example will only work standalone or on the Mac virtualization products). Its very possible that it can only access the drive if it is being natively run and not via a virtualization means for some reason.

You will have to consult the vendor of the application on what to do.
pdjudd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2009, 10:49 AM   #4
rvmeush
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I am running DVDfab 6.0.2.2 under VMware Fusion and it seems to be running okay. My mac is a Mini running OS X 10.5.6. I didn't have any problem installing or running DVDfab, it seems perfectly happy.

The only problem I have is that when I'm finished ripping a dvd and it is ejected, when I then put in another dvd it doesn't seem to be recognized as a new dvd. To get things to work, I have to quit DVDfab and restart. If anyone knows what this problem might be please let me know.
rvmeush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2009, 10:53 AM   #5
rvmeush
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
In my previous post I forgot to mention that I am running Windows XP in the VMware virtual machine.
rvmeush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 03:50 PM   #6
technical88
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvmeush View Post
I am running DVDfab 6.0.2.2 under VMware Fusion and it seems to be running okay. My mac is a Mini running OS X 10.5.6. I didn't have any problem installing or running DVDfab, it seems perfectly happy.

The only problem I have is that when I'm finished ripping a dvd and it is ejected, when I then put in another dvd it doesn't seem to be recognized as a new dvd. To get things to work, I have to quit DVDfab and restart. If anyone knows what this problem might be please let me know.
-------
this used to happen on my windows xp system (not virtual) on a gigabyte board. FYI
technical88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to run OS X in a Virtual Machine on my Mac Cyborg21 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 13 Jun 22, 2014 06:54 AM
MacBook Pro 15" mid 2009 enough for Windows 8 Virtual Machine? mcrum23 MacBook Pro 2 Apr 6, 2014 06:51 AM
Can Macbook Air 2013 run windows7 in virtual machine fluently? greatwall9528 MacBook Air 13 Sep 12, 2013 05:02 AM
How to Run OS X Mavericks in a Parallels Virtual Machine MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 24 Jun 24, 2013 03:46 PM
Application dock item showing ".app" on every application Pipper99 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Jul 21, 2012 02:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC