Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 06:19 PM   #1
richfromroch
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Anyone using the SiliconDust HDHomeRun tuner?

I have a mid-2011 I5 2.5Ghz Mini and my Elgato EyeTV hybrid tuner bit the dust. I'm looking at the HDHomeRun tuner to replace it because it has dual tuners and a lower price. I understand the HDHomeRun PC version distributed by SiliconDust and the Mac version distributed by Elgato are the same hardware, but Elgato includes Eye TV and a year subscription to TV Guide -- all at a much heftier price. I already have the software, so does anyone have experience with this device on a Mini?
Rich
Rochester, NY
richfromroch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 07:02 PM   #2
fa8362
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Yes. Works great. It's ethernet, so you might have some initial trouble setting it up, but once you do, it works just as well as my old Miglia MiniHD. At the time I bought my HomeRun, there was no Mac version, so what I have is similar to what you're thinking of buying.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 07:04 PM   #3
ericrwalker
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Albany, NY
I ordered one last month through woot, the dual tuner. I had it set up for less than a day and I rain into some trouble with my server. I should be finished recovering everything this weekend. Can't wait to get give it a shot.
ericrwalker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 02:54 PM   #4
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I have had one of these for many, many years. It is fantastic. It is rock solid. Just recently I started using it again after about a 2 year hiatus--it was still working, didn't need to reset the power or anything.

The best part about a network tuner is your computer no longer has to be attached to the antenna. No drivers, no stupid USB dongles.

Any computer in the house, Mac, Windows, Linux, can use it. It is first-come, first-served for the two tuners.

I've used it with EyeTV and Windows Media Center. Works great with both.
ActionableMango is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 12:03 AM   #5
richfromroch
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Thanks for the replies. I ordered an HDHomeRun and it should be here next week.
Rich
Rochester, NY
richfromroch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 01:59 AM   #6
portishead
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
I just bought one the other day. Had some problems with the cable card install but finally got it working today. I'm running on Windows 7 on my rMBP for now, but planning on getting a Mac Mini. I'm hoping they release the firmware to allow playback on PS3 so I don't have to use Windows.
portishead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 11:37 AM   #7
scottsjack
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arizona
Didn't Elgato have a version of HDHomeRun? I haven't tried SiliconDust's software but EyeTV is typical Mac quality, reliable, easy to use and great looking.
scottsjack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 01:02 PM   #8
fa8362
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottsjack View Post
Didn't Elgato have a version of HDHomeRun? I haven't tried SiliconDust's software but EyeTV is typical Mac quality, reliable, easy to use and great looking.
They did, then they didn't. From an earlier post in this thread, they now have it again.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 07:33 PM   #9
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottsjack View Post
Didn't Elgato have a version of HDHomeRun? I haven't tried SiliconDust's software but EyeTV is typical Mac quality, reliable, easy to use and great looking.
SiliconDust doesn't have any software. It is just a network tuner device.

I originally used Windows Media Center and now I use EyeTV. In fact, because it's a network device with two tuners, you could use both at the same time.
ActionableMango is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 02:44 PM   #10
portishead
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
I got it to work for some clear QAM, but doesn't work with cable channels. So basically worthless. You need to run Windows or wait for the firmware update that allows PS3 use coming later this month.
portishead is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC